Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5639 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4050)

4 Star

(940)

3 Star

(347)

2 Star

(129)

1 Star

(173)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

303 out of 325 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Advice for Twilight Lovers....Read It!!!!

if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got...
if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got my bearings and learned who the characters were and how they were related to the main character. WARNING!!!...after you understand whats going on, you wont be able to stop. all types of events start to happen in Clary's life which will hav no choice but to lure you in with her! its not crazy-busy but also leaves no room for you to get bored...the perfect mix. :) everytime there wasnt action or almost unbearable suspense, i was soaked up in the lust and romance of Jace and Clary. although it is written in 3rd person, it is so easy to become the characters and be overwhelmed with their intense emotion. its sad for me to admitt, and i probably would hav beat myself up for even thinking this before i read this series, but the Mortal Instruments Series goes hand in hand with the Twilight saga...or probably even better. this is definitely for people who fell in love with Twilight and just cant seem to find a good enough book to fill its spot. And although the end of this book can be heartbreaking...dont give up on it!! it gets better and better with each sequel!!!!

posted by love-2-dance on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

Hm......

So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was ac...
So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was actually something to this series. I picked up the first book and read through it and I have to say.......meh. I was really disappointed with how it ended and I really have no draw to pick up the next book, mostly because I'm too miffed about it. I won't say anything to ruin it for anyone else but, all I know is that I really didn't care for it, but that is just my personal opinion, don't etch it in gold or anything.

posted by SwitchKent on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good YA book

    This was a good YA story, i do not usually read YA but the storyline was good, and i got caught up in what was happening.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    City Of Bones ended up being a better read than I had anticipate

    City Of Bones ended up being a better read than I had anticipated. During the course of reading it, I couldn't help but draw comparisons and notice certain similarities between City Of Bones and Harry Potter. Nevertheless, it made me want to continue reading the rest of the series to see how things will play out. For a young-adult series, it's not too bad, but compared to something like George R.R. Martin's "A Song Of Ice and Fire" series, this will seems incredibly dull.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    LISTEN UP!

    For those of you who read the first book and stoped, i see that some of you are upset about the ending.... *spoiler alert* if you keep reading the books you find that Jace and Clary are not bother and sister at all..... And the romance beetwen them is strong and gets to the point of a lot of sexual contect most of the time. Then the story starts to take a turn for the best. I would think this book is for fourteen or older becuase of some of the sexual intercorse..... Over all this book is ok to some standerds and if you keep reading it gets better..... Though i'd take the great Tigers Curse books over this series any day....

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    Mixed feelings.

    I was hooked. I loved the sarcastic humor and fell in love with Jace. He is awesome, but then I noticed some similarities to other stories. Without giving away the story I think things were "inspired" by Harry Potter, Underworld and Pet Cemetary. I know alot of stories have the same elements but there are some things that are direct copies. It did also have some original ideas of its own. I would have given this book 5 stars but the twist at the end was horrible to me, so I would say it is a good read but be prepared!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I like the idea of the story, but the characters are contradicto

    I like the idea of the story, but the characters are contradictory and forced. There was enough action going on and story line, but the character development is lacking. I will give the second book a try to see if it improves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm having a hard time thinking of what to say about this book.

    I'm having a hard time thinking of what to say about this book. I finished it last night, and I'm just not quite sure what I want to talk about. It was... good. Just good. I'd heard a lot of good things about it, and a part of me was hoping to like it more, but it didn't let me as far down as some books that I've read. Maybe if I could give it a 3.5 I would, but since I can't it'll stay at a 3.

    Pros:
    - Depth of plot. I really like it when the plot involves adults. Even in YA books there need to be some adult characters. The story is deeper (and usually makes more sense. I mean, really, some of the things teen characters do on their own in some books are ridiculous) and the plot twists can make more sense when the past generation is involved. This story involves Clary's parents, and Luke. (he's kind of a mixture between her fake-uncle and her not-quite-step-dad. Kind of hard to describe) and also Hodge. There's a few adults in the story that help sew the plot together.

    - This is a little arbitrary, but it made pulled me through the story. I like it when the words on the page take a hold of my eyes and pull them along, letting me soak up the words as I go. Sometimes I really have to shove my way through the text, but not with this book. I know this is just kind of an opinion thing but the writing made it hard to put down.

    Cons:
    - Switching POV. Its written in 3rd person, but it seems to switch between a narrator watching Clary and a narrator watching a few other characters. This wasn't a completely horrible thing, though, just a small thing that bothered me a little.

    - Clary. Let me start off by saying that a Mary-Sue is going to be guilty until proven innocent. I started off the book thinking that I wasn't going to like her, because she has the same name as the author! (Well, close enough. Clare --> Clary.) After I finished I realized that I didn't dislike Clary as much as I thought I would, but I didn't really like her either. She wasn't as bad as some female protagonists (*cough*Luce*cough*) but she wasn't all that good either. She didn't really accomplish much. Am I supposed to think she's brave because she doesn't stay put? (because she doesn't really help either) Was I supposed to be impressed that she once helped out by throwing a dagger? (at somebody who turned out to be good) Because I wasn't.

    - Jace. I think he needs to pick a personality and stick to it. The attempts at making him a deeper character just made him seem a little moody. One minute he was egotistical, cold, and an ass (oh, and did I mention egotistical) and the next he was telling a sob story about his childhood. I think I got whiplash.

    - Messed up Star Wars reference! When Simon tells Clary about how he imagined it going when he first told a girl that he loved her he said that "She's said "I know" back, like Leia did to Han." WRONG! It was Han Solo who said "I know" back to Leia when she told him "I love you". I have no idea how that made it past editing without somebody saying "Um... yeah, that's not how it happen in Star Wars."

    So, in conclusion, this book didn't completely live up to all the hype, but it wasn't a disappointment either. It had made its way down to the bottom of my to-read list, but I decided I should read it before the movie came out, and I'm glad that I did. I'll be reading the next 5 (but I'm not sure about the spin-offs. I haven't decided on those yet) Also, i predicted the Valentine thing as soon as they said he'd died 16 years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Didn't love it.... didn't hate it

    The ending to this book was beyond twisted. I know there are 5 more books so i am going to give the second one a shot... but i hope it gets better. The idea of these characters is a good one, but the book was hard to read at times, seemed like when it was getting exciting she found a way to drag it out. Oh well... on to the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Good, but got weird

    Was a pretty good book, up until the end. The twist was just flat out weird. Dont think i'll be buying book #2

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    On the fence

    I picked up this book after reading a lot of reviews and I was pretty desperate to find something to read. I enjoyed the book a good amount. I was able to put it down though unlike a lot of books I've read in the past, but I enjoyed the world it put me in.

    However, the end just completely kills it for me. Plot wise, it's a great twist but I absolutely hated the way it not only emotionally confused the character, but emotionally confused me. For obvious spoiler reasons I won't say what the twist is, but it was the reason for me marking this down from 4 stars to 3 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Another Teen Series

    I've heard rave reviews about this series, and most everyone seems to think it's just simply amazing. Unfortunately, while I still enjoyed reading City of Bones, it definitely didn't hit the "amazing" mark. The fist chapter sucked me into the story immediately, however it was almost as if the next 22 chapters were just attempting to pull me back out of it. An intriguing and unique plot proved to be backed up by unoriginal plotlines. Characters who were given distinct personalities that were so easy to love proved to lack actual human-emotion connections with the reader. It also seemed to be written for, well, a rather slow-thinking crowd. It was as if the author didn't believe her readers would still remember what happened 30 pages before, and with each new event or explanation there would either be a "state the obvious" moment or a "this is perfectly obvious but the characters just can't put it together" moment. Overall, it was my curiosity of the world it opened that kept me going through this book rather than actually caring about what happened in the plot or to the characters. So yes, redeming quality: this book is a fun, new fantasy world. Unfortunately, there just isn't much else to it; it's just another teen series.

    P.S. To the side are three other teen fantasy series I highly recommend. They all have a little something extra that makes me love them. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Meh.

    Okay. I bought this book on the premise that if i liked Twilight, i should get this book just like you prolly are doing right now. Well I'm reading this book and to tell you the truth, its not great. Not bad but not that great. It's kind of obvious the way she writes how she gives info out just to give it out. Like in the beginning of the book the guy is explaining to a demon what demons are when they are supposedly the only ones in the room but clary is eaves dropping w/o them knowing. Its just too obvious. The writing is simple. Nothing really spectacular although it seems like its trying to be. If you're like me and you read the Twilight Series this book is going to seem a little fake (not that demons and vampires arent fake). Its about a 15 year old girl and a 16 year old guy. I think there's supposed to be some chemistry between them but its hard to take 15 year old love seriously after reading twilight. Its just really cheesy and just boring to read. Granted I'm still gonna read the rest of the series cus, hey, i have this book and i have just about enough OCD to make me finish. In closing, if you have nothing to read currently this is not horrible but if you're looking for other serieses to start there are definately better ones out there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    WHY

    Okay i must admit that i was shocked by how great the book was, at least until the twist. I mean, come on, what is up with that? I am just hoping that author is going to find a way out of that corner in the next book. Please?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2015

    To c

    Hey i am gabby kaitlins friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    I read the sample

    I first read the sample because i just resently used all my money to buy other books. As soon as i started reading this mysterious book, i was hooked! If you don't have any money to buy this book, go to a library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2015

    Before I start my thoughts on this book, I do have to mention a

    Before I start my thoughts on this book, I do have to mention a few large flaws I spotted. When they go to Luke's house, the question of whether or not there's a back door comes up to which the answer given is no... however, Jace, Simon, and Clary came in through the back door... I have no idea how Ms. Clare's editor didn't catch this error. The second large error I spotted was the first time Valentine's death is told, it was stated that he burned alive with his wife and child... however, in the second time the story of his death is told, the child is ommited from the telling and it's stated that he and his wife were found, and then in the third retelling, the child is back again.




    Aside from the errors mentioned above, the story is an interesting on. It definitely demands to be paid attention to. The characters are well thought out and well developed. I'd heard of the controversy surrounding Ms. Clare and her series, but I didn't see any of the things she'd been accused of, except in one character... The cat in the institute not only shares the same name, but bares a striking resemblance to the cat Church from Pet Sematary by Stephen King. Which I feel was more than likely done deliberately since I've named pets after ones from movies and books too >~.^<




    I spotted the odd grammatical error here and there, nothing too obvious, and nothing that will stop the reader from being engrossed in the story.




    The sory itself is unique in many ways, and yet still holds the lore of Niphilim every Urban Fantasy about them holds.




    There are a few questions that remain unanswered, but with seven books in the series, I don't foresee them going on unanswered forever.




    All in all this was a great story and I look forward to reading City of Ashes, the second book in this series.




    I give this book 3 of 5 paws. (I would give it 5, but the two errors are entirely too big and need to be fixed)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Slow building, but an ok book

    Slow building, but an ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Floorboard Below Part One: by Bliss Robinson

    Whisper lifted the basement trapdoor slowly, shining her flashlight into the dark hole. Whisper had been planning her escape for a month now, ever since she first found the trapdoor, and she was finally ready. It wouldn't be one of those usual eight year old schemes where you run away and return home crying and hungry. "This", Whisper reminded herself softly, "this is for real." Slowly she dropped her bacpack into the hole, seconds later she heard a satisfying CLUNK! Then she positioned herself at the edge, legs dangling in the air. Eyes clenched shut, Whisper jumped. To her embarassment she landed smack on her bottom. She stood up quickly, smiling, " I'm free." Gathering her backpack she switched on her flashlight and journeyed into the darkness.

    Whisper had been walking for about half an hour when she reached the door. It was green with mold and had a rusted doorknob placed in the exact center. "Like hobbit hole", she giggled. She turned the knob, and found someone standing on the other side; as if waiting for her.

    The person was a boy he seemed about fourteen, the age of Whisper's older sister, Jade. He was the palest person she had ever seen, his skin was white and smooth and gave off a sort of polished look. His eyes a deep purple, were fringed by dark long long lashes. Dark hair framed his face and he was dressed in a black soldiers uniform. Looking down at Whisper, he smiled; showing perfect white teeth. "Welcome to the Kingdom of FloorBoard Below."




    Ok if you want part two please reply and tell what you thought. No bad language please. If you like it ill post part two at mortal instruments book two. Thanks for reading
    -bliss robinson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Peregrins@cox.net

    Add me my name is Desi or Des. Idc what u call me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Pretty good, but predictable

    I read this at the recommendation of some of my friends. It had a very "teen fiction"y vibe. Which isn't bad, just depends on taste. It took my a while to get into it, and I did mostly, but it wasn't ever a page turner for me. There weren't many, if any plot twists I didn't see coming. I figured out one of the major "twists" after the first two or three chapters. It was super predictable. But not awful. I don't think I'll spend money to read the rest of the series, if I read it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    To: May 4th person

    This book came out in 2009 it is impossible that you could've read it in 2008

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18