Customer Reviews for

Citizen Girl

Average Rating 2.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, Nanny doesn't live here

Yep, this is not a cute nanny tale with a heartbreak kid to make you feel warm and sad all at the same time.It is full of anger, jokes, weakness, confusion, ambition, more jokes, lots of 'bad words',corruption, even more jokes, and a bit of moral victory. It is also ab...
Yep, this is not a cute nanny tale with a heartbreak kid to make you feel warm and sad all at the same time.It is full of anger, jokes, weakness, confusion, ambition, more jokes, lots of 'bad words',corruption, even more jokes, and a bit of moral victory. It is also about the business of sex, and a big business it is. Because like most of us Girl cannot see around every corner, she is drawn in to this business.She is intrigued by the money, then overwhelmed by what she finds around the corner, and then well, you must read it. Some readers seem to want tales like Girl's to be clearer, cleaner, and more soothing. Well, this one doesn't follow that formula. It is not always clear, it is vulgar/obscene at times, and it is not very comforting. This book hit home with me because even though I (and my friends) haven't faced the sex business like Girl, I have faced the seduction that comes with success (praise, promotion, power.) The authors allow Girl to show me us that corruption often slips in unnoticed, and before you know it you are one of them. Kraus and McLaughlin seem to be pushing us (including themselves) to be more careful out there (remember the old cop on Hill Street Blues?), even when you think you've had success. As I read this over it makes their book sound so preachy, but what really carries over from their nanny book is the humor. As in that story, their humor comes in when you really need it. Now, that's soothing! Thanks for reading this.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointingly Dirty

After loving the Nanny Diaries, I was excited to find this book by McLaughlin and Krause. At first, I identified easily with the intelligent young girl and her plight to escape a miserable job situation. However, while the book started solidly, it gradually descended ...
After loving the Nanny Diaries, I was excited to find this book by McLaughlin and Krause. At first, I identified easily with the intelligent young girl and her plight to escape a miserable job situation. However, while the book started solidly, it gradually descended further and further into trashy language and themes. I would definitely NOT recommend this book to anyone under the age of 18, as there are some very (perverse) adult themes discussed at length and which are integral to the plot. I was quite surprised and disappointed that these two accomplished authors would sink to using shock value to attract an audience. They could easily have used their already-proven writing skills instead.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    Sorry, Nanny doesn't live here

    Yep, this is not a cute nanny tale with a heartbreak kid to make you feel warm and sad all at the same time.It is full of anger, jokes, weakness, confusion, ambition, more jokes, lots of 'bad words',corruption, even more jokes, and a bit of moral victory. It is also about the business of sex, and a big business it is. Because like most of us Girl cannot see around every corner, she is drawn in to this business.She is intrigued by the money, then overwhelmed by what she finds around the corner, and then well, you must read it. Some readers seem to want tales like Girl's to be clearer, cleaner, and more soothing. Well, this one doesn't follow that formula. It is not always clear, it is vulgar/obscene at times, and it is not very comforting. This book hit home with me because even though I (and my friends) haven't faced the sex business like Girl, I have faced the seduction that comes with success (praise, promotion, power.) The authors allow Girl to show me us that corruption often slips in unnoticed, and before you know it you are one of them. Kraus and McLaughlin seem to be pushing us (including themselves) to be more careful out there (remember the old cop on Hill Street Blues?), even when you think you've had success. As I read this over it makes their book sound so preachy, but what really carries over from their nanny book is the humor. As in that story, their humor comes in when you really need it. Now, that's soothing! Thanks for reading this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Citizen Girl

    I loved Nanny Diaries and looked forward to this book - It didnt let me down. If you loved the quick, funny, smart tone of Nanny, you will love this book- I cant wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Wonderful Book!

    This is a funny and timely book that very much needed to be written. I feel like this book has been badly miscast by other reviews. Anyone that expected a frothy chick lit book clearly did not understand the Nanny Diaries. Citizen Girl has the same type of timely, savvy, dark and funny writing as Nanny Diaries, but this time takes on the workplace. I completely enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Citizen Girl

    This book should be required reading for everyone entering the job market! I loved being in Girl's head and she tries to figure out how to survive without selling out. By the end of the book you really feel hopeful that Girl has figured out how to play by her own rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Citizen Girl

    An amazing book - The hilarity of CG lies in the writer's ability to capture those weird, painful, funny moments that make up a work day. The depth and substance of the book is in its unflinching look at sexual roles, porn, workplace politics and how to make sense of entering the workplace. CG has all the same biting humor as Nanny Diaries, with a political edge that was both provacative and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Here's a different twist

    I read the other reviews. For another viewpoint, I really got a kick out of this book. It's a satire and you have to understand this. It was funny, sharp, and did represent the stress and struggle of a young girl in the corporate world in NYC. I was kept interested throughout. Worth reading, I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    Better than Nanny Diaries!

    I loved the Nanny Diaries, so I was looking forward to this new title by the authors. I have to say, I LOVE this book. It may be that I can relate better to this character since I have found myself in some of the same situations. I started reading this at night, and ending up staying up for three hours without being able to put it down. The chapters flow effortlessly into one another, and the innane career opportunities hit home with me. I am so excited that they could follow-up their first hit with such a great second effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Read it at work!

    Reading this book is akin to having an honest conversation with one's friends. It's alternately funny, devastating, ambiguous, and thoughtful. As any good and worthy book does, it causes one to think about oneself and (ironically) beyond oneself. The issues for young women and young workers are current, the scenes are almost horrifyingly recognizable, and the book never pulls any punches. I gave it to my parents to read, my friends, and my sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Satire- More Mature and Demanding

    Good satire makes you uncomfortable when you laugh, and some of the nightmares they paint shouldn't be this funny. But they are, with this maturing pair of young writers.They have reminded me (as I laughed and grimaced) that the world my daughter faces still has miles to go. Keep at it Emma and Nicola!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Great read!

    This book is a great read! I definitely identified with Girl's struggles with her boss. I think anyone who's ever had an office job would. And there are so many funny lines. I truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Sophomore Smash Hit

    A must read! Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus have captured the essence of being a twenty-something female in the 'new economy'. This book is a fresh, poignant and thought provoking social commentary on everything that is wrong with relationships (work, interpersonal) in this day and age. I appreciate their willingness to address these issues head on and come out with a book that I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    Fantastic!

    This book was fantastic and very 'smart.' Witty in places, Kafka-esque in others, and emotional throughout. It takes on important issues facing not just women, but men also, and does it with humor and amazing satire. A good read, sure to entertain and make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1