Customer Reviews for

Circle Dance

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    A Great Read!

    After having met the authors, Lynne and Valarie Constantine, in person at a 'Latte and Literature' book-club meeting, I can see a little bit of both of the main characters, Greek-American sisters Nicole and Theodora, in them. I thoroughly enjoyed reading their book about the close-knit Parsenis family. The love and warmth that they felt for one another was quite obvious. Theodora had to come to terms with an adulterous husband, and Nicole was in a relationship where she was the other woman and wavering about what to do. They both had to deal with the death of a parent. The sisters were strong women who were always there for each other. Family was first and foremost for them. I was hooked after reading the prologue. I read it in two days; couldn't put it down. Circle Dance is a story to be enjoyed by all nationalities, no matter what your ethnic background. Looking forward to a prequel, sequel or maybe both. How about it, Lynne and Valarie? Gloria Evans Fairfield, CT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers' Favorite Circle Dance by

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers' Favorite

    Circle Dance by Lynne and Valerie Constantine is a beautiful family saga spanning two generations over a perfectly detailed year of their lives.   The story centers around two sisters, Theodora and Nicole, who have strong ties with their Greek heritage as well as sharing the American dream. The girls visit Ikaria, Greece while living in the Baltimore area and working and playing in Washington. As I began reading the Prologue I knew this would be a book that was hard to put down and I was not disappointed. Theodora is the business woman, working alongside of her father and hoping someday he will go against his traditional beliefs and put her in charge of the family business. Nicole marries young and believes she has found her Prince Charming and will live happily ever after. Lynn and Valerie Constantine expertly guide us through the lives of this family, introducing us to parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles and I shared the joys, the sorrows, the good, and the bad with Theodora and Nichole. I delighted in the delicious Greek meals and traditions at Yiayia’s house and could smell the food cooking. I yearned to be seated at their dining room table. I anxiously read and shared in the business troubles, dating wrongs, marriage woes, hospital stays, and more.

    Circle Dance is a book that will keep you up late into the night, not even realizing it is way past your bedtime. Lynne and Valerie Constantine’s book is a sure winner and heading straight for the top of the bestseller list. If you enjoy the family saga genre, Circle Dance is a must-read. I can only hope that a sequel is in the works and we will follow Nichole and Theodora for another year. I would love to see this turned into a movie. I even have the actors and actresses picked out.  Do Not Miss This One; it is a WINNER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Encore please.

    I really enjoyed this book. The key for me is getting a good "visual" on what I am reading. In Circle Dance, both character development and story line are solidly crafted and believable. You feel that you know the characters, flaws and all. The plot, with its twists, was engaging and fun to follow. The wonderful, large and supportive Greek family, with history and strong tradition, was so well portrayed that I was inspired to read more about Ikaria later. I hope that Nicole and Theodora will
    find some new intrigue and return in print soon. They, like the authors, make a great team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    The best part about reading Circle Dance isn't the suspense, tho

    The best part about reading Circle Dance isn't the suspense, though it is gripping, intriguing, and very well crafted. The best aspect of reading this novel isn't even knowing that something will happen, that something is going on in the background and still not being able to put your finger on it. The best part of Circle Dance isn't the familiarity, the relatability, the lovely portraits of people, landscapes, cultures, intimate moments, memories, etc. No, the true connection with this book is born of its ability to touch such a wealth of sentiments, feelings, customs, life experiences...in short, its ability to be so human, to speak to the humanity within each of us. It is tranquil, energetic, enraged, lazy, in love, blind, pensive, open, mysterious—it is a story of life through the eyes of characters we all know in our everyday dealings, in our families, in ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    Circle Dance, by Lynne and Valerie Constantine is a contemporary

    Circle Dance, by Lynne and Valerie Constantine is a contemporary fiction novel about two Greek-American sisters on their very different paths in life. Nicole is more of the head-strong, do-it-yourself sort of girl, ready to take charge of her life. Theodora is the more traditional of the two, marrying young, and discovering that it's not all it's cracked up to be.

    The book's descriptions were very rich, the characters very well written, and distinct from each other. I was a little concerned with the book having two authors that the flow would disrupt or change so drastically that you could tell where one began and the other stopped, but I didn't notice that at all. I was very impressed.

    The story pulls you in almost immediately, and doesn't let up until the last page. It was refreshing for me to take a small break from the sci-fi/fantasy type novels that I've been reading, and just curl up with a novel that was simple, yet so complex at the same time.

    I related a lot with Theodora and her mother in law, as I'm sure many wives can. Feeling that sort of judgment and contempt, always made to feel like an outsider and never welcome. It was very well handled, and I give massive props to the Constantine sisters for putting together something so seamless and rich. This book is getting a very well deserved five of five stars and I'll be keeping my eye out for more of their work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Great read about a wonderful, close family. I enjoyed the intrig

    Great read about a wonderful, close family. I enjoyed the intrigue associated with the business sub-plot and it was obvious that the authors did their medical and business research. I loved the family and the strong values they had. It is refreshing to read a book with such old fashioned values and close family ties. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    This is a book that will leave you thinking about the characters

    This is a book that will leave you thinking about the characters long after you are finished. Sisters Nicole and Theodora share a wonderful bond that help each navigate the difficult personal paths set before them. Vivid, well fleshed out characters made me love this family and I hated for the story to end. The love and loyalty of this close-knit family made me wish they were my own. Pick this up if you want something that will draw you in from the first page and leave you wanting more at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    A great book to curl up with on a cold winter's eve. Delve into

    A great book to curl up with on a cold winter's eve. Delve into this family and share their secrets. It's enjoyable to walk their paths and see where they end up. If you don't enjoy this then you shouldn't be reading any books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Sisters Lynne and Valerie Constantine must be very close, almost

    Sisters Lynne and Valerie Constantine must be very close, almost thinking as one. In Circle Dance, they have created a seamless classic which takes you on a dynastic journey from the humble islands of Greece to the American Dream of New England. Their story bridges the culture gap from one European country to one corner of the States, but its appeal is universal. America is a cosmopolitan glue pot of cultures from all over Europe and more. The whole country is struggling with the change from historic values. Circle Dance shows this beautifully with a gripping tale of divided loyalties. Lynne does this with humour, “She wondered if men told unattractive women not to worry their ugly little heads,” and emotion, “Broken trust, like fine porcelain when it is repaired, retains forever a hairline crack.” She also takes us on a journey from raw desire, “No, her head screamed, but she heard her voice say yes,” through to genuine and lasting love, “He was so much a part of her she didn’t know where he finished and she began.” It’s a cracking read. Would thoroughly recommend to people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1