BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3386 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2552)

4 Star

(597)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

I have to say, when I first noticed the mortal instruments series, I didn't even think to pick it up. Heck if I know why! But thank goodness I did. What an unforgettable ride!
City of Ashes is awesome. I loved City of Bones equally as much, and the writing is really a...
I have to say, when I first noticed the mortal instruments series, I didn't even think to pick it up. Heck if I know why! But thank goodness I did. What an unforgettable ride!
City of Ashes is awesome. I loved City of Bones equally as much, and the writing is really amazing.
What's up with some people not really liking Simon though? I love him. What an awesome friend. At times, I was really rooting for him even more than Jace. Considering the current circumstances, I guess Jace and Clary would be pretty... disturbing. (But I still don't think they are related at all. Does anyone? I mean really?)
I'm glad it's almost March. I don't have to wait too long for the third installment.
I'll be sad when it's all over, but I look forward to more good reading from Cassandra Clare.

posted by Mel83 on February 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Getting Better...

Though this series has a very entertaining plot, I have found the characters to be incredibly one-note. Also, the mark of a great book, for me, is one that draws me in emotionally, and that just hasn't happened yet here. That said, I still think a lot of people will rea...
Though this series has a very entertaining plot, I have found the characters to be incredibly one-note. Also, the mark of a great book, for me, is one that draws me in emotionally, and that just hasn't happened yet here. That said, I still think a lot of people will really enjoy this series, I just crave more from my books.

If you want two fantastic reads from the teen world, read "Hunger Games" by Collins and "Graceling" by Cashore!

posted by BluHawk on March 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Getting Better...

    Though this series has a very entertaining plot, I have found the characters to be incredibly one-note. Also, the mark of a great book, for me, is one that draws me in emotionally, and that just hasn't happened yet here. That said, I still think a lot of people will really enjoy this series, I just crave more from my books.

    If you want two fantastic reads from the teen world, read "Hunger Games" by Collins and "Graceling" by Cashore!

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Good YA

    Not the best writing style, and sometimes when things happened, I felt like there should have been more background, so as to understand better. But overall, it's a very good book, and an easy read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    An intriguing development. My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars. An O

    An intriguing development.

    My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

    An Overview of the Novel: Clary was determined not to get involved with the Shadowhunters, but that plan doesn't really plan out.
    When people discover Jace is Valentine's son, they stop approving of him and declare him a traitor.

    It's up to Clary to make sure Jace doesn't do anything rash. But that proves to be a little more than difficult. After all Jace
    is her brother, she can't love him. And yet she can't not love him.

    Clary is determined to help her mother too. Her mother is still in a coma and shows no sign of waking up. Plus, Valentine is out
    there wrecking havoc. But where do Jace's loyalties really lie? To the Shadowhunters or to their father?

    My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: I kept hearing that I needed to read this series from so many people that I finally decided to
    read the series. I read the first one in the series awhile ago and just barely got to this one.

    I will admit to being pleasantly surprised. I actually really enjoyed this one. It did feel like a little bit of a bridge novel; however,
    it successfully avoided the sophomore slump.

    I still really like Jace, but the idea of Clary and him still liking each other kind of creeped me out. That's partly why I didn't read
    this book, but I decided to read it anyway. 

    I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed the novel and am pleasantly surprised by the Jace and Clary angle. I liked Simon a lot, but I
    just don't see him with Clary. I hope he does get a girl though. 

    Basically, I did enjoy this one and am curious to read the next in the series. I have all sorts of guesses as to what happens next. 

    So why 3.5 out of 5 stars? It was enjoyable, but it just lacked that extra something to really stand out in my mind. I did like it,
    however, and am excited to read the next one. 

    In Summary: An original, compelling tale that has me intrigued to find out what will happen next. Definitely recommend to fans
     of paranormal fantasy (but then again, you have probably all already read this). 

    The Wrap-up: Like I said, I can't wait to read the next one. I'm curious to see where this series goes. I really hope my suspicions
    are right and that I don't end up hating the series. :) 

    Love,
    Danica Page

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Good

    This book was really good but i thought it was kind of wierd that jace turned out to be her brother...i mean they kissed and it kind of seemed like they were falling in love with each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2014

    This was more interesting than the first book, which isn't sayin

    This was more interesting than the first book, which isn't saying much. I'm SO glad the relationship between Clary and Simon is where it is at the end of this book, and can't wait to have everyone finally realize that Clary and Jace are not related. This does not make for a good twist. It makes for a disgusting incest-ual (spell-check keeps changing this word to ancestral, so..) relationship that is so gross in its intensity that it turns you off of reading any part of their romance. You do not root for them. You are disgusted by them. Anyway, I'm still not a fan of this series, but I am interested in knowing how everyone will discover Jace and Clary aren't related - because it's blazingly obvious to anyone with half a brain, and I would like to see Jocelyn wake up. So while I feel as if I'm becoming dumber from reading this series, at least Clare has kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Major Teen Angst = Minor Let Down

    I will admit, upon deciding if I wanted to read this series, I picked up the first three books and read the description on the back. It still interested me, though I was a bit disheartened by the fact that it took two books for the 'star-crossed' lovers to apparently fall in love. Deciding to give it shot, I read the first book and found the twist at the end of the first book to be an appropriate excuse for the delay in the relationship. However, the second installment was just as tiresome as feared in the anxiety filled teen romance department. Affection for the side characters was what kept me reading to the next chapter, and - I almost hate to admit - to the next book.
    I due hope, for the sake of the "minor" characters, the central characters get their act together soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Good

    The book was fast paced and exciting, I liked the book but didn't love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Hey cool girl

    Hey my name is Jake. I am 14 years old and i wanna know if you would be my gf. Reply if u want

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Loved the book

    I bought this book online and received it within four days. This book was so easy to get in to that I would recommend reading it when you have time to finish it. Only problem I had with this book is that when I received my copy of the book i purchased online I was shorted over 30 pages. I then took the book into the store and they let me exchange it for a different copy that contained ALL the pages. Barnes and Noble was wonderful with the exchange of the books and made me happier once I received all the pages to my book. All in all, the book was AMAZING and I would totally recommend it for anyone as long as they have read the prior books to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    Good read!

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Nice escape...

    This book like the first is able to transport the reader into a new world within our own. Good plot but it did run slow in some places and the end was rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    AWESOME

    Five stars totaly



    Hfd

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    I must admit I¿m somewhat disappointed. I loved the first book,

    I must admit I’m somewhat disappointed. I loved the first book, City of Bones, so much, hubby got me the entire series for Christmas last year. Unfortunately, the second book wasn’t nearly as exciting or captivating as the first. I struggled through most of it as it just didn’t hold my interest long enough and I constantly had to put it down and do/read something else. On the bright side, the writing is still the top quality I’m used to getting from Clare, and I was especially impressed with the different types of demons she created. I might still read the rest of the series, instead of letting it gather dust on my bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    CLICK ME

    I know everyone else rated this book five or four stars. I also am sure that somebody just clicked this to see why i rated it three. Well, here is why. The book itself is okay. The authir has good writing skills but doesnt explain things as well as they should have. Now if you dont agree please dont get mad and just click "close". I am not only gonna say bad things about this book. Recently i finished the third book in the series. I dont care for the books like i said but i just wanted to see if the books got any better. It did. It captured my attention completely, but still didnt have that good "hook" in the first book, ya know? I also would never recommend this to anyone younger than eleven. It is an okay read, but not for little ones none of the less immeture teens. This book really does deserve four stars i must say but for now three stars will have to do until the author writes a better series. Have they? Let me know please! Anyway, overall this isnt something i would recommend, but still an okay read. Thanks a blot to those who actually read to the end of this review!! Sorry its so long but thats alright. Next will be much shorter thats a promise! Thanks again for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Megan.....great book

    Sweet book pacted with action and awsome twist that will have you flipping pages for more......m

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    a great escape

    the entire series is an easy read and a great escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Okay.

    I read about 30 pages then stopped. I am an avid reader but did not enjoy those pages at all. They did not interest me. Left nothing to question worth questioning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    excellent.

    its definitely been awhile since i've read this book but i still remember enough to know you should read this book as soon as you finish the city of bones. you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8