BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (Harry Bosch Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Bosch #8

I have read seven previous Harry Bosch books and this by far is the best one.. Very interesting and very well writtem..Connelly outdid himself on this one...

posted by NewReaderVT on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Lack of intensity and unsatisfying ending mar 'Bones'

Michael Connelly's Detective Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is back in the police procedural, City of Bones. Harry and partner Jerry Edgar are assigned the case of a missing child whose bones are found in the hills of Laurel Canyon. With the cases of child abuse and abductio...
Michael Connelly's Detective Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is back in the police procedural, City of Bones. Harry and partner Jerry Edgar are assigned the case of a missing child whose bones are found in the hills of Laurel Canyon. With the cases of child abuse and abduction today, this grisly and depressing storyline really punched me in the gut right from the start. I wanted this killer caught or worse more than Harry and Jerry did.

As the case progresses, so does Harry's romantic involvement with Officer Julia Brasher. Because she's a fellow officer, she's supposed to be off-limits per LAPD regulations. Harry feels the heat on and off the case from his superiors to overly ambitious media personnel to his own desire wanting to solve this horrific crime.

Connelly's always does a great job of depicting the inner workings of the LAPD chock-full of political correctness, rivals and friends, procedure and how the case works the psyche of Harry. In spite of all of this, as is the tone of a police procedure, the action is minimal and the solution to the crime didn't turn or twist as much as I thought it might. A key piece of interpreted evidence triggers the solution but it lacked that white-hot, 'I gotcha!' feeling.

Police procedural mysteries are not thrillers or suspense stories and tend to reflect real life in a more subdued manner but after raising the hair on the back of my neck in the beginning just imagining what happened to this child, the ending to me didn't match that horrendous discovery to launch the case file.

Then Harry at the conclusion left me scratching my head as much as the solution of closing the investigated and determined homicide. I wasn't quite fully satisfied with the resolution of neither the story nor a certain love interest in this one. But Michael's still the man and continues to be in demand.

posted by CorLaw3 on August 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Bosch #8

    I have read seven previous Harry Bosch books and this by far is the best one.. Very interesting and very well writtem..Connelly outdid himself on this one...

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Once again, Michael Connelly has written an excellent thriller that kept me glued to each page until I finished reading the book. Anyone who likes mystery and intregue will certainly enjoy this story. It is well worth the read and will most likely keep you reading other books in the Harry Bosch series.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    A great Police Procedural

    I have read all of the Harry Bosch series available so far, and have enjoyed each immensely. They are great police procedural books, have strong plots, and involved and interesting charecter development.
    I have eagerly finished each book, and have anticipated beginning the next--I will have to move onto the "Lincoln Lawyer" series, soon!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Lack of intensity and unsatisfying ending mar 'Bones'

    Michael Connelly's Detective Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is back in the police procedural, City of Bones. Harry and partner Jerry Edgar are assigned the case of a missing child whose bones are found in the hills of Laurel Canyon. With the cases of child abuse and abduction today, this grisly and depressing storyline really punched me in the gut right from the start. I wanted this killer caught or worse more than Harry and Jerry did.

    As the case progresses, so does Harry's romantic involvement with Officer Julia Brasher. Because she's a fellow officer, she's supposed to be off-limits per LAPD regulations. Harry feels the heat on and off the case from his superiors to overly ambitious media personnel to his own desire wanting to solve this horrific crime.

    Connelly's always does a great job of depicting the inner workings of the LAPD chock-full of political correctness, rivals and friends, procedure and how the case works the psyche of Harry. In spite of all of this, as is the tone of a police procedure, the action is minimal and the solution to the crime didn't turn or twist as much as I thought it might. A key piece of interpreted evidence triggers the solution but it lacked that white-hot, 'I gotcha!' feeling.

    Police procedural mysteries are not thrillers or suspense stories and tend to reflect real life in a more subdued manner but after raising the hair on the back of my neck in the beginning just imagining what happened to this child, the ending to me didn't match that horrendous discovery to launch the case file.

    Then Harry at the conclusion left me scratching my head as much as the solution of closing the investigated and determined homicide. I wasn't quite fully satisfied with the resolution of neither the story nor a certain love interest in this one. But Michael's still the man and continues to be in demand.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch ser

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch series in order, and I LOVE them. I am a big mystery/detective story fan, and I have tried so many different series from different authors, but I finally found the one for me! What can I say? I often find myself not really liking the main characters in novels, but I truly like Harry; he is a good guy - not perfect, but he works hard, isn't a womanizer, and isn't overly macho. All of the stories are well-written, realistic, contain surprises and twists, and keep me hooked until the very end. My favorites have been The Black Echo (#1), The Concrete Blonde (#3), Trunk Music (#5), City of Bones (#8), The Narrows (#10), although again - I enjoyed all of them. If you like detective mystery novels, you won't be disappointed with Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    excellent five star!

    This was the first book of Connelly's that I read. I am CSI student and I decided to read a mystery novel to relax and fell in love with the Harry Bosch series. Now I need to decide which one will be the next. Should I start from the beginning or for the new ones? All of them has an excellent reviews, hard to choose.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    One of the best books I've read

    Excellent

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    this author always good

    Harry Bosch is human enough to be a good surprising read every timje

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A book that is active throughout the entire book.

    I enjoyed this book because of the twist and turns that left you guessing where the story would end. Very enjoyable reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Read this Book!

    Harry Bosch's weakness and strength are the same: he cannot let go of the unsolved crimes in LA. As a homicide detective, the "bones" of an old case occasionally rise from the past to inhabity the present. Such is the case in City of Bones, a mystery which begins during the Rodney King / OJ Simpson riots and arises again 20 years later. But not only do the bones have more age on them, so does Harry, a man with a past that haunts him as much as his old cases do.

    Michael Connelly is excellent at creating a mood and sustaining it, playing it like the jazz notes that Harry Bosch so enjoys. His books are a compelling insight to the world of the Los Angeles PD and to the damaged souls who try to make the world right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    another good Harry Bosch novel

    This story has to do with an old murder of a child where only bones are found where Harry Bosh is determined to track down the killer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Citgy of bonesm

    Surprize ending. But it did keep you guessing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    I have found an author to add to my collection of great mystery writers. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Delicia

    Yessir

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I love Harry Bosch

    This book was wonderful. Harry Bosch is one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Enjoyed another Harry Bosch adventure

    Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Good story

    Connelly's Books are is believable and the stories are great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Aero

    I stay in the shadows, keeping my eyes on the city. •Aero•

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Very good detective story

    I love Connelly because I miss LA, and this is a very good mistery, with lots of turns and twists, with a Harry Bosch in great form. The usual undercurrent of sadness, in the ongoing personal life of the sleuth, which is very hopeless. The resolution of the mystery was not satisfying to me, and the more I think about it, the more I think that ....well, I cannot say without giving away the plot. I wish I could find the books in the right order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Liana

    Giggles. No problem. Leaves her long red wavy hair bouncing behind her.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13