BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5594 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4019)

4 Star

(937)

3 Star

(342)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(170)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

300 out of 320 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Advice for Twilight Lovers....Read It!!!!

if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got...
if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got my bearings and learned who the characters were and how they were related to the main character. WARNING!!!...after you understand whats going on, you wont be able to stop. all types of events start to happen in Clary's life which will hav no choice but to lure you in with her! its not crazy-busy but also leaves no room for you to get bored...the perfect mix. :) everytime there wasnt action or almost unbearable suspense, i was soaked up in the lust and romance of Jace and Clary. although it is written in 3rd person, it is so easy to become the characters and be overwhelmed with their intense emotion. its sad for me to admitt, and i probably would hav beat myself up for even thinking this before i read this series, but the Mortal Instruments Series goes hand in hand with the Twilight saga...or probably even better. this is definitely for people who fell in love with Twilight and just cant seem to find a good enough book to fill its spot. And although the end of this book can be heartbreaking...dont give up on it!! it gets better and better with each sequel!!!!

posted by love-2-dance on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

51 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

Hm......

So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was ac...
So I work in a bookstore and I keep watching people buy this book left and right and actually had to try and calm a bunch of fangirls who thought 'City of Glass' came out the day before it's actual release date (Not a pretty picture). So I had to think that there was actually something to this series. I picked up the first book and read through it and I have to say.......meh. I was really disappointed with how it ended and I really have no draw to pick up the next book, mostly because I'm too miffed about it. I won't say anything to ruin it for anyone else but, all I know is that I really didn't care for it, but that is just my personal opinion, don't etch it in gold or anything.

posted by SwitchKent on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 937 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 47
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good book but...

    I have to admit that I did enjoy the book but... I however did NOT like the ending. It gave me a headache because i was so involved in the book that it became stressful for me to read the ending. It was disappointing and I am not going to read the 2nd book in the series really any time soon. It is a very good book until the ending but i would recommend it to a friend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than I thought...

    So, I got the first book as a gift and read it in 12 hours. I just could not put it down. I have to admit that I like the story better than Twilight, much better. By the 3rd book of Twilight I'd lost interest, I cannot wait for the last book of this series to get to my book store (had to special order because they sold out). I flew through the 2nd book just as easily as the first.

    Great story and much better story than the Twilight Saga.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Put it down!

    With being a Twilight lover, i thought that i wouldn't find any other good books. but by chance my dad picked out this book becasue of the cover. once i started reading i found that the cover was just the beginning of the thrilling roller-coaster of a ride City Of Bones is. with a twisted love story that Calry and Jace find themselves in and the ever dooming fate that is looming over the tools that they need to find, i really couldn't put it down. it was amazing. the second and third books are just as great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I actually ended up enjoying this book

    When I first started reading this, I thought that it was a little slow and confusing. But I a m not the type that puts the book done once I start one so I kept reading. And I really ended up enjoying the book. I thought that the characters were very unique and believable (except for the part that they kill demons.) In many ways you knew people with those same traits at some point in your life and I enjoy related the read to real life. I am going to buy the 2nd and 3rd books so I can find out what happens. I'm glad that I kept reading it and would recommend this series to anyone who likes this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book! Love it!

    I was a little hesitant at first to read this book after reading the twilight series, but it's actually very very good. I would highly recommend to this book to readers out there! you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a good book!!

    this book was great. it has memorable and fun characters, an edgy setting, and a plot that i thought was more realistic and much better paced then books like the twilight series. it was fast and funny, and i never got bored. i would definetely recommend this to any fantasy fan, especially if you like books by authors such as holly black, melissa marr, or libba bray.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    YAY

    This book was a thrilling, addictive read. Sometimes the plot was kinda cheesy though, it seems like every thing that could be in a fiction story was jammed in there. I also felt that the story resembled Star Wars (not in the ways you would assume), which in this case, wasnt a bad thing. Eventhough it is big, it really is a good, quick read. I cant wait to get my hands on the next one, since the end of City of Bones was frustrating. Jace and Clary belong together, I swear!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    The end was so Disappointing

    The book was really well written and it was really awesome and action packed! It had everything I wanted in it vampires werewolves fairies all that fun stuff. But reading the part between Clary and Jace and finding out something that wasn't great at all made me so angry. I almost wanted to stop reading right there and throw the book into a fire...I am NOT kidding I'm going to read City Of Ashes just to hope its not true and if it is the book WILL be ashes im sorry I just can't take it ITS DISGUSTING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Fascinating yet...

    I really liked it! The story was so well-written and descriptive, an interesting world of hunters. Definitely recommend reading this series, yet I could help but feel as if there were too many cliches jammed into the novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    great read but i didnt liek the end

    wow this was a realod book. it has everyting you could want in a book. all i wanted to do was keep on reading. the only thing about this book liek hwo other people already mentioned was that i really didnt liek the end and i really hope that that whole SITUATION between clarey and jace will change and she better not end up with simon cuz that will ruin it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Pretty Good!!

    This book was pretty good. Before I read the book I read these reviews and sort of guessed the ending. But it was still a big surprise. I felt really sorry for simon because clary is so clueless. Dont read the reviews before you read this book because it will ruin it for you. I thought the ending was pretty good though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Shocking

    I reviewed this a while ago for my local library and was pleasantly surprised when it wasn't completley and utterly boring like others I had reviewed. It had the great elements of the supernatural, action and romance. It kept you on the edge of your seat ya' know? But, hey, the ending made me want to scream. I mean Clarey and Jace can't...can't...Ya' Know!!! I became so feed up with it after that. I'm hoping this all some elaborate prank by the author, or else I give up. It would be sad but not altogether impossible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Pg

    It was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    Cassandra Clare creates a mythical world within our own, roamed

    Cassandra Clare creates a mythical world within our own, roamed by Shadowhunters, demons, vampires, werewolves, fairies and warlocks; making City of Bones the perfect book for fantasy junkies. The vivid imagery and detail present in every chapter, makes it easy to imagine the monsters described, and become the characters that hunt them.
    Although I am not too impressed with Clary, the rest of the characters are not only very well developed, but also super funny and super sarcastic. I couldn’t help but fall in love with the arrogant and wealthy Jace, and even more so with the all-powerful and super sassy Magnus Bane.
    Having said that, this book isn’t as great as I hoped it would be. The hype over the movie raised my expectations for it quite a lot, and had me disappointed for a good portion of the book. I feel like the beginning was slow, cheesy and predictable. I found it very hard to get used to the fact that the character were only fifteen. Also, the book is written in a very simple way, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but the short sentences bug me quite a lot.
    Even these negatives cannot overshadow how witty and creative Clare is. Serious props to her for the captivating story line and even more props for the shocking cliff hanger, which by the way I find genius. Without any spoilers, the ending will have you internally screaming “Nooo, Cassandra Clare can’t do this to me?!?! There’s no way… There has to be a mistake!! No author hates her readers that much… But what if…? Okay I’m buying the second book”. And then you’ll buy City of Ashes and City of Glass, and binge read the whole Mortal Instruments series. Trust me; it’s just the way it works.
    In other words, City of Bones is not that great of a book, but the action, sarcastic characters, and plenty of twists, make Mortal Instruments a seriously great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Loved this book but......

    This was an amazing book that kept me entertained, but they're siblings? Why would you have them kiss if you knew we were going to find out they were siblings? That kinda grossed me out a little, talk about mind games for the characters!! But all I'm all a great read about to read the second... ps Simon is to good for her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Carrie

    Pulls the brownies out of the oven and frosts them with chocolate icing and cuts them inot squares. I eat one and curl into a ball on the couch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    What a twist

    I by far love The Infernal Devices series more but the twist nd turns of this series made it a nonstop read B ++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Good Read

    I hate long reviews that give away the entire story. I'm not a "young adult" but find that some of this genre can be very interesting reads. That being said, I really like this series. The characters are relatable and story keeps my interest. I compliment this author in her imagination and presenting a story in a way that gives just enough detail for me to picture it without going into a lot of boring descriptions. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    A must Read!

    Love the characters. A wonderful series for young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    3.5 Stars: Bold, Unexpected Twist!

    After getting through the beginning, which I feared was heading down a very formulaic road, it managed to hold my interests. What was appealing was the side characters, an advantage that many fail to capitalize on. When readers are more invested those associated with the main characters, it makes them still likable even when the story takes them to a place the reader may not want.

    Because of this, the author was allowed to make twist in the book that I had briefly suspected but thought she wouldn't risk. I applaud her chancy move despite the fact that I believe she recants the twist - turns the 180 to a full 360, if you will - based on the some of the synopses I've read of the next three in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 937 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 47