Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3999)

4 Star

(933)

3 Star

(339)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(170)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

300 out of 319 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Advice for Twilight Lovers....Read It!!!!

if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got...
if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got my bearings and learned who the characters were and how they were related to the main character. WARNING!!!...after you understand whats going on, you wont be able to stop. all types of events start to happen in Clary's life which will hav no choice but to lure you in with her! its not crazy-busy but also leaves no room for you to get bored...the perfect mix. :) everytime there wasnt action or almost unbearable suspense, i was soaked up in the lust and romance of Jace and Clary. although it is written in 3rd person, it is so easy to become the characters and be overwhelmed with their intense emotion. its sad for me to admitt, and i probably would hav beat myself up for even thinking this before i read this series, but the Mortal Instruments Series goes hand in hand with the Twilight saga...or probably even better. this is definitely for people who fell in love with Twilight and just cant seem to find a good enough book to fill its spot. And although the end of this book can be heartbreaking...dont give up on it!! it gets better and better with each sequel!!!!

posted by love-2-dance on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

Hm......

So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was ac...
So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was actually something to this series. I picked up the first book and read through it and I have to say.......meh. I was really disappointed with how it ended and I really have no draw to pick up the next book, mostly because I'm too miffed about it. I won't say anything to ruin it for anyone else but, all I know is that I really didn't care for it, but that is just my personal opinion, don't etch it in gold or anything.

posted by SwitchKent on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hm......

    So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was actually something to this series. I picked up the first book and read through it and I have to say.......meh. I was really disappointed with how it ended and I really have no draw to pick up the next book, mostly because I'm too miffed about it. I won't say anything to ruin it for anyone else but, all I know is that I really didn't care for it, but that is just my personal opinion, don't etch it in gold or anything.

    50 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    City of Bones Leaves You High and Dry

    Having picked up, read completely more than a dozen times over the popular novel by Cassandra Clare called Clockwork Angel, I decided it was time to read where The Mortal Instruments Series began. My envision was that City of Bones would give me a reason to fall in love with the current series, and want to complete all the books. However, CoB left me completely short-handed in so many ways, I can't begin to describe them all.

    From an outside glance, the book looks like it holds weight; young Clary is thrown into a world of the supernatural, where she encounters and falls into a pack of renegade children who are Nephilim. Discovering herself, Clary bonds and bands with them, not only to understand who she is, but to understand where her mother is and save her. I had read the preview of this from B&N and decided to try it, but I put this book down so many times it put me to shame. Clary is this whiny, 2D character who doesn't really shine through until the very end of the novel when her friend's life is on the line. Jace is a literal mirror of Clare's previous characters from Clockwork Angel, namely William. Then there's Alec, who is so underdeveloped it's a crime, and Isabelle, who is mainly used to make Clary feel jealous or sound like a Valley Girl when she speaks. Really now?

    Jace didn't bother me so much (mainly due to the fact that I Wiki'd the rest of the series that's currently out and discovered he is in fact related to William Herondale- good recovery, Clare!) but Clary completely and utterly left me disgusted. There was nothing, absolutely nothing, memorable or important about this girl. Sure, she's been mind blocked, sure, she's a hidden child of the Nephilim, but other than that she's merely wasted space. Reading segments from Clary's point of view was like taking a knife to my brain, and I haven't felt this terrible about a MC since Twilight came out with whiny, inconsolable Bella Swan. But it's not just Clary- it's the writing entirely. So many short sentences that could have been woven and cropped together would have made the reading experience much more enjoyable.

    Even though I've been told that the series, does, in fact, get better as her books go on, I'm afraid this is one series I won't revisit for a while, if at all.

    26 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Ehh...

    What do you get when you take Harry Potter, Twilight, and Star Wars and throw in a really attractive, sarcastic male lead? Answer: City of Bones. Jace was the only thing about this book that made it any different from the hundreds of other vampire-esque books out there now. No matter how hysterical he was, he couldn't carry this book. Nice imagination, Clare, but you get zero points on originality.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dissapointing

    Cover Art: 10<BR/>Title: 10<BR/>Concept: 10<BR/>Writing: 1<BR/><BR/>I picked this up at my local library, excited to be the first to crack the binding. I read half of it, struggling through with deep dissapointment. I story is an excellent one - the poor writing is something that I couldn't get past.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    UGH . . .

    Throw in some or Harry Potter magic, Twilight's vampires and werewolves, situations that didn't really need the 'witty humor' and you've got The City of Bones. The book seemed to hold promise in the beginning, but that's were it ending. As soon as i broke through chapter 2/3 it seem like the same old used story line, with some really forgettable characters that sound all too much the same character and the main character that only irritated me with her 'selfishness'. I admit that there were SOME moments that grabbed me, the vocabulary was excellent and the detail was vivid it still didn't make up for the rest of the disappointments.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Join the Quest - You Won't Regret It.

    I got introduced to Cassandra Clare's world of The Shadowhunter's through Clockwork Angel. I usually don't read a lot of YA fiction. Something about the cover of Clockwork Prince grabbed my attention. I had glimpsed at City of Bones before but it never grabbed me. I read Clockwork Angel and was hooked.So I got City of Bones, and loved it. The story and characters grab you and pull them into their world. Clare weaves a wonderful story, filled with realistic enough characters that you can understand and relate to. A wonderful world filled with interesting creatures, a place any reader would want to visit again.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slow...

    I went into the book thinking it was going to be great. It was just mediocre. It needed more exciting points to it. I was just bored with it. I bought the next two books...but I won't be reading them.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I was so sure I was going to love it....but I was really disappointed!

    I'm giving this two stars instead of one because I was able to finish it. I struggled reading it because I didn't like the story at all. I was bored the entire time. I didn't like any of the characters. I didn't like the writing. I know this book is highly recommended by many people (and I seriously wanted to enjoy it)...but I didn't like the book at all. I didn't like the beginning, the middle, and the end. I will not read the rest of the series. I can't torture myself like that again!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Well...

    Okay so basically, i love to read and im usually a fast reader but... i really did have to drag myself through this book. I was disappointed with the writing and since i usually agree with most of reviews i cant help thinking that something is wrong with me.. listen. I liked twilight. It was actually the book that made me realize that books can be interesting. I could picture everything in my head like a movie.. but this book... well i couldnt picture anything.. it was a struggle really. Im starting to wonder if im just waiting for authors to up their game after reading so many books with the same writing skills and stories.. maybe im getting picky.. i dont know. Anyways nothing really interested me until the last hundred pages, so i dont know if im going to read the sequel.. ill probably read the sample just for fun. Im really searching for a good book out here. HELPP! Sorry for the bad writing.. im on my nook and its 3am lol.

    I would say get it from a library
    .. you might love it, you might hate it... but youll never say you wasted your money! :)

    Hope i could help.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

     This book is 'brain candy' literature - not exactly nourishing

     This book is 'brain candy' literature - not exactly nourishing or stimulating intellectually, but yummy every once in awhile. I thought it was better than Twilight (Clary wins in a personality contest over Bella hands down), but not as good as hunger games. That being said, once I finished this book I immediately read books 2 &amp; 3 in the series. If you're a fan of YA paranormal books with characters that kick butt, you'll like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    Worst Ending Ever!

    Sooo i pretty much was sucked into this book. Like seriously sucked. Its a really good book but it seriously has the worst ending... like its sick and twist!! and i was really looking forward to reading the series once i got so sucked into it but just cuz of the ending, i cant see myself ever buying the others books.... But besides the ending, its a really good book and you get sucked into it really quickly. :]

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ok series

    this was a confussing, but okay book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hesitant to continue the Series

    I am a huge fantasy fiction fan, so even though I have a reading list I skipped down to this book because all my favorite authors seem to love it. And even though there is a great reference to characters from a Holly Black book, I have to say that I was disappointed. Writing was not very smooth, maybe that's just becuase it's her first book. I found myself re-reading a lot of her descriptive scenes to make sure I was getting it right and that was annoying. The end creeped me out a little. But on the plus side all of the characters are very intriguing, and with the end being what it was I think I'm going to continue the series just to see where the characters go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Juvenile

    This was really a juvenile book with juvenile characters doing crazy stuff. I did like the demon powered motorcycles though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Hmmmm....

    I got the book from the library at school and its boring right now hoping it gets better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Shelby

    Omg I MISS MY BLAKIE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Am I missing something?

    I don't understand all the hype surrounding these books. The characters are soooo boring and underdeveloped. Even the romantic tension is boring. The author uses the same descriptions of the characters over and over, puts commas in weird spaces, italicizes every other word, and then throws in one "big" word to make it look like she has a huge vocabulary. Oh, and it's all just a Harry Potter rip off. Seriously, the whole time I was reading those book I wanted to stop and go read Harry Potter where the wizarding world is described in amazing detail and you really connect with all the characters and know all their backstories ...something this author decided not to rip off from JK Rowling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Two slow

    City of Bones #1 plot is too slow. It must have been written for 12 year olds and not for anyone over that age. Not sure who the audience was for this book, but it certainly wasn't for anyone over 18.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    She should have stopped

    I kinda sorta liked the book, there was a time when I refused to go on because of something but a friend told me what was really going on so I continued to read. I was really starting to like the book, and it would have went down as one of my favorites but she kept writing. I think around the third book is where she should have ended the series, because it was perfect then but she had to keep writing. Now I'm angry, and I'm not even going to watch the movie because it's just going to anger me more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Mo

    Mm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7