Customer Reviews for

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2523)

4 Star

(591)

3 Star

(152)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

I have to say, when I first noticed the mortal instruments series, I didn't even think to pick it up. Heck if I know why! But thank goodness I did. What an unforgettable ride!
City of Ashes is awesome. I loved City of Bones equally as much, and the writing is really a...
I have to say, when I first noticed the mortal instruments series, I didn't even think to pick it up. Heck if I know why! But thank goodness I did. What an unforgettable ride!
City of Ashes is awesome. I loved City of Bones equally as much, and the writing is really amazing.
What's up with some people not really liking Simon though? I love him. What an awesome friend. At times, I was really rooting for him even more than Jace. Considering the current circumstances, I guess Jace and Clary would be pretty... disturbing. (But I still don't think they are related at all. Does anyone? I mean really?)
I'm glad it's almost March. I don't have to wait too long for the third installment.
I'll be sad when it's all over, but I look forward to more good reading from Cassandra Clare.

posted by Mel83 on February 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Getting Better...

Though this series has a very entertaining plot, I have found the characters to be incredibly one-note. Also, the mark of a great book, for me, is one that draws me in emotionally, and that just hasn't happened yet here. That said, I still think a lot of people will rea...
Though this series has a very entertaining plot, I have found the characters to be incredibly one-note. Also, the mark of a great book, for me, is one that draws me in emotionally, and that just hasn't happened yet here. That said, I still think a lot of people will really enjoy this series, I just crave more from my books.

If you want two fantastic reads from the teen world, read "Hunger Games" by Collins and "Graceling" by Cashore!

posted by BluHawk on March 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 169
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Wow!

    I have to say, when I first noticed the mortal instruments series, I didn't even think to pick it up. Heck if I know why! But thank goodness I did. What an unforgettable ride!
    City of Ashes is awesome. I loved City of Bones equally as much, and the writing is really amazing.
    What's up with some people not really liking Simon though? I love him. What an awesome friend. At times, I was really rooting for him even more than Jace. Considering the current circumstances, I guess Jace and Clary would be pretty... disturbing. (But I still don't think they are related at all. Does anyone? I mean really?)
    I'm glad it's almost March. I don't have to wait too long for the third installment.
    I'll be sad when it's all over, but I look forward to more good reading from Cassandra Clare.

    74 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Emotional and Stimulating

    If you read City of Bones and now about to read City of Ashes you will now enter into a state of emotional tention. Clary is now conflicted with her feelings toward Jace (you know why if you read City of Bones, I don't want to spoil anything if you are just starting the first book)and trying to accept the hand she has been dealt by exploring a deeper relationship with her best friend Simon. Also now she will find out more about her real self and hit apon her hidden talents. It was interesting and enjoyable to see how the "boys" dealt with thier jealousies through out this book. There are lots of adventures and excitment in here to keep you up at night.

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jace and Clary, You are killin me!

    As I mentioned when I reviewed City of Bones, I am officially hooked. After reading the first book in the Mortal Instruments Series I was compelled to walk right over to my bookshelf and pluck the next one to devour and the situation is no different this time around. I have already started City of Glass this morning. I also thought that City of Bones was really well written but Cassandra's writing style became even more fluid in her second book. Cassandra Clare has a way of making you feel like you are truly watching the story unfold in front of you. It's like when you are watching TV and the killer corners the damsel in distress, she screams and then...it flips to another story line/commercial. I felt like she did this to me a lot (and no I am not saying that there are commercials in the book lol). I was left going "Wait! What happened to *insert character here*?" and anxiously reading on to find out. The suspense is intense at times.

    After the devastating realization that the guy she loves is her long lost brother, Clary is left feeling like the rug has been ripped out from under her. Everything has changed. Clary is a Shadowhunter, her best friend Simon is in love with her, her mother is in a magically induced coma, her biological father is a evil mastermind, and her mom's best friend (her father figure) is a werewolf. Yep, I think we can say that Clary has her hands full at the moment.

    Jace is also crushed to learn that the girl he loves is really his sister and he is not who he always thought he was. Now the second of the Mortal Instruments is stolen and the Clave thinks that Jace may be aiding his father, Valentine, in his pursuit. Now Downworlder children are turning up dead, drained of blood. Can they clear Jace's name and stop Valentine before he can execute his plan?

    Cassandra Clare really ups the stakes with this one and I love her for it. But Can I just say that in life when ever you want to tell someone something and they say "No, me first" DON'T LISTEN! Jace and Clary, you are killing me! I never thought I would be saying, "Who cares if you are brother and sister, you are clearly meant to be!" I know I am one sick puppy..lol Don't be like me and put this book off any longer. If you have not picked it up run, don't walk to your nearest bookstore/library and grab the series. You will not regret it. I know that I don't!

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Getting Better...

    Though this series has a very entertaining plot, I have found the characters to be incredibly one-note. Also, the mark of a great book, for me, is one that draws me in emotionally, and that just hasn't happened yet here. That said, I still think a lot of people will really enjoy this series, I just crave more from my books.

    If you want two fantastic reads from the teen world, read "Hunger Games" by Collins and "Graceling" by Cashore!

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    once you start the series, you cant stop. then a week will go by and you'll start from the beginning all over again!

    you will not be able to stop. Her writing paints colorful, vibrant pictures in your mind that no movie could possibly do.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    This book made me want to scream. Don't get me wrong its an amazing book it just makes u mad keep reading the series and u will fall in love.

    This book was awful, but only because the two main characters who uwant to go out can't because if u read the first book then u would know that they are supposed brother and sister,but the endmof the next one reviels the truth and it is the thing that makes u want to stay up all night just for another turn of page. So while ur reading this annd ur getting REALLY mad just lookforward because I promiss that it gets better because it turns into my favorite book! Which is saying something because i read non stop!

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    kinda a mix of a bunch of stories

    This book was really, really good. Though, it does seem to be a mix of a bunch of other stories... such as Star Wars (the Clary\Jace thing), The Blue Bloods (her mother is also in a coma)and Harry Potter (Lucian Greymark, anyone? Greyback in Harry Potter is also a werewolf...) All in all, a very good, somewhat unoriginal, story.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read Series

    This book left me wanting more! There were so many twists and turns that i was suprised at how fast i finished reading it. The characters are easy to fall in love with and you become entwined in the story so quickly that it will leave you wanting more. As soon as i finished this book I went out and bought the third one which i am reading right now. This book is a must read for those who like Romance, Thrillers and action

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Good YA

    Not the best writing style, and sometimes when things happened, I felt like there should have been more background, so as to understand better. But overall, it's a very good book, and an easy read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    The Thrill Ride Continues

    Readers are brought back into the exciting world introduced in Cassandra Clare incredible City of Bones. Clary's life can no longer be normal. Her mother is in a coma, her father is deranged, her best friend may no longer be human, and she has feelings that she shouldn't have toward her brother Jace. Someone is murdering Downworlder children and has stolen the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword. Clary and Jace suspect it to be Valentine with another evil plot, and they know they must stop him. Their world is on the brink of war. Soon, they are swept up into another dangerous adventure as they struggle to save the ones they love as well as their own lives in this epic power struggle. If possible, City of Ashes was even better than its prequel City of Bones. The story has non-stop action which kept me on the edge of my seat in suspense. I also highly enjoyed the love tensions among nearly all the characters. The story was just as unforgettable as the first, and the end left me hungering for more. City of Ashes is the type of story that I want to read over and over because it is just such a well-written and amazing story. The characters in City of Ashes are just incredible. Clary is my hero she's strong and resourceful, even if she sometimes doubts herself. Jace is an alternate form of Edward Cullen he's sexy and will give anything to protect the ones he loves. The cast of characters from the Mortal Instruments series are some of my favorite fictional characters ever. They make me wish I could participate in their attractive, although dangerous, world. I most definitely recommend the Mortal Instruments series to every eager reader out there (if you couldn't already tell from my excited raving). Fans of supernatural series such as the Twilight series or the A Great and Terrible Beauty series, among others, will certainly fall in love with this amazing story. If you've already read City of Bones but not yet its sequel, then get on it! And if you haven't even begun the series, you'd better get started. I promise you won't regret investing your time in this incredible series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Mortal Instruments is the sort of series that not just sucks you

    Mortal Instruments is the sort of series that not just sucks you in, but makes you feel as if you've swirled down a whirlpool. If you try to swim your way out you just get dragged down deeper into the world of Shadowhunters, Warlocks and demonic forces in their battle between light and darkness. Lines are blurred and drawn between our heroes. Possibly one of my favorite new additions to this part were the Seelie Court and the lycanthrope, Maia, who may or may not be interested in Simon. As for Simon, Clary's best "mundane" friend, his life is altered to a degree you might suspect but wouldn't believe. We learn more of Valentine's plans to conquer the world for mankind. Like any great supervillian, he's convincing enough that even the reader starts to question the goodness of the Clave he's determined to tear down. 
    The High Inquisitor, meantime has arrived to find out where the loyalties of the New York Conclave lie, and Jace is used as a tool or revenge and retribution. Clare does an amazing job of interveaving character view points and motivations so you aren't sure who to root for, or exactly where their loyalties lie.
    At the heart of the novel is the forbidden love between Jace and Clary. I have my suspicions that the "children" of Valentine may not be quite as he declares them to be. And it's heartbreaking as well as rendering to watch them fight the feelings they have for one another. In almost any other circumstance you know you should be revolted by the idea of them together, but Clare once again, burrows you so deeply in her characters that you feel as helpless and anxious to see them come together. 
    Anticipating to see what City of Glass brings to light.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Amazing! Highly Recommended

    This book, the sequel to City of Bones, was great! I read the entire book in two days (while working a full time job and raising a family). The story picked up right where book one left off and was none stop action/suspense. Clare is a good writer and though I was not a fan of the plot twist (brother/sister?! REALLY!?) and the bizarre nature of their sibling relationship mixed with a love and passion that is not normal was kinda creepy.

    Overall, though, it was fantastic! I am no teenager, and though it is for teens, I loved it and let all of my friends (also not teens) read it. I also plan on letting my 10 year old read it in a few years when she likes reading better. Sometimes the plot can seem juvenile, but for a fun, quick, none complicated read that keeps you guessing and makes it hard to put down I recommend this book!

    Better than Twilight, better than Beautiful Creatures, and matches the entertainment and suspense of the Fallen series! So good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    An intriguing development. My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars. An O

    An intriguing development.

    My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

    An Overview of the Novel: Clary was determined not to get involved with the Shadowhunters, but that plan doesn't really plan out.
    When people discover Jace is Valentine's son, they stop approving of him and declare him a traitor.

    It's up to Clary to make sure Jace doesn't do anything rash. But that proves to be a little more than difficult. After all Jace
    is her brother, she can't love him. And yet she can't not love him.

    Clary is determined to help her mother too. Her mother is still in a coma and shows no sign of waking up. Plus, Valentine is out
    there wrecking havoc. But where do Jace's loyalties really lie? To the Shadowhunters or to their father?

    My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: I kept hearing that I needed to read this series from so many people that I finally decided to
    read the series. I read the first one in the series awhile ago and just barely got to this one.

    I will admit to being pleasantly surprised. I actually really enjoyed this one. It did feel like a little bit of a bridge novel; however,
    it successfully avoided the sophomore slump.

    I still really like Jace, but the idea of Clary and him still liking each other kind of creeped me out. That's partly why I didn't read
    this book, but I decided to read it anyway. 

    I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed the novel and am pleasantly surprised by the Jace and Clary angle. I liked Simon a lot, but I
    just don't see him with Clary. I hope he does get a girl though. 

    Basically, I did enjoy this one and am curious to read the next in the series. I have all sorts of guesses as to what happens next. 

    So why 3.5 out of 5 stars? It was enjoyable, but it just lacked that extra something to really stand out in my mind. I did like it,
    however, and am excited to read the next one. 

    In Summary: An original, compelling tale that has me intrigued to find out what will happen next. Definitely recommend to fans
     of paranormal fantasy (but then again, you have probably all already read this). 

    The Wrap-up: Like I said, I can't wait to read the next one. I'm curious to see where this series goes. I really hope my suspicions
    are right and that I don't end up hating the series. :) 

    Love,
    Danica Page

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    City of Ashes

    I luv the mortal instruments series i think its amazayn its captivating, enigmatic and supernatural.: ) :D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Lovee

    Lovveee it andthe HP reference atthe end!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Most amazing book!!!

    The mortal instruments series are the first books that I have ever gotten into to besides the classics and twilight. But when you compare the series to the twilight saga, the mortal instruments beats it by a long shot. I couldn't put these book down and stay up all night reading them. I LOVE THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SERIES!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOMELY WICKED!!!!!

    If you haven't read the first book, City of Bones, then you are missing out!!!! If you have, then you know too well how unexpected it could be. Like twist and turns of mazes, you will become lost in the epic battle between the Downworlders and Nephilims. Don't be surprise when you come back for more.

    As Clary Fray strives to bring her life back together she becomes more aware of who she is and what she must do. Fighting to bring her mother back, protecting the only childhood friend she has, and sorting her feelings to live on with her life. What she do will change everything she once knew as normal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    City of Ashes

    The sequel to City of Bones is even better then the first,You hang on to every single word and can't wait to find out what happens next.Every chapter will surprise you and every revelation shock or startled you,You will be mesmerized by the world of Downworlders either the vampires of Hotel Dumort,the werewolves from the glamoured NYPD station or the faerie queen and her subjects of the Seelie Court, Cassandra's writing is excellent and detailed,She does not leave out details no matter how small and she does not leave out the gory bits either.I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and am going to start on City of Glass soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing read!

    I began reading City of Bones just to see what a few of my students were reading. Once I started, I couldn't put it down. The characters are well developed and so personable to the reader. The intricate story line just gets better and better chapter to chapter. City of Ashes continues the saga without missing a beat and intertwines the reader into the story line so quickly that he or she will feel a part of the book. Great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 169