Customer Reviews for

Cinnamon Kiss (Easy Rawlins Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not impressed

    This is my first Walter Mosley book and I found it a tad boring and tiring. Its dated of course and its interesting reading about that time in the US. The story flows alright, just found it hard to keep my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Haven't read yet, but can't wait!

    Walter Mosley's exciting portrayal of L.A. in the 40s,50s is dead on! He names streets naborhoods and landmarks as if the reader was right there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    This is a Winner

    Walter Mosley delivers a unique perspective on the 50's & 60's. Easy Rawlins is a complex character, unapologetic for the flaws and foibles of his friends, yet getting along in the world that's tilted against him, the entire series is an education on being Black in America the way it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Welcome Back Easy!

    Even though I am not a true fan of the author due to previous reads outside of Easy Rawlings, I fell head over heels for him on this one. The suspense was great and it was easy to relate to the trials and lifestyle of the main character due to view the author gives you. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    Another Easy winner!

    Reading Mosely's Easy Rawlins mysteries are more than a delight. This one elaborates the turbulent but changing times of the 1960's and its characters in LA and San Fran. Easy has grown to be an efficient sleuth, with much deserved respect from friends and foes. The black street experience is persuasive and prevalent with each turning page. I can't wait for the next one. What color(s) will Mosely think of next to blend into an intriguing title!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Black crime is back!

    Talk about great character motivation to cross the line that is drawn between order and law. If your little girl had a disease and you needed money, what would you do? Hold ups are the nephews of criminal activities such as bank robbing, drug dealing and the new phenomenon of human sex trafficking. Mosley is one of the grandfathers of ethnic crime/detective drama. The Michael Connelly for the African-American crime drama. I read name brand authors and some of the literary upstarts. Like 50 Cent's new book. Like After Hours. Like a rugged little independent book that I stumbled across, called Masks of the Darkest American Game by Reginald Carter. There's Ernest Gaines', A Lesson Before Dying don't forget upstart Nathan McCall's Makes Me Wanna Holler and, of course, the Autobiograph of Malcolm X. A Mosely book was given to me by my Pop sometime ago, and I've been a fan eversince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best historical suspense thrillers on the marke

    In 1968 Los Angeles with the Watts riot over but fresh in everyone¿s minds Easy Rawlins needs money to take his beloved daughter Feather to the specialized Bonatelle Clinic in Switzerland the cost is $35,000. At the Cox Bar, his pal Mouse suggests they hold up an armored vehicle, but after almost running over a mother with babies, Easy decides that is to dangerous of an approach to gaining the money especially since he is over the edge and fears everything will go wrong and then his daughter will have nobody................. Instead he obtains work from a white friend, private investigator Saul Lynx who gets him a job in San Francisco with mysterious sleuth Robert E. Lee to locate two missing persons for $10K. Though expecting treachery as no one outside of entertainment pays a black man with cash, Easy searches for wealthy attorney Axel Bowers and his assistant lover, Cinnamon Cargill, who have vanished. ..................... The easy Rawlins late 1960s tales are some of the best historical suspense thrillers on the market over the past few years. CINNAMON KISS is a terrific tale that once again showcases the lot of a black man in 1968 California while providing a deep light on the period. Easy is fabulous struggling to send his beloved child to Europe for treatment that is not available in L.A. If you have not read his adventures you are missing a treat because his escapades are enlightening and entertaining.............. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    So So

    I can't put my finger on exactly why I didn't care for this book -- maybe unaccustomed to the very odd names of the characters for one. I do like the style of easy writing - but this just isn't my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS

    Walter Mosley writes so well that I almost believe Easy Rawlins is a real person. He must be someone Walter Mosley knows or knew. The story is exciting, quick, funny, and sad. I'm always ready for the next Easy Rawlins Mystery. The characters are so deep and colorful I find myself giving them faces to go along with their voices in the story. Cinnamon Kiss is a keeper and a winner. I won't be loaning this one out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1