BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Circle of Danger

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book!!! Circle of Danger was an action packed adventu

    Excellent Book!!!

    Circle of Danger was an action packed adventure, romantic love story, tale of overcoming past trauma, and steamy sex scenes all rolled into one.

    Our hero, Ryker, is a strong dashing one eyed alpha male with physical and emotional scars as a result of things that happened to him in his childhood.  Ryker is head of a an exclusive secret agency, The Circle, that handles multiple types of cases in a covert manner.  He and our heroine, Marie, were raised in the circle's headquarters by a madman/pedophile intent on manipulating and punishing them and all others under his control.

    Ryker kills the master, Theo, and takes over the organization.  He puts Marie in a safe position only to have her be disobey him and go out on a mission to collect data.  While collecting data Marie is captured and  injected with a drug that causes a person to desperately crave sex.   She is rescued but they have a problem because there is no cure until they find the wizard and develop an antidote.  Ryker moves Marie into a bedroom adjacent to his and makes it know that he is the only person that  will service Marie until an antidote can be found.

    The adventure begins on their quest to find the wizard and is a nonstop roller coaster ride of betrayals, car chases, international travel, uneasy alliances, steamy sex at the most awkward times, and the forging of intimacy between two people that were destined to be together.

    I laughed, cried, and found myself on the edge of my chaise hoping that they would survive and find the love that was there all along.  I loved these characters and you will too.  

    Reviewed by Michelle for Cocktails and Books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good read

    This is my first time reading books from this author and i am glad i did. I'm now reading book 3!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Highly Recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This series is worth the read

    Dangerous ...thrilling and super hot...love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    This is the second book in the Circle series and had me turning

    This is the second book in the Circle series and had me turning the pages from the beginning.

    Marie Beltane and Arthur Ryker both grew up and suffered under the hands of a mad man they called Master—Ryker killed him at the first opportunity, but his influence still echoes through their lives affecting how they deal with each other and everyone else they meet.

    Marie, determined to become a valued member of the Circle is captured on one of her first missions. She is injected by a drug that has been created by someone known as the “the Wizard”. It causes her body to rev up into a fever pitch, where she craves sex and will do anything to relieve it. Other women had been injected but did not survive. Now she must rely on Ryker --a man she’s loved since the day she was bought by the Master--to help her.

    Ryker current leader of the Circle struggles with the lies he’s been fed his whole life. To him, Marie must be protected and he feels he has failed her when she’s injected with the drug. He takes it upon himself to help her through the drug’s effects—providing physical relief for her without any for him. He wrestles with his own darkness and while he loves Marie, he dares not let her be too close. He is afraid that if she knows who he really is that it will disgust her.

    Together Marie and Ryker hunt down the maker of the drug as they try to throw off the vestiges of their past. Marie has to overcome her own fears as Ryker has to learn to trust Marie. Together they will succeed.
    One of the things that struck me in this book is that Marie, who’d gone through many terrible times in her life, was still determined to find happiness. She tried not to dwell on the darkness that had been her life before she was freed from the Master. She pushed herself to overcome many of her fears to help the man she loved. This endeared me to her. She wasn’t an angry, bitter person—even though she had the right to be. She came across as caring and determined. I Liked that she wanted more for her life.

    Ryker, was deeply noble in his own way. He was willing to endure things that no one should in an effort to protect Marie. He tended more toward guilt and regret. He doesn’t allow himself happiness, because he thinks he doesn’t deserve it, but when around Marie, he begins to change.

    This author touches on the deeply disturbing and darkest parts of human nature—but shows that there is light if you fight for it. It’s not just about love, it’s about compassion, endurance and the strength of two people.

    Another aspect I enjoyed was the introduction and actions of the secondary characters—all were unique and spiked my interest, like Jack Drago, a large tattooed guy, who has a huge soft side (He loved his cat). The author weaves in these other characters into the story so well, that when I was done with the book—I wanted more.

    This may be an erotica—and there is plenty of sex in it, but the characters and the plot-- take center stage. The sex is a part of it and doesn’t stand out—which is the way a good story should be. This is why I thought it was a fantastic read. Carla Swafford keeps getting better and better and I can hardly wait until the next book comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    his book was incredible !!!!! Totally loved it !!! Well done Car

    his book was incredible !!!!! Totally loved it !!! Well done Carla you definitely had me hooked from page one and I recommend the book to anyone and everyone !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Interestingly refreshing

    Cant wait for 3rd

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This story was better than the first book

    Danger, suspense and true love. Great book cant for the third book! I read it twice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Honestly, I didn¿t remember much of Marie¿s (21) brief appearanc

    Honestly, I didn’t remember much of Marie’s (21) brief appearance in the first book, but her history with Ryker  (31/32) was mentioned many times, each time a little more of their horrible suffering was revealed throughout the story. I liked that despite those many years of abuse at Theo’s hands, she wasn’t a timid person who would jump at the sight of her own shadow. She wanted to do more, but she had to go through Ryker first. I admired her many shows of Having a backbone and telling Ryker off when he was being too overprotective. However, the downfall with most heroines like her (especially those in their early twenties), they bite off more than they can chew, and their overconfidence often lands them in trouble. Marie was sadly no different. My main problem with her was her selfishness. I understood why she pushed her way into every mission, but considering the drug in her system was a huge liability, I got mad every time the effects kicked in as soon as the missions had begun. Her inexperience out in the field was another problem. She had only little training, and it showed every time. She even managed to get a few operatives killed because of a panic attack. Yup, not a fan of hers.

    Ryker on the other hand, he was the most interesting character of the two. He also had more issues to overcome. Seeing him slowly come to terms with his past and work on putting it to rest with Marie’s help it what kept my interest. His history and friendship with Marie made him the natural choice to step up and help her with her “problem”. Interestingly, that was pretty one-sided because he had a darker side he tried to keep hidden from her. I thought his overprotectiveness of Marie was sweet, and judging from her bad choices throughout the story, she really needed protecting. Mostly from herself. He wasn’t always completely unreasonable, and more often than not, he caved to her. Personally, I liked the tortured hero angle and the darker side of his pleasure, although it wasn’t as bad as I’d been expecting given all the hints about it.

    The plot was suspenseful with a couple of twists. Considering the catalyst for this story, I was pleasantly surprised that there wasn’t more sex than story. The first scene was definitely hot, but I ended up skipping a lot in the middle since they were all essentially the same, and he didn’t reveal his secret to her until near the end. I dislike heroines in their early twenties, and Marie was a good example of why I don’t like them. I wish she hadn’t always needed to be saved, but at least she acknowledged at the end that she wasn’t cut out for that job. I already have book three about Rex and Abby, and to be honest, I was hoping it would be Jack’s story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Marie

    Loved Ryker but Marie got on my nerves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1