Customer Reviews for

Cinnamon Roll Murder

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay

I have loved reading Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen Series but after 15 books, isn't it time to start changing the scene a little? I think the biggest mystery of "Cinnamon Roll Murder" was if Norm was going to marry Dr. Bev or not. Truthfully, Hannah really needs to wake...
I have loved reading Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen Series but after 15 books, isn't it time to start changing the scene a little? I think the biggest mystery of "Cinnamon Roll Murder" was if Norm was going to marry Dr. Bev or not. Truthfully, Hannah really needs to wake up and smell the coffee she professes to love so much. Norm is no better than Mike and both treats Hannah more like property than the woman they supposedly both love. Add that to the fact that Norm is a grown man, actually a dentist so it can be summerized he holds some degree of intelligence, yet, he spent most of this book all moody and depressed because he's allowing Dr. Bev to control his life. Yet typical that Hannah, her sisters, and her mom comes riding in on their white horses to save the day, and of course - Norman. I adore Joanne Fluke . . . I just think it's time for her to start giving Hannah a different prospective on life - other than just Norm and Mike. After 15 books, I just think she's better than either of these two bozo's.

posted by valcat4me on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Average

I am always at a lose trying to describe how I feel about this series. I buy the books and read them as they come out but still somehow find Hannah herself very annoying. The triangle, which never made any sense to begin with, is now completely played out. I don't re...
I am always at a lose trying to describe how I feel about this series. I buy the books and read them as they come out but still somehow find Hannah herself very annoying. The triangle, which never made any sense to begin with, is now completely played out. I don't really see why either man is so patiently waiting for her to figure out her feelings. I like the supporting characters in the book. On a side note, I got this book on my Nook and have to say that the recipes appearing in the middle of the text was very annoying. Can't help wondering if the publisher couldn't put the recipes at the end of the electronic versions. I, for one, don't stop to read a whole recipe in the middle of a mystery.

posted by hollingworth on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Just Okay

    I have loved reading Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen Series but after 15 books, isn't it time to start changing the scene a little? I think the biggest mystery of "Cinnamon Roll Murder" was if Norm was going to marry Dr. Bev or not. Truthfully, Hannah really needs to wake up and smell the coffee she professes to love so much. Norm is no better than Mike and both treats Hannah more like property than the woman they supposedly both love. Add that to the fact that Norm is a grown man, actually a dentist so it can be summerized he holds some degree of intelligence, yet, he spent most of this book all moody and depressed because he's allowing Dr. Bev to control his life. Yet typical that Hannah, her sisters, and her mom comes riding in on their white horses to save the day, and of course - Norman. I adore Joanne Fluke . . . I just think it's time for her to start giving Hannah a different prospective on life - other than just Norm and Mike. After 15 books, I just think she's better than either of these two bozo's.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good mystery, good recipes

    Hannah Swenson gets embroiled in another murder when she and her sister are driving her bakery van and the slippery roads cause an accident. She and Michelle go to the accident scene and find the tour bus of the Cinnamon Roll Six, a jazz band. They are coming to play at a local club and it appears their driver had some sort of medical crisis and drove off the road. A band member is slightly injured and ends up in the hospital where he is killed. It later turns out that he was traveling under an assumed name. Hannah and Michelle are in the middle of the whole mess and decide to investigate the murder. The other issue Hannah is dealing with is the upcoming wedding of her former beau, Norman, to the abrasive Doctor Bev.
    In the last few books, it seemed as though Hannah was leaning towards Norman rather than Mike as her real love, but the appearance of Bev has put a wrench in the works. In this book, Hannah has to decide if she cares for Norman enough to fight for him and how she is going to do it. There is something not quite right about Bev and Hannah and her crew decides they are going to find out what it is. So, Hannah finds herself solving two mysteries and baking some mighty fine confections at the same time.
    I enjoyed this book. The mystery is never a really complex one in this series but it does hold the reader’s attention. The added plot with Norman and Bev also added to the suspense. As always, the recipes were wonderful, I always feel hungry when I finish one of Ms. Fluke’s books. I am definitely going to try the Piggy Chicken (pg 207) and the Chocolate Caramel Pecan Bars ( pg. 331).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    great author

    Her books are very entertaining and an easy read. There is a whole series and all good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cookie Jar still Full of surprises

    Hannah Swensen is still baking delicious confections at her little shop in Lake Eden, MN aptly named The Cookie Jar.

    While driving to make a delivery in a snowstorm Hannah and her sister Michelle see a massive multi-vehicle accident and get out to trudge through the snow to help the victims. After helping the minor injuries to the local hospital, Hannah is confronted my her mother telling her that Sprained wrist patient is dead!

    The twists and turns are entertaining, the mystery, not so difficult to figure out, but still funny. I really liked the way that all her friends and family gathered around her and gave a a good shove in the right direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    A Yummy Read! If you haven't read the previous books in this ser

    A Yummy Read!
    If you haven't read the previous books in this series, you're in for a tasty treat. When you've finished it, you'll find yourself eager to devour all the books in the Hannah Swensen series. The recipes are to die for, making each novel in the series as much a murder mystery as a mini-cookbook! And each new novel in the series takes the reader one step further into the lives of these very likeable characters. If you're already a fan, you'll find the Hannah/Mike/Norman question to be as big a piece of the cookie as the murder, and equally as intriguing . The triangle works much the same way as that in Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series. Fluke's delightful characters always blend together to create another fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Is it me or is Hannah being selfish about Norman, I mean come on

    Is it me or is Hannah being selfish about Norman, I mean come on she's got Mike still. Norman mightn't be in a good situation but who's fault is that? She should of made her choice instead of stringing those two guys along for all this time. She shouldn't end up with either both guys should move on and find new ladies

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another fattening, entrancing read

    There is plenty of mystery surrounding the Cinnamon Roll 6. On their way to a gig at the Lake Eden Inn, the tour bus carrying the jazz band "Cinnamon Roll 6" crashes. Hannah Swenson and her youngest sister, Michelle (having just avoided being part of the pile-up on the highway) are the first to arrive at the tour bus. There they discover a dead bus driver, a lost puppy and an injured band member, who is later found murdered at the Lake Eden Hospital. Who's death to focus on first? What do we do with the poor puppy? Is Norman really going to marry Bev next Saturday? Is Delores finding romance? Lots of questions - lots of answers. A definite 'must-read' for any fan of either Joanne Fluke or of cozy mysteries in general.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Recipes look amazing!

    I’ve heard lots of praise for Joanne Fluke and her Hannah Swenson culinary mysteries. I received an Advanced Reader Copy from Kensington Books for review purposes and I dove in with great anticipation.

    Hannah Swenson and her sister help an injured jazz band when their tour bus is in an accident. Hannah feels responsible to investigate when one of the musicians is later murdered at the hospital. She’s also being prodded by her family and friends to break up her former boyfriend’s upcoming wedding to a scheming and evil usurper of his affections.

    Both plots overlap in a convincing way. The mystery isn’t all that complex but the red herrings are laid out fairly and nicely interspersed with the real clues. One of the deaths is pretty much ignored after it’s determined that it could have been an accident. I would have liked a bit more resolution there. Was he murdered or not?

    The book is as much cookbook/recipe book as it is mystery.

    The recipes look delicious and they are written so that even the most novice of cooks can follow the directions easily.

    Since this is a series and I hadn’t read any of the previous books, I did have a bit of problem sorting out all the characters. I also found some of the characters to be behaving a bit illogically, but I’m willing to say that if I knew them better, it might make more sense.

    I understand that in the cozy genre, more latitude is given to activities such as cooking, knitting, or gardening, but I often found myself wanting to skim the parts where Hannah and her partner or her sister would discuss what they were going to bake next and whether they had enough flour on hand for a full batch or something and then listing the utensils they would need. That got a bit tedious and could have tightened up the scene if it had been streamlined.

    Overall, I recommend Cinnamon Roll Murder and I look forward to reading another.

    ----------

    I received a free copy of Cinnamon Roll Murder for review purposes but it did not influence my review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2