Customer Reviews for

Citizen Girl

Average Rating 2.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, Nanny doesn't live here

Yep, this is not a cute nanny tale with a heartbreak kid to make you feel warm and sad all at the same time.It is full of anger, jokes, weakness, confusion, ambition, more jokes, lots of 'bad words',corruption, even more jokes, and a bit of moral victory. It is also ab...
Yep, this is not a cute nanny tale with a heartbreak kid to make you feel warm and sad all at the same time.It is full of anger, jokes, weakness, confusion, ambition, more jokes, lots of 'bad words',corruption, even more jokes, and a bit of moral victory. It is also about the business of sex, and a big business it is. Because like most of us Girl cannot see around every corner, she is drawn in to this business.She is intrigued by the money, then overwhelmed by what she finds around the corner, and then well, you must read it. Some readers seem to want tales like Girl's to be clearer, cleaner, and more soothing. Well, this one doesn't follow that formula. It is not always clear, it is vulgar/obscene at times, and it is not very comforting. This book hit home with me because even though I (and my friends) haven't faced the sex business like Girl, I have faced the seduction that comes with success (praise, promotion, power.) The authors allow Girl to show me us that corruption often slips in unnoticed, and before you know it you are one of them. Kraus and McLaughlin seem to be pushing us (including themselves) to be more careful out there (remember the old cop on Hill Street Blues?), even when you think you've had success. As I read this over it makes their book sound so preachy, but what really carries over from their nanny book is the humor. As in that story, their humor comes in when you really need it. Now, that's soothing! Thanks for reading this.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointingly Dirty

After loving the Nanny Diaries, I was excited to find this book by McLaughlin and Krause. At first, I identified easily with the intelligent young girl and her plight to escape a miserable job situation. However, while the book started solidly, it gradually descended ...
After loving the Nanny Diaries, I was excited to find this book by McLaughlin and Krause. At first, I identified easily with the intelligent young girl and her plight to escape a miserable job situation. However, while the book started solidly, it gradually descended further and further into trashy language and themes. I would definitely NOT recommend this book to anyone under the age of 18, as there are some very (perverse) adult themes discussed at length and which are integral to the plot. I was quite surprised and disappointed that these two accomplished authors would sink to using shock value to attract an audience. They could easily have used their already-proven writing skills instead.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Ok

    I really had to push myself to finish this book. The characters were ok the story was ok the ending was ok - Just ok nothing special

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Too much whining

    I had a very difficult time getting into this story. A 24-year-old with a degree in a less-than-lucrative major is angry/depressed because she isn't a senior-level executive living it up in Manhattan. Has she never heard of paying one's dues, or working your way up to the top? The perpetual victim whining attitude got really old, really fast. I really didn't care how the book ended...I just wanted it to end. Mostly I just wanted Girl to shut up. What was especially hard to digest was her grasp of the corporate culture and lingo at such a young age. On a positive note...I purchased the audio version of the book (because I have a long commute) and the narration was excellent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    not worth the time

    i agree w/ every other review. i could not finish. if i don't respect or like the main character i can't bring myself to read about them. main character is not a likable one for me. she is weak and whiny and a bit stupid in my eyes. If that is what the younger generation is really like, this world is in trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    I didn't even want to finish it.

    The story is choppy and the way everything is autonomized is contrived and obnoxious. i could not even finish the book. i'm a mid 20s girl living in new york and i found the main character to cause me to shake my head and think about how silly she is. i would not recommend. at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    Stupid Girl

    I jumped at the chance to read something by this author-duo as their first novel : 'The Nanny Diaries' was GREAT! However, I was sorely disappointed with this, their second offering. The tale opens with the lead character getting fired, then moves quickly into job search and a re-hire. And by page 185 I was begging for it to be OVER! The plot is painful at best, the heroine is uninspiring (and stupid!)and I did not care where the story was going. I did not finish it....even though I tried. Hmmm....hope their 3rd novel is better than this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    A bit disappointed...

    I flew through this book, but not because it was wonderful but because I wanted to know where the book was going. It was a strange story that did not quite make sense. The ending was somewhat ridiculous. I would not really waste your time on this book. It most certainly was not anything special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    Disappointed!

    I read The Nanny Diaries and just loved it. I couldn't put it down, it was really funny. This book, however, was a true disappointment. I really hoped it would be as good as their first. The ending was stupid and sort of left you hanging. Hopefully these two ladies can come up with a funnier third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    A far cry from what I'd hoped

    I was really ready to give this book a chance, despite reading some poor reviews. However, I found this book to be a huge disappointment. Almost from the outset, I found Girl to be a spineless, whiny and inept excuse for a main character who is meant to represent today's Feminist. Towards the end of the book, I even found myself identifying with the horrible things Guy said about her. I'm glad that I rented this from the library and didn't waste my money on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Wow this book is Bad!

    Since I heard they're making a movie of the Nanny Diaries I assumed that this book would be worth the read. Boy was I wrong. This chick got on my nerves! Have a backbone already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Boring

    After reading 'The Nanny Diaries', I picked up this book. It was boring and predictable. I have to say that the concept was clever. But the execution was seriously lacking. Girl has her moments of wit but overall she is completely inept and I figured out what was going to happen to her in about 100 pages (it is 300). I wish the authors had chosen a better character to show the changing face of feminism and its relevance today. If one wants to read about sexual harassment read 'Tales from the Boom Boom Room'. At least they are true stories. Not worth the money I spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    well....

    After reading all of the pans of this book, I still decided to give it a try. I liked the concept of a girl (Girl) out on her own and trying to 'make it' in the working world post-college, but somehow it never clicked. It was kind of torturous to get through, not because of the story, but because of the writing and dialogue- they were both pretty bad. This is not a total pan, however: I thought the ideas were strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Not the best

    Not the greatest read out there. It had long segments about corporate life. Pretty boring. Not very funny and little plot. The generic names pretty much represented this book - pretty generic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Nothing like Nannie Diaries!!!!

    I was excited to read this book after reading Nannie Diaries, because I loved the humor and it was such a quick read. Citizen Girl is not that....I am so happy I got the book on sale after Christmas and did not pay full price. I even joined the B&N book club and by talking with others I still did not enjoy this book. I was hoping to relate to Girl better, but instead I got sick of her and pretty much all of the other characters. Although it is easy to read....wait for paperback or borrow it from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    This is most definitely NOT another Nanny Diaries

    I adored the Nanny Diaries - that book drew me in, made me laugh, and I couldn't put it down. Citizen Girl is nothing like that. I couldn't WAIT for it to end. Ew.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Such a disappointment

    This was nowhere near the great read that their other book was. I wouldn't waste my money. (I didn't, I borrowed it from our library)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    It's No Nanny Diaries

    This book was a great disappointment. I understood the concept. Yes, the world is weird, but come on. There were parts that didn't make much sense and it was pretty vulgar. It might be worth a trip to the library or wait for paperback, but don't pay full price. It's just not worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1