Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5597 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4021)

4 Star

(937)

3 Star

(342)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(171)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

300 out of 320 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Advice for Twilight Lovers....Read It!!!!

if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got...
if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got my bearings and learned who the characters were and how they were related to the main character. WARNING!!!...after you understand whats going on, you wont be able to stop. all types of events start to happen in Clary's life which will hav no choice but to lure you in with her! its not crazy-busy but also leaves no room for you to get bored...the perfect mix. :) everytime there wasnt action or almost unbearable suspense, i was soaked up in the lust and romance of Jace and Clary. although it is written in 3rd person, it is so easy to become the characters and be overwhelmed with their intense emotion. its sad for me to admitt, and i probably would hav beat myself up for even thinking this before i read this series, but the Mortal Instruments Series goes hand in hand with the Twilight saga...or probably even better. this is definitely for people who fell in love with Twilight and just cant seem to find a good enough book to fill its spot. And although the end of this book can be heartbreaking...dont give up on it!! it gets better and better with each sequel!!!!

posted by love-2-dance on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

51 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

Hm......

So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was ac...
So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was actually something to this series. I picked up the first book and read through it and I have to say.......meh. I was really disappointed with how it ended and I really have no draw to pick up the next book, mostly because I'm too miffed about it. I won't say anything to ruin it for anyone else but, all I know is that I really didn't care for it, but that is just my personal opinion, don't etch it in gold or anything.

posted by SwitchKent on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 937 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 47
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Great Story, BUT.....I am an avid reader and am truly thrilled t

    Great Story, BUT.....I am an avid reader and am truly thrilled to come across a well written, unique, creative story. This series is definately all these things and more. Two things really start to bother me in book 2 and the concerns just increase thru the end of the series.

    1. The author claims to incorporate research from many religions and yet the Christian understanding of God, angels, heaven, hell, etc. seems to glaringly be missing. As this is the perspective most of us have on these things it would have been good to see our own religious culture reflected more in the "theology" of these spiritual beings. It is very difficult as well to accept that a being who is part angel does not a. believe in God and b. would use Gods name in vain as it is one of the Old Testamant commandments that we are not to do so. It's very confusing to have even part angelic beings who blaspheme and deny the existence of God.

    2. (SPOILER) As this book is deliberately targeted toward mid-teens and up that means that children with advanced reading abilities who are younger will probably also be reading these books . With that in mind the relationship of the two main characters and the confusion over whether they are brother and sister and the resulting conflict becomes more and more disturbing to me as the series progresses. The detail the author goes into describing the physical, sexual longing they have for each other is way beyond developmental appropriateness for the young end of the target audience. Especially in this day and age of blended families, half-siblings, etc. As an adult who has worked with children and families for over 20yrs I find this part of the storyline quite concerning. Perhaps if the author had resolved it within the same book it was introduced so children don't have it in their minds to fret over, but definately if she had not been quite so descriptive of the physical nature and struggles the characters feel and go thru as a result of the confusion it would not be so bad. Unfortunately, the length of time it takes for the confusion to resolve itself takes several books and the detail she goes into regarding the intimate thoughts and actions of the characters pushes this story, in my opinion, to a much more adult audience. One that can foresee that the characters aren't brother and sister and who can deal with the unsettling sexual imagery in the meantime.

    I do think this is one of the more well written, unique, and interesting stories I have read in some time. I also read the Insurgent series, and while also well written it just isn't the same caliber of writing and story/character development as this story. I just would caution all parents that choose to allow their children under 16/17yrs to read these books to also read along with or in advance of your children. That way you can deal with the very adult subject matter of sexual desire, homosexuality, incestual attraction and the inevitable religious questions as well from a place of knowledge as to how these issues are discussed/addresed in this story.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Beginning of Greatness

    I had heard rave reviews about this series for ages, so when the first book, City of Bones, came up as a $.99 e-book special I picked it up with little thought as to when or if I would actually read it. As is the case with many such additions to my library when I did finally find myself in the mood and position to read this story I was surprised, and luckily for me it was a pleasant surprise. It turned out to be a very well written book that cycled through so many different archetypes that I lost track of just which books and movies ran through my head that it “felt like” and accepted the fact that Ms. Clare had managed to weave them together to create something both new and unexpected. I truly enjoyed reading this book, and while at times it did give the larger-than-life vibe that almost reached epic fantasy level, it managed to stay just grounded enough in the urban part of urban fantasy to tell a single story. That story took many twists and turns (including a loo-loo of a twist in the last quarter than I certainly did not see coming) and certainly did not reach its completion by the end of this first volume in the Mortal Instruments series but somehow remained both fresh and intriguing throughout. If you had asked me at the two-thirds mark or even the three-fourths if I intended to pick up the next book in this series I would have answered with an unequivocal “yes.” The story was fascinating, the characters relatable and the writing just shy of the overblown mark but well into the florid that those of us enraptured with words love so dearly—and then the ending to this story took place and I find myself unsure. Not of the writing or the story or even of the choices the author made with her characters or plot—which while they surprised me I cannot honestly say I disagree with—but more because I know that if I continue with reading this series I will be opening myself up to more surprises. Surprises which, in the middle of a so manifestly over-arching series story-line are rarely good and with a year to wait for a conclusion of this series to be published…well I’m not sure I want to subject myself to the immersive tension only to have to wait so long for its release. I find myself unsure whether, without the assurance of an attainable wrap-up, this is a roller-coaster I want to strap myself into right now. And so as a review I can only give this…this story sucked me in so deeply that I half fear another trip down the rabbit hole, knowing I will not come out the other end quite the same was as I went in. Make of that what you will. In an attempt to quantify my own uncertainty I give this book four stars for both the journey I loved and the destination I am unsure of.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Many people are trying to compare this series to the Twilight series, and I have to disagree. Whereas those books are mostly just dramatic and romantic, this series has those characteristics along with being funny and much more action-oriented (much of the main plot line involves fighting and battles). Personally I enjoyed this series much more because it was deeper than Twilight. Not Hunger Games deep, just middle-of-the-road deep, with some reflections and insights into human nature sprinkled throughout.
    Another issue I have seen is that a lot of people stop reading this series because of the way the first book ends. (Minor spoiler) In the last book, it turns out alright, and most likely your issues with the conclusion of the first book will no longer be relevant.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What do you say about a book that made you feel what the charact

    What do you say about a book that made you feel what the characters were going through? And that the characters had personalities, unlike many other books? How do you explain the beautifully ugly world of Shadowhunters? Or how sarcastically sexy Jace was? And when someone asks you if you like this book, and you say "good, great", how do you make that person understand how many nights you spent reading in an unhealthy obsession, just to finish it, to read another adventure, to find out if Jace and Clary kiss again, so sweetly?
    Well, it's good, great. Jace is sarcastically sexy. Clary has a brain and a personality. Simon, Isabelle, and Alec are wonderful in their own beautiful way. The plot is interesting, and Clare has made a wonderful world, filled with things that seem to be happening right now.
    This is the second time I've read it, and I didn't get bored. In fact, it took me only a day, because I read obsessively, even though I'd already read it. Yeah, it's that good. And if you somehow haven't read it yet, well, you should, because you don't know what you're missing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    City of Bones was a really good read. I’d highly recommend

    City of Bones was a really good read. I’d highly recommend it to anyone that is a fan (avid or casual) of urban fantasy. All of your favorite creatures–demons, vampires, werewolves, angels, warlocks, fairies, demon hunters and more–can be found in this novel. Clare has set up an interesting world full of the supernatural, and some lovable characters to go with it. Be warned however, that there is a major twist at the end of the novel that will turn your perception of several characters upside down! Personally, I was rather frustrated by the twist, but I am interested to see where Clare takes the story from here. City of Bones was an excellent beginning to an adventure saga, and I really look forward to reading the next two books in the sequence.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you like a story that deals with everything from demons to werewolves then this is a great choice. NOT FOR TEENS!

    Great story and plot. Who doesn't love a story about a normal everyday person finding out they actually born into a bloodline of warriors and protector battling against demons. It is well written and sucks you in from the beginning. The characters are layered and well thought out. If you like a story that deals with everything from demons to werewolves then this is a great choice. I love the idea of runes and how they are used to help and protect the Shadowhunters. I however won't talk about the elephant in the room....Clary's relationship with Jace, mainly because I don't want to spoil it. I will say that BECAUSE of the nature of their relationship I just don't think this book is for anyone under 20. Mainly because I think you need to have a pretty firm grasp on who you are and what's ok before you throw yourself into a character's shoes who is dealing with such a taboo relationship, but then most of the relationships in the book are far from normal. So if you are a parent I would suggest you read this before you let your teenager.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i liked it and cant wait to get the second installment.

    Clary is an awesome charecter, she seems so timid but i have the feeling that she is going to become a great warrior princess. I will not lie i got disapointed about what happens between clary and jace, but i got a feeling that everything will turn out for the best. the writer describes the city in length. she is very disriptive.... some times i really just wanted to know what was gonna happen i really wanted to skip some of the discriptions just to get to the good and juicy parts but I really did like the book and would recomend it to anyone in that age group.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER EVEN BETTER THAN TWILIGHT

    i loved this book.Cassandra Clare adds action, suspense, and romance all in this book. After reading this book i recommended this book to some of my friends and when they finished it we had a lot of fun debating over the ending.
    which reminds me this book has a ending that will make you want to find out more and make you pick up the next book. so buy it now cause you will love the characters and the story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great series!!!!!!!!

    You are not going to expect the ending.and this book will keep you on your toe's!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Read This!

    I loved this entire book. Then I got to the last few chapters and I could not believe what was happening. I'm having a major bookhangover and can't seem to wrap my brain around what was happening! Which is the reason it received 4 stars instead of 5. I haven't quite coped and I'm thinking Clare is going to say JUST KIDDING somewhere in book 2. Which since I'm agonizing so much over this it probably deserves 5! Pick it up now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    City of Bones, the first book in the popular Mortal Instrume

    City of Bones, the first book in the popular Mortal Instruments series, was to me, a great book. It takes place in a small apartment in New York, where the main character is a 15 year old girl named Clary, and her best friend Simon. Through an incident at a club, Clary meets three demon hunters named Jace, Isabelle, and Alec. She is the only person that can see them, and this scares her. Soon after, she discovers her apartment destroyed and her mother missing. This leads to her discovering a whole other world her mother kept her from, along with a lot of secrets. She befriends Jace, Isabelle, and Alec, and they go on a big adventure with several twists and turns to find her mother and the Mortal Cup, a very valuable magical object that they need to prevent from getting into the wrong hands.

    Even though the book was a bit slow in the beginning, once it gets started, it’s a rollercoaster of plot twists and surprises you don’t see coming, and this is when I was really amazed by the book. Personally, how unexpected this book really is what makes it so good. Of course there is more than just that. Besides turns you never see coming, there is also the humor added in by Jace. He is extremely full of himself, and his witty comments and flirting make you laugh throughout the whole book. Additionally, this book can convey many emotions, which is what a truly good book should do. You will be shocked and bewildered, angry to the point of wanting to throw the book at the wall, and just a little bit teary eyed. You really feel like you are going on a journey with the characters.

    Also, besides the fact that the main characters are demon hunters, they are very relatable. They are just normal people, and I think you can find a small part of yourself in every character. You wouldn’t think that you could find anything relatable in a book involving demons, werewolves, vampires and more, but you can, which only contributes to the enjoyment of this book.

    The book is pretty long, over 400 pages, but if you stick with it it is worth reading. It’s not a very difficult book, and to me any teenager can read it and understand it. The author is also very good at description, giving you a clear image in your mind of who the characters look like, and what the settings are like. The story flows at a good pace, and overall it is written very well.
    In conclusion, I loved this book. Like I said, it’s a bit slow to start, but if you just wait, you will be in for a fantastic reading experience that will leave you in a state of shock for a while once you finish. I highly recommend this book to any teenager that enjoys a lot of fantasy mixed with humor and drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Enjoyable urban fantasy

    Honestly, I never even heard of this series before seeing the movie trailers, but being an adult male that rarely sets foot in the teen fantasy section it's no wonder. However, after becoming aware of the hype I decided to read the sample. And I'm man enough to admit that the geeky, fantasy-loving kid that I am at heart, was immediately intrigued and wanted to read more. Granted, it's an easy read, and not as fully detailed and in-depth as I would like, as an adult reader, but I found it enjoyable and entertaining. I have every intention of getting the second book in the series in the hopes that the story will continue to please, as well as develop these wonderful characters further.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Clary Fray is one of my favorite characters in this book. Yes, s

    Clary Fray is one of my favorite characters in this book. Yes, she’s a little helpless (she’s human compared to all of these paranormal beings—of course she’s going to be a little helpless). Yes, she doubts the existence of Shadowhunters and demons and all that jazz (I probably would too if I was raised like a normal human being, a.k.a. a mundie). But she doesn’t over-react. All of her reactions were realistic, and that’s a big thing for me.

    Jace, on the other hand, is pretty much the opposite of Clary. He’s experienced, he was raised to fight demons, and he is not helpless. I actually liked Jace (what can I say? I have a thing for fictional playboys) and he made me laugh several times while reading this book. But he and the rest of the Shadowhunters need Clary. For Clary is a little bit more special than she thinks she is.

    And don’t forget about the other characters. Izzy, Alec, Luke, and the rest of them help Clary along the way and also provide vital clues for the mystery of the cup to be solved. The person I felt really bad about though is Simon. Poor Simon is being pretty much used and then forgotten. It’s kind of sad.

    The plotline is pretty darn original, as is the world Cassandra created. The cup, Clary’s mother, and a few other mysteries keep you turning the pages. Be warned though, they aren’t all resolved in this book (it is a series, after all) and there are some twists (one thing in particular, thanks Cassandra) that you won’t see coming.

    I recommend this book for people who like all things paranormal, a teeny bit of romance, and lots and lots of action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Clary vs Harry...

    This story is intriguing however I found many details similar to Harry
    Potter. I don't know how the whole series goes on but so far this is what I noticed: non gifted humans are mundanes vrs muggles, bad guy is Valentine vrs Voldemort, both bad guys want a "pure" race, both bad guys are after something that has been missing for a long time, lead character has no idea who she really is or that her mom is gifted and she is a prodigy, guy everybody trusts turns out to be a trader, a werewolf saves the day, somebody changes into a rat and in the end the kids are the heroes. See what I mean?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    MISSING PARTS!!

    Seems like an interesting story but I only got the first 86 pages! Just called B&N support and they are fixing the file. Can't wait to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Enjoyable read.

    If you like the twilight series type of book with vampires, werewolves, and other worldly creatures, you will enjoy this book. #1 in a series, I did like it enough to buy #2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I recommend the entire series

    Cassandra Clare is an excellent writer and keeps you wanting to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Quite good

    Story keeps your interest; characters are well thought out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Give it a chance, it's worth it.

    I really don't understand why everyone is saying that the characters are not developed or that it is predictable. I have read WAY too many books which makes anything slightly predictable but i was pleasantly (for the most part) surprised throughout the entire book, especially in the last 100 pages or so. The characters were all cleary defined and interesting and their constant banter had me laughing throughout the entirety of the book. You ccoukd easily tell how each of the characters related to each other, whether static or dynamic. The only thing I can really see people bugged about was that it seemed slightly unorganized; however, it only seemed unorganized because of the lack of information you start off with and the amount of intellectual ability to piece the small tid-bits of information together. It took me until the very last pages to finally understand everything (which was very nice to not have a very dragging ending)
    To be honest, I never expected vampires and were-wolves to enter this story and was kind of upset with myself that I actually found this a good read. I have never read twilight but I have been forced to watch the movies and I am happy to say that this is NOTHING like the story-line of Twilight. If anything, I found several parallels to Harry Potter, but that just made it more interesting as you see how it is different. So, that long rant being said, I guess what I am trying to say is don't shy away from this book just because you don't like Twilight. This is a captivating book and TOTALLY worth reading. The beginning may seem a little slow just because you are so confused, but stick to the end and you will definitely be glad you did.

    WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU DOING STILL READING MY LONG STUPID RANT ON THE AMAZINGNESS OF THIS BOOK!?!? Seriously, at least get the free sample now. I am begging you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    City of Bones is a mix of Kim Harrison and Stephenie Meyer

    While I have not yet finished the series, so I could not give it 5 stars, I was drawn in from page one to the last page.I can not wait to finish the series, so I went straight out and bought the other two. I was refered to this book by a friend, and this book made the foundation of our friendship stronger with our common bound found in books. I found myself twisted with the greif from loss of family along with the characters. The embarrasment of love turned asscue by the discovery of unknown family truely had me wishing it was not so. While the plot could have been more challenging; I still found that the book was able to hold me in it's grip and I can not wait to see how it plays out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 937 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 47