Customer Reviews for

Cinnamon Roll Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay

I have loved reading Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen Series but after 15 books, isn't it time to start changing the scene a little? I think the biggest mystery of "Cinnamon Roll Murder" was if Norm was going to marry Dr. Bev or not. Truthfully, Hannah really needs to wake...
I have loved reading Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen Series but after 15 books, isn't it time to start changing the scene a little? I think the biggest mystery of "Cinnamon Roll Murder" was if Norm was going to marry Dr. Bev or not. Truthfully, Hannah really needs to wake up and smell the coffee she professes to love so much. Norm is no better than Mike and both treats Hannah more like property than the woman they supposedly both love. Add that to the fact that Norm is a grown man, actually a dentist so it can be summerized he holds some degree of intelligence, yet, he spent most of this book all moody and depressed because he's allowing Dr. Bev to control his life. Yet typical that Hannah, her sisters, and her mom comes riding in on their white horses to save the day, and of course - Norman. I adore Joanne Fluke . . . I just think it's time for her to start giving Hannah a different prospective on life - other than just Norm and Mike. After 15 books, I just think she's better than either of these two bozo's.

posted by valcat4me on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Average

I am always at a lose trying to describe how I feel about this series. I buy the books and read them as they come out but still somehow find Hannah herself very annoying. The triangle, which never made any sense to begin with, is now completely played out. I don't re...
I am always at a lose trying to describe how I feel about this series. I buy the books and read them as they come out but still somehow find Hannah herself very annoying. The triangle, which never made any sense to begin with, is now completely played out. I don't really see why either man is so patiently waiting for her to figure out her feelings. I like the supporting characters in the book. On a side note, I got this book on my Nook and have to say that the recipes appearing in the middle of the text was very annoying. Can't help wondering if the publisher couldn't put the recipes at the end of the electronic versions. I, for one, don't stop to read a whole recipe in the middle of a mystery.

posted by hollingworth on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Just Okay

    I have loved reading Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen Series but after 15 books, isn't it time to start changing the scene a little? I think the biggest mystery of "Cinnamon Roll Murder" was if Norm was going to marry Dr. Bev or not. Truthfully, Hannah really needs to wake up and smell the coffee she professes to love so much. Norm is no better than Mike and both treats Hannah more like property than the woman they supposedly both love. Add that to the fact that Norm is a grown man, actually a dentist so it can be summerized he holds some degree of intelligence, yet, he spent most of this book all moody and depressed because he's allowing Dr. Bev to control his life. Yet typical that Hannah, her sisters, and her mom comes riding in on their white horses to save the day, and of course - Norman. I adore Joanne Fluke . . . I just think it's time for her to start giving Hannah a different prospective on life - other than just Norm and Mike. After 15 books, I just think she's better than either of these two bozo's.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    ¿A Spicy Mix of Scandal and Murder You¿ll Devour¿

    “Mud Season’ has arrived in Lake Eden, Minnesota. Hannah and her younger Sister, Michelle, are enroute with a delicious-smelling delivery of Cinnamon Rolls for the Lake Eden Inn. Innkeepers; Sally and Dick are sponsoring the first Weekend Jazz Festival featuring the well-known “Cinnamon Roll Six”. Hannah’s yummy rolls will be served after the group’s rehearsal. With the unseasonably warm weather during the day, the accumulated snow has melted and frozen on the roadways, creating black ice and extremely hazardous driving. As much as Hannah’s trusty truck is good on Lake Eden’s snowy roads, it is no match for the ice, so after fish-tailing and watching a sea of red brake lights appear on the horizon, Hannah avoids a collision and swerves onto an access road. Others were not so lucky and when Hannah and Michelle trudge through the snow to offer assistance, they discover the tour bus of the “Cinnamon Roll Six” on its roof in a snow-packed ditch. They manage to enter through the rear door and assess any injuries. They find the bus driver is dead and Keyboardist, Buddy Neiman has a possible broken wrist. Hannah and Michelle tend to the shaken group and accompany them to the hospital. Everything goes like clockwork until the slightly injured Buddy Neiman is discovered stabbed to death by none other than Hannah’s Mother, Delores. Delores has been “assisting” Doc Knight as well as becoming leader of the Hospital Auxiliary’s ”Rainbow Ladies”. Who would want to murder Buddy Neiman?? The Band’s groupies; Lynnette and Cammy? Ex-girlfriend Shelby?? Or maybe keyboardist wanna-be, young Devin Murphy?? Was Clayton the bus driver’s death due to a heart attack or foul play?? Does Hannah have two (2) murders to set her already boggled mind to spinning? Luckily, Michelle, Andrea and Delores join the investigation as Hannah receives the one article of mail she has been dreading..Norman and Doctor Bev’s wedding invitation!! She agonizes over whether she should attend or not—and her feelings are raw. After all, she and Norman are still friends. Obligation is one thing—Love is something else. What part does the snowflake bracelet play in this crime? I have to say this is one of, if not the best, Lake Eden volume to date. Fellow Hannah-ites, you will love, love, love the twists and twirls Ms. Fluke has “rolled” between its covers as well as the D-licious recipes including “Tapioca Pie”, “Piggy Chicken” and very special “Peaches and Cream Cookies”. Re-arrange your bookshelf and don’t miss out on this winner!! You won’t be disappointed!! Nancy Narma

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    And that's all

    This is the last book in this series I will read. I just can't with them anymore. I had to stop reading multiple times because I was dumbfounded at these characters, plot, dialogue, etc, and at myself for spending money after the last craptastic entry.

    - ENOUGH with the "LOVE TRIANGLE". Hannah is just ridiculous and I can't figure out if she has a case of arrested development, is really that innocent and naive, or thinks boys are icky. Idiots, all of them.

    - I can suspend disbelief quite a bit and get lost in the story but ENOUGH. Between the sister leaking police info, to the mom going into medical files and impersonating people, to the whole lot of that family lifting evidence from residences, it is just so bad and ridiculous that I actually feel idotic I spent money to read this.

    - And a big old "I CAN'T" to Hannah. When my reaction to the heroine is the urge to slap her, I'm finished. Hannah is simultaneously a dolt, naive, idiotic, frustrating, condescending, selfish.

    - There is no character development. Hannah? Same as before. Sisters? Same annoying characters. Mother? Check. I dare say the same dialogue is used in each book. Hohoho, I wonder if Andrea will say something about Hannah's clothes. Maybe the mom will too. Hope the whole town rallies around super sleuth Hannah even though there are police and stuff, and should we ever read about the trial of the murderers we'll probably find out half the "evidence" is inadmissable because Hannah is an idiot ("what is a search warrant? My sisters and I just broke in and took that murder weapom so we could give it to Mike when he comes over at midnight so I can cook for him and maybe he'll put his arm around me! True love") and the other half are her doodles in the lisa frank trapper keeper she uses for her "murder book". The only characters that are likeable and actually have character growth are the dang cats.

    So basically, I am an idiot for buying this, esecially based on how bad the last few have been. No more.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Average

    I am always at a lose trying to describe how I feel about this series. I buy the books and read them as they come out but still somehow find Hannah herself very annoying. The triangle, which never made any sense to begin with, is now completely played out. I don't really see why either man is so patiently waiting for her to figure out her feelings. I like the supporting characters in the book. On a side note, I got this book on my Nook and have to say that the recipes appearing in the middle of the text was very annoying. Can't help wondering if the publisher couldn't put the recipes at the end of the electronic versions. I, for one, don't stop to read a whole recipe in the middle of a mystery.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Going downhill

    I used to really enjoy Joanne Fluke's books. They were never partiularly sophisticated, but they were fun and lighthearted. Coming from the midwest too, I always enjoyed the down home settings and characters. However I have to agree with other reviewers about how unenjoyable this last book in the series is. Ms. Fluke seems to have lost her way. The characters seem stale and uninteresting. The plot line, though never particularly strong, seems very weak and uninspired. The whole story line appears to be stuck in a very uninteresting place. Nothing in the series has evolved. Please go back to writing from a place of fun, or please wrap up the series. The last few books are nowhere near as good as the ones in the beginning of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Highly Rocommended Author

    I love Joanne Flukes work. I have read everyone of her books and can not wait for this one (Cinnomon Roll Murder). I'm curious to find out what's going to happen between Norman and Hannah. Impatiently waiting, Patty R.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Really badly written... I just finished the first chapter, and i

    Really badly written...
    I just finished the first chapter, and it makes no sense whatsoever. The dialog sounds like it was written by a little kid, and the main characters seem like idiots. And the actions performed by the main characters are not what you should be doing if there was a really bad car incident. It was basically like, “Hey look the bus is overturned and stuck in a ditch (HELLO? The people inside must be badly hurt!)… I wonder if I can read what it says on the side UPSIDE DOWN!” Seriously??? One of the worst books I have ever started. Not going to try to finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    I have read every book in this series, and I have to say the nex

    I have read every book in this series, and I have to say the next one will be a make or break situation for me. While I enjoy the recipes, and the mysteries themselves, Hannah gets on my nerves. Her constant correcting of grammar, her petri dish excuse for a handbag, and her inability to make a decision regarding two men has gotten to be a bit much. At this point, she seems snobby, dirty, and stupid. Ms. Fluke, please help her to grow up. I can't take much more of Hannah as she is.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Awful

    I thought I had read a Joanne Fluke mystery before but I would have remembered writing this bad. The characters were unmemorable, the mystery was lame, and the author spent too much time explaining and not enough time on actually moving the story along. She obviously thinks her readers are idiots (why else spend three paragraphs explaining the meaning of the phrase "get out of Dodge"?) Look for Diane Mott Davidson for good food-themed mysteries. And who ever heard of packing down the flour in the measuring cup when baking cookies? Honestly!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Waste

    This book was terrible,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Finally, after fifteen stories, another strong outing for Hannah

    Finally, after fifteen stories, another strong outing for Hannah Swenson and her family and friends in Lake Eden, MN. When a multi-car pileup turns into the murder of a member of the jazz group to play a the Lake Eden Inn, Hannah's on scene right away. Just to make things interesting, Hannah also has more issues with her love triangle, but in this novel, some things seem to become more resolved. You would think she's finally made some sort of decision in this disconcerting love triangle, but you never know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    I have read every book in this series and enjoyed them at first.

    I have read every book in this series and enjoyed them at first. However, I must admit that now I buy them mostly for the cookie recipes. The whole Hannah/Mike/Norman triangle has gone on MUCH TOO LONG!!! It has become really annoying and does nothing to enhance the stories. I have a feeling that something is going to go wrong with Norman's wedding and we will be back to this "will she or won't she?" nonsense in the next book. Enough, already! Time for a new sub-plot. Please?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    We're one step closer! Excellent Read!

    We're one step closer to Hannah maybe making a decision! Excellently written - you can feel Hannah's pain, and although you think you know who did it - you don't! I like where the characters are going in their development. Although you know the mystery will be solved by none other than Hannah - you also see others interacting more. Great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Too much of the same

    I have read all of the books in this series but this will be my last. It is enough alreay with the Mike and Norman triangle.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good mystery, good recipes

    Hannah Swenson gets embroiled in another murder when she and her sister are driving her bakery van and the slippery roads cause an accident. She and Michelle go to the accident scene and find the tour bus of the Cinnamon Roll Six, a jazz band. They are coming to play at a local club and it appears their driver had some sort of medical crisis and drove off the road. A band member is slightly injured and ends up in the hospital where he is killed. It later turns out that he was traveling under an assumed name. Hannah and Michelle are in the middle of the whole mess and decide to investigate the murder. The other issue Hannah is dealing with is the upcoming wedding of her former beau, Norman, to the abrasive Doctor Bev.
    In the last few books, it seemed as though Hannah was leaning towards Norman rather than Mike as her real love, but the appearance of Bev has put a wrench in the works. In this book, Hannah has to decide if she cares for Norman enough to fight for him and how she is going to do it. There is something not quite right about Bev and Hannah and her crew decides they are going to find out what it is. So, Hannah finds herself solving two mysteries and baking some mighty fine confections at the same time.
    I enjoyed this book. The mystery is never a really complex one in this series but it does hold the reader’s attention. The added plot with Norman and Bev also added to the suspense. As always, the recipes were wonderful, I always feel hungry when I finish one of Ms. Fluke’s books. I am definitely going to try the Piggy Chicken (pg 207) and the Chocolate Caramel Pecan Bars ( pg. 331).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommendecheck it out and enjoy

    it is as good as the rest of her novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    If I wanted a cookbook, I would have bought a cookbook! The further I get into the series, there are more and more recipes and less and less storyline! Stick to the story and throw a few recipes in at the end! Ridiculous!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Goody!

    To good to be true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    great author

    Her books are very entertaining and an easy read. There is a whole series and all good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    great book

    besides a good murder wonderful recipes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6