Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5630 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4042)

4 Star

(940)

3 Star

(346)

2 Star

(129)

1 Star

(173)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

303 out of 325 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Advice for Twilight Lovers....Read It!!!!

if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got...
if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got my bearings and learned who the characters were and how they were related to the main character. WARNING!!!...after you understand whats going on, you wont be able to stop. all types of events start to happen in Clary's life which will hav no choice but to lure you in with her! its not crazy-busy but also leaves no room for you to get bored...the perfect mix. :) everytime there wasnt action or almost unbearable suspense, i was soaked up in the lust and romance of Jace and Clary. although it is written in 3rd person, it is so easy to become the characters and be overwhelmed with their intense emotion. its sad for me to admitt, and i probably would hav beat myself up for even thinking this before i read this series, but the Mortal Instruments Series goes hand in hand with the Twilight saga...or probably even better. this is definitely for people who fell in love with Twilight and just cant seem to find a good enough book to fill its spot. And although the end of this book can be heartbreaking...dont give up on it!! it gets better and better with each sequel!!!!

posted by love-2-dance on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

Hm......

So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was ac...
So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was actually something to this series. I picked up the first book and read through it and I have to say.......meh. I was really disappointed with how it ended and I really have no draw to pick up the next book, mostly because I'm too miffed about it. I won't say anything to ruin it for anyone else but, all I know is that I really didn't care for it, but that is just my personal opinion, don't etch it in gold or anything.

posted by SwitchKent on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!!

    I was super excited to read this because I have read other novels by this author,but I'll be honest it was pretty good through out the book,but once I got ot the end of the book it was just..eww!I wish I could take back reading that.Don't read,just don't.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Unbelievably Overrated

    I can't believe this book has gotten 4.5 stars. Maybe the series gets great later on and people rate it after they've read the whole thing? No idea, and I won't know because I don't intend on reading any further. Athough I am no longer considered a "young adult", I have enjoyed other books of this genre (Harry Potter, Hunger Games until the end of book 3, etc.). However, this is just awful. The overall plot could be interesting, but I simply can't get over the totally unrealistic and forced "teenisms" that are thrown in haphazardly throughout. An example: numerous times throughout the book, the main characters are either directly involved in a life-or-death battle, or they've just witnessed a murder or other horrifying event, and yet they take an inordinate amount of time to stop and flirt with each other. Sorry, there's a time and a place for relationship building, and it's not when a freaking demon has just ripped a gash in your chest and your fighting for your life. Way too unrealistic, which is too bad considering the storyline has potential.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    What! WASN'T THIS 99¿

    I was going to buy this, but it jumped from 99¿ to $10!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    On special?

    Why is this book listed as special at 0.99 when you click on it its 10.99? B&n needs to up their game. Starting to think i should have gotten kindle fire...

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Total let down.

    It took me 3 months to finish this book! The longest it has ever taken me to read a book. I couldnt wait to finish it. The first few chapters were decent and it seemed like a different read. I thought this book was going to be completely different...I thought it was gonna be "darker" considering it was about killing demons. I lost my interest after the first few chapters. I feel like the story was all over the place. Shes supposed to be searching for her mom but she hardly talks about her and they hardly mention her throughout the book. Seemed unrealistic. Thought they would mention more about her mother but they hardly did. I had to force myself to finish this book because I refuse to stop reading a book I have started. I thought this book was poorly written and I couldnt get into it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    it was stupid

    predictable with a lame ending

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Don't bother.

    Cassandra Clare/Claire is well-known online as a plagiarist who stole vast sections of other writers' work (much better writers, frankly) and presented them as her own. There's no way this person should've received a contract from a major publisher, and I'm only granting her a star because one apparently can't post a review with no stars.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Nook book costs more now?

    Can someone please explain to me how the Nook book version costs more than the paperback?? Nook book is almost as much as the hardcover version!

    Seriously, I was going to look into this series until I noticed the prices...

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    No words

    Nothing is showing up? Where are the words plus the book cover is just Red?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Rip off

    The book is blank. The words dont show up

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Where r the words

    There r no words

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Neat ideas here, but a really poor writer. I tried to read this

    Neat ideas here, but a really poor writer.

    I tried to read this thing twice. I like urban fantasy, chock full of cheap thrills a la Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Didn't get past the nightclub the first time, but a relative said it was good, just give it more time. I did. I gave it til the beast in the apartment. I couldn't go on.

    There are many pages of words here but very little content. The leading lady is vapid, the work interrupts itself with abuse of 'ly' words, and the dialogue is some of the worst I've ever been unfortunate enough to read. Don't be fooled by the movie deal, Hollywood greenlights a lot of garbage.

    Case in point for writing quality: "He shrugged perceptibly."

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    STUPID.

    This book in particular was, in fact, acceptable. However, throughout the rest of the series, I simply stopped caring. I couldn't care less if Clary got stuck in a sewer and got eaten by Simon. I didn't CARE if Jace suddenly stopped being good-looking, since that's what the WHOLE SERIES IS ABOUT. It's like, I GET IT! JACE IS HOT! NOW MOVE ALONG!
    This author has some serious work to do on her following books. I, however, will not read the rest, and pity anyone who is actually excited for the rest.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Whoever wrote 'parents and teachers beware'

    R u homaphobic, or just controlling? If a person chooses to readthese books, and continues reading it then they must know what homosexuality is and if they dont like- as u dont seem 2- then they can stop reading whenever they desire to do so.if u dont like the way this book is written, dont read it! Or if homosexuality is ur only problem, maybe u should write a similar book that suits ur homophobia.claire is a wonderfull amazing author and is incorperating many types of charictar traitsin her books, if ur conceded as to complain about something u brought upon yourself by reading this book, then u should write a book against gays and see how many people buy it.i guarentee it wont be many.btw, im bi, so say what u will but i deal with closed minded homophobes such as yourself every day.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    I found this book to not be all that great. The beginning was intresting but the plot grew to be very predictible most of the time. I also found the characters reactions to what they find out unrealistic.
    In all, I couldn't even bring my self to finish the book. I found that a lot of the girls that have been droling over this book is because of the character Jace was "dreamy".
    If you are looking for a captivating and well writen piece of literature that is worth you time and money, this book is not it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    WTF BARNES AND NOBLEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is only a buck now!!!!!!!!!! I bougth this from you guys for 6 bucks

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Not good

    To hard to get into

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Complete Let Down

    I can't understand what all the hype was about. I'm usually the type of person that has to finish what I've started. But with this one I just couldn't. The story has not depth, and if someone sneezed in my direction I was totally distracted. I'm upset that I wasted my money, and wish that I can get it back. This book is poorly written, and completely confusing. At certain points the main character is talking about herself, then in the same sentence the author is describing what's happening to the character. Did I lose you? Good, cause that's how this book is. Don't waste your money or your time.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I LIKE NOODLES

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    AWFUL book! If pathetic damsels in distress and typical bad boy

    AWFUL book! If pathetic damsels in distress and typical bad boy with a past but secretly he's a good guy then by all means waste your time reading this book. As I got to the end of the book I couldn't believe it was the end because of the lack of action, climax, interest, ANYTHING that would make me want to keep reading. Don't waste your time! 

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9