Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5633 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4044)

4 Star

(940)

3 Star

(346)

2 Star

(129)

1 Star

(174)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

303 out of 325 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Advice for Twilight Lovers....Read It!!!!

if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got...
if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got my bearings and learned who the characters were and how they were related to the main character. WARNING!!!...after you understand whats going on, you wont be able to stop. all types of events start to happen in Clary's life which will hav no choice but to lure you in with her! its not crazy-busy but also leaves no room for you to get bored...the perfect mix. :) everytime there wasnt action or almost unbearable suspense, i was soaked up in the lust and romance of Jace and Clary. although it is written in 3rd person, it is so easy to become the characters and be overwhelmed with their intense emotion. its sad for me to admitt, and i probably would hav beat myself up for even thinking this before i read this series, but the Mortal Instruments Series goes hand in hand with the Twilight saga...or probably even better. this is definitely for people who fell in love with Twilight and just cant seem to find a good enough book to fill its spot. And although the end of this book can be heartbreaking...dont give up on it!! it gets better and better with each sequel!!!!

posted by love-2-dance on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

Hm......

So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was ac...
So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was actually something to this series. I picked up the first book and read through it and I have to say.......meh. I was really disappointed with how it ended and I really have no draw to pick up the next book, mostly because I'm too miffed about it. I won't say anything to ruin it for anyone else but, all I know is that I really didn't care for it, but that is just my personal opinion, don't etch it in gold or anything.

posted by SwitchKent on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Mo

    Mm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    This was a really disappointing read for me. the story seemed to

    This was a really disappointing read for me. the story seemed to be taken from other sources and not very well at that. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Wow this book was uninspiring.  Clary is such a weak character,

    Wow this book was uninspiring.  Clary is such a weak character, there's too many plots going in many different directions  and  I feel like many of the the things they experience were not original.  This is nothing like twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Mundie anyone?

    Its a good start and so far it has been fast paced. If you dont mind some brief language its great!! Anyway its as good as Veronica Roth's stories... which is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Not worth the hype

    I heard great things about thisbook so I decided to gove it a try. It really was a waste of time. The author didn't develope the characters well, and I had to force my way through some chapters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    I am listening to this on tape which only emphasizes the more an

    I am listening to this on tape which only emphasizes the more annoying aspects of the book. The narrator speaks like an irritating teenager which makes the writing sound even worse than it is. The lead character is obnoxious and stupid. She just doesn't get it. There were a number of times in the book where other characters had to practically spell things out for her. A little example is the lead male character tells her a story about a falcon and it takes her forever to figure out the story is about him. I have decided the author feels her readers are to dumb to get it so she makes the lead Clary to dumb to get it too. Also there every sentence does not require a thesaurus and an adjective. Clary sighs dramatically, she moves desperately, she talks profoundly. It drove me nuts after awhile. Then the characters repeatedly do ridiculous things that I cannot say without spoiling the plot but seriously this is why silly children shouldn't be saving the world. You can't just trust everyone folks. Don't waste your time on this one if you are an adult that likes YA. Far to juvenile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Ok read.

    I usually enjoy young adult novels...not so much this one. I felt like i was reading a Halloween special of sabrina the teenage witch. The authors writing felt like she had a thesaurus just a bit too handy. Random words were inserted everywhere in the writing that was also overly descriptive to the point of boring me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Well, this series is certainly something to read, if you need to

    Well, this series is certainly something to read, if you need to kill
    some unwanted time. I am someone who has read many books, mostly teen,
    so I will give my honest opinion here: I truly believe this series is
    bestseller because of the either sexy or funny nerdy characters and the
    suspense. That's it. Yes, people love to read suspense and dream of a
    crush from a book, but there has to be more (for me anyway). The
    Characters: I found the characters in this book unrealistic, saying or
    doing things that you won't really see or feel in really life. The
    characters are also very and don't get very far as the series
    progresses. Jace is sexy and arrogant and puts up a wall around him, but
    although we find out more about the why later on, he still is like no
    one you see in high school or around town. And in this case, that's a
    bad thing. Too unrealistic and...shallow really. Clary is whiny and the
    biggest thing about her is her short height- nothing to do about er
    personality. Her reactions to events are so...well, for lack of better
    term again, unrealistic! Simon is even worse, and didn't even get me
    started on Isabelle or Alec. Plot: I found the plot swerving around all
    the time, making it hard to understand certain things, but yet also
    pretty shallow and dry at the same time. I like the vampires,
    werewolves, and fairys, but all the things to happen seem just randomly
    thrown in and totally irrelevant or odd/boring. Not much more to say
    on the book...if you like sexy shallow characters and action, but don't
    need a real full plot or deep character, than buy it. If you want
    something more, than find something better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Great!

    An excellent book full of the supernatural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Maybe i should just stick to grown up books

    By the time I read this book it had over 4000 reviews, I was impressed! Wow! something good to read, almost five stars! The book was mediocre at best....i kept wondering why I was still reading it during the time I read it and I realized it is because I will give a book the benefit of the doubt. I will not read the other books in the series because i am just NOT interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Juvenile fiction

    Good story tho for a young audience

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Lies

    When i started this is was great i loved it then she found out he was her brother and it ruined everything i had a hard time finishing the book knowing that it was just wrong and needs to be corrected immediatly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Not as great as i expected

    I usually trust the other reviewers and their ratings, but after i finished this book, i was really disappointed. First off it was very hard to follow seeing that so much information was thrown at the reader. Secondy i found the story line unoriginal, the mother being taken was like percy jackson, jace and clary turning out to be brother and sister was like star wars and the whole rest of it had traces of harry potter. Everyoe turned out to be evil and the dialogue was way to long for a teen fiction. All the twists ad turns were cliche and finding out alec is gay added nothing to the plot. I felt like the author was cramming alot of information and action into one book and it did not work. Also after i read the summery for the third book i saw that clary's mother is still in her coma! It seems as though the author tried to pack in all this drama and action in one book, but when she went to go write the others, she was left with nothing more to do. In my opinon, this book is just one giant bad soap opera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    This book was okay BUT..... **SPOILERS** when we find out that

    This book was okay BUT.....

    **SPOILERS** when we find out that Clary and and Jace are SIBLINGS!! This was NOT necessary to do!! I mean make Jace adopted by Valentine, not a legit child!! This ruined it for me and I will NOT be reading the others.. HOWEVER the Clockwork Angel series is WAY better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Weird

    I thought the book was okay if not worse. The fact that Clary and Jace kissed and then you find out that they are brother and sister is slightly disturbing. I liked the cover of the book better than the book itself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Nice

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Pretty bad.

    This book was bad.
    Not the worst book ever written.
    But I would never suggest it for anyone to read.
    The book is far too all over the place, and wont really stick with the plot.
    Every "twist" was predictable, and every romance, tacked on.
    I feel it would have been better if the author Had took each part and thought "is this good enough" honestly, to herself before sending it off to print.
    She gets no excuses, she is a grown woman and if this is the way she is going to make her money she better at least do it well.
    If you must read this book, do it at small amounts at a time. Such as a chapter a day or week.
    I think instead you should take time to find a better book before wasting your money on this one.

    -Have a fun day then :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    just ok

    i've read complete set of percy jackson, hunger games trilogy, maze runner trilogy and love tham all.... unlike for this trilogy.. the story is great but the narration .. i hardly find it interesting.
    Decided to stop reading at half way book. Maybe this book suits my teenage son.. but definately not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Ehhhh...

    I saw a kid in school reading it and decided to give it a shot. I quickly went through the first one, but the second one took a little longer because it wasn't as good. I I did like how suspenseful it was and how surprising it got. When I got to the third one I could barely make it threw the whole thing. I kept wanting to give it up. I FiNALLY finished it and decided to not go onto the next one. I might give Cassandra another shot but its not very likely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fayth @ Starcrossed

    This book was super, super hyped up. Like, totally. So of course, like all major hyped up books, I had to see what all the fuss was about. And I have to ask... What IS the fuss all about?

    The warning signs came early within the book, when the classic cliche of unrequited love between a guy and girl was introduced between protagonist Clary Fray and her best friend Simon. Then, of course, mega hottie Jace Wayland- Shadowhunter extraordinaire- comes into the picture when Clary stumbles upon a demon slaying at a nightclub. Jace is arrogant, charming, hot, you name it. He doesn't take crud from anybody. Clary finds out she's a part of Jace's world after her mother is kidnapped. Kidnapped after her and Clary got into an argument. Angst. It is also discovered that there is a block in Clary's mind, which adds suspense to the otherwise boring story. After this, the book is, admittedly, a page turner to find out what happens next. Will Clary get her memory back? Will she ever find her mother, who seems to be in the hands of the super evil Shadowhunter gone bad, Valentine?

    The book had a great story. I'm a sucker for anything fantasy, after all, and I am a closet appreciator of romances. However, the author seemed to be targeting a younger audience, and made the characters just passive aggressive enough for anyone going through puberty to enjoy. And the ending, well, we'll just leave it at those two words: the ending. Because I can't find words suitable enough to express my disappointment.

    Needless to say, I probably won't be finishing the series. But who knows, maybe I will, just for the sake of curiosity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7