Customer Reviews for

Circle of Friends

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I've started reading this book twice and just couldn't get into

I've started reading this book twice and just couldn't get into it. Well, I tried again recently and just finished. It is one of the best Maeve Binchy books I have ever read. I didn't want it to end, but I couldn't wait for the ending to see what happens. I hightly ...
I've started reading this book twice and just couldn't get into it. Well, I tried again recently and just finished. It is one of the best Maeve Binchy books I have ever read. I didn't want it to end, but I couldn't wait for the ending to see what happens. I hightly recommend it.

posted by sunshine52LM on May 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

give it time

Read this for book club. Everyone felt it was a hard book to start.
She introduces a lot of characters and the book moves through them so fast you quite often don't notice she has changed characters and you are lost. Just keep reading as the book gets more interesting...
Read this for book club. Everyone felt it was a hard book to start.
She introduces a lot of characters and the book moves through them so fast you quite often don't notice she has changed characters and you are lost. Just keep reading as the book gets more interesting as you
go and by the end you can't read fast enough.

posted by 11130980 on September 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    give it time

    Read this for book club. Everyone felt it was a hard book to start.
    She introduces a lot of characters and the book moves through them so fast you quite often don't notice she has changed characters and you are lost. Just keep reading as the book gets more interesting as you
    go and by the end you can't read fast enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    I've started reading this book twice and just couldn't get into

    I've started reading this book twice and just couldn't get into it. Well, I tried again recently and just finished. It is one of the best Maeve Binchy books I have ever read. I didn't want it to end, but I couldn't wait for the ending to see what happens. I hightly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Great read. Keeps you interested from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Enjoyed this novel very much.

    I love the writings of Maeve Binchy. This book was really good. I'm planning to order some more by her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great book; great author!

    I've read Circle of Friends two or three times before, and I still come back to it every couple of years. It's one of my favorite books. It's too bad Maeve Binchy is no longer with us. I think she was one of all-time great writers of our times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    loved it--never a dull moment

    enjoy this author very much and this book lived up to my expectations

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Great book! One of her best! Great book!

    One of her best! Benny and Eve are characters that you care about and you feel they arre your friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Best book

    I read this book once a year

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    There at the Beginning ┬┐ There at the End

    I¿ve heard a saying that goes ¿The people, who were there for you at the beginning, are the one¿s who will be there for you at the end.¿ Meaning that the people who were you¿re friends to begin with will always be with you that is, if they are your true friends. If you have ever read A Circle of Friends, by Maeve Binchy then you¿ll know that the saying goes right along with it. Benny Hogan, a girl of a warm, wealthy family, and Eve Malone, an orphan girl who¿s brought up by the nuns, and who has a very difficult personality at times, begin their friendship when they¿re merely ten years old. It tells about their adventures, the tough times they go through, and yet they are always there to help and support each other, being best friends every step of the way. I really loved this book, and I highly recommend it. It was real easy to get into and even though it looks difficult to read due to the fact that it has 596 pages, once you really get into it you¿ll cruise right along never wanting to put the book down. There¿s really great characterization, and imagery in this book. ¿Some of them were half afraid of Eve.¿(Pg. 5).Which is a really good example of characterization because it shows a bit of Eve¿s behavior. Binchy describes things in such great detail that you¿re able to picture things so clearly you could draw a perfect picture. ¿Patsy spoke absently as she greased the trays for the queen cakes with a scrap of butter paper¿ (Pg. 1). The first many chapters are just about Eve and Benny and how they¿re growing up, but while away at college they meet a lot of other companions who end up sharing their bond and they all become friends, yet some of them aren¿t who you think they are. What I like most about this novel is that there are many unexpected twits and turns. You¿ll be reading and all of a sudden you have to re-read it because it¿s so unpredictable that you have trouble believing what you just read is true. It makes the book exciting; if there were no surprises then the book would probably be very boring, and tough to get through. One example for instance is there is a character that is portrayed ¿perfectly¿, she is described as beautiful, brilliant, warm, welcoming, nice, and caring, yet there is a point in the book where that all turns around and you would have never thought that she¿d be the one to pull off what it is that she had done. I would say that there¿s only one semi- negative aspect of this book. There are times that the author is a little too descriptive when describing the townspeople. The townspeople aren¿t really all that important and at times it got a little confusing. Also when the author describes the town, it can get a little perplexing. Other than that though the book was fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Wow

    I could not get enough of Circle of Friends. I started this book looking at the number of pages and thinking how long it would take to finish, but by the end I didn't want it to. I wish that there was a sequel so that I can find out what happens. Great Book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    LOVED IT!!!

    I loved this book!! I have not felt this way about a book in a really long time. I loved the characters and Maeve Binchy's writing style. I could not put it down. If you love stories about friendship this book is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Nice story

    Good story struggled bit keeping interested but finishef it nice stoory really

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    This book is about growing up and the transition from high schoo

    This book is about growing up and the transition from high school age to college age.  Some characters  were familiar types to me, 
    others were not.  Some characters were likable and others just embarrassing.  This made it hard to read in the beginning, but as
    other reviewers have said, the book gets much better halfway through or so.  The ending felt right.  It is worth reading, but a somewhat
    difficult trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book.  The characters are beautifuly drawn

    I really enjoyed this book.  The characters are beautifuly drawn and the plot keeps your attention throughout.  I found it difficult to put the book down, and, in a way, I was sorry when it ended.  I've read several of Ms. Binchy's books, and enjoyed this the most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put it down! I loved this book, it had great character

    Could not put it down!
    I loved this book, it had great characters, great humor and a great plot. The movie isn't bad either, but the book is definitely better. Do yourself a favor, read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    To below

    I tried. Ypu cant, at least I cant on my nook simple touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    To:to below

    U dont ned a name

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Katie to austin

    We cannot go out. my heart belongs to anither*grabs purse leaving*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Dfgg

    Fgd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6