Customer Reviews for

Circle of Friends

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this novel very much.

I love the writings of Maeve Binchy. This book was really good. I'm planning to order some more by her.

posted by sallymel on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

give it time

Read this for book club. Everyone felt it was a hard book to start.
She introduces a lot of characters and the book moves through them so fast you quite often don't notice she has changed characters and you are lost. Just keep reading as the book gets more interesting...
Read this for book club. Everyone felt it was a hard book to start.
She introduces a lot of characters and the book moves through them so fast you quite often don't notice she has changed characters and you are lost. Just keep reading as the book gets more interesting as you
go and by the end you can't read fast enough.

posted by 11130980 on September 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great book; great author!

    I've read Circle of Friends two or three times before, and I still come back to it every couple of years. It's one of my favorite books. It's too bad Maeve Binchy is no longer with us. I think she was one of all-time great writers of our times.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    I've started reading this book twice and just couldn't get into

    I've started reading this book twice and just couldn't get into it. Well, I tried again recently and just finished. It is one of the best Maeve Binchy books I have ever read. I didn't want it to end, but I couldn't wait for the ending to see what happens. I hightly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    loved it--never a dull moment

    enjoy this author very much and this book lived up to my expectations

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Great book! One of her best! Great book!

    One of her best! Benny and Eve are characters that you care about and you feel they arre your friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Best book

    I read this book once a year

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Outstanding!

    The movie was good, but the book is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Amazing

    I had always been a huge fan of the movie adaptation of this novel, but had never read the book. One day, I just saw it at the bookstore and picked it up. It was ten times better than the movie(starring Chris ODonnell and Minnie Driver). I could really identify with Benny. This book is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Wow

    I could not get enough of Circle of Friends. I started this book looking at the number of pages and thinking how long it would take to finish, but by the end I didn't want it to. I wish that there was a sequel so that I can find out what happens. Great Book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    LOVED IT!!!

    I loved this book!! I have not felt this way about a book in a really long time. I loved the characters and Maeve Binchy's writing style. I could not put it down. If you love stories about friendship this book is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Read this book years ago, and the feelings still remain ...

    I read this book back in the early nineties, just before the movie came out. I adored this book. From page one I was hooked and fell in love with Benny. To this day I tell people to read this book, forget the movie. I'm dying to read it again and recapture the magic I felt while reading it, but I lent it to someone and never got it back. I have to buy a new one. READ THIS WONDERFUL BOOK. You'll never regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 1999

    a great read!

    I loved this book! Over the past few years I have been extremely lazy, and haven't been reading unless it was required, and not even then sometimes. As a New Year's resolution I've decided to begin reading again and this was my first to pick up. It was absolutely fabulous! I LOVE this book. A definite page turner that keeps coming with the surprises. I finished this over three days, including staying up well into the night on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The text is easy to read and the context is very interesting. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    A very good story

    0ne of my favorite books-a stoty of

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put it down! I loved this book, it had great character

    Could not put it down!
    I loved this book, it had great characters, great humor and a great plot. The movie isn't bad either, but the book is definitely better. Do yourself a favor, read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    To below

    I tried. Ypu cant, at least I cant on my nook simple touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    To:to below

    U dont ned a name

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Katie to austin

    We cannot go out. my heart belongs to anither*grabs purse leaving*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Dfgg

    Fgd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Great book!

    This is one of my favorite books. I have read it more than once and always enjoy it. I have read some of her other books, but this one is by far my favorite! Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!!

    I am a huge fan of Maeve Binchy and once again one of her stories has touched me and remains in my memory. Circle of Friends is a wonderful story, sad but wonderful in the sense that the main character Benny learns so much. She grows from a child to a woman and although things may turn out not as planned in her life she still remains hopeful and looks toward the future. I believe this is a lesson we could all learn from somewhere in our own journeys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    The best Binchy book

    I've read many of her books and this was by-far... the very best one. Highly recommended. Don't bother with the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3