Customer Reviews for

City of Bones (Harry Bosch Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bosch #8

I have read seven previous Harry Bosch books and this by far is the best one.. Very interesting and very well writtem..Connelly outdid himself on this one...

posted by NewReaderVT on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lack of intensity and unsatisfying ending mar 'Bones'

Michael Connelly's Detective Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is back in the police procedural, City of Bones. Harry and partner Jerry Edgar are assigned the case of a missing child whose bones are found in the hills of Laurel Canyon. With the cases of child abuse and abductio...
Michael Connelly's Detective Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is back in the police procedural, City of Bones. Harry and partner Jerry Edgar are assigned the case of a missing child whose bones are found in the hills of Laurel Canyon. With the cases of child abuse and abduction today, this grisly and depressing storyline really punched me in the gut right from the start. I wanted this killer caught or worse more than Harry and Jerry did.

As the case progresses, so does Harry's romantic involvement with Officer Julia Brasher. Because she's a fellow officer, she's supposed to be off-limits per LAPD regulations. Harry feels the heat on and off the case from his superiors to overly ambitious media personnel to his own desire wanting to solve this horrific crime.

Connelly's always does a great job of depicting the inner workings of the LAPD chock-full of political correctness, rivals and friends, procedure and how the case works the psyche of Harry. In spite of all of this, as is the tone of a police procedure, the action is minimal and the solution to the crime didn't turn or twist as much as I thought it might. A key piece of interpreted evidence triggers the solution but it lacked that white-hot, 'I gotcha!' feeling.

Police procedural mysteries are not thrillers or suspense stories and tend to reflect real life in a more subdued manner but after raising the hair on the back of my neck in the beginning just imagining what happened to this child, the ending to me didn't match that horrendous discovery to launch the case file.

Then Harry at the conclusion left me scratching my head as much as the solution of closing the investigated and determined homicide. I wasn't quite fully satisfied with the resolution of neither the story nor a certain love interest in this one. But Michael's still the man and continues to be in demand.

posted by CorLaw3 on August 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Bosch #8

    I have read seven previous Harry Bosch books and this by far is the best one.. Very interesting and very well writtem..Connelly outdid himself on this one...

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Once again, Michael Connelly has written an excellent thriller that kept me glued to each page until I finished reading the book. Anyone who likes mystery and intregue will certainly enjoy this story. It is well worth the read and will most likely keep you reading other books in the Harry Bosch series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Lack of intensity and unsatisfying ending mar 'Bones'

    Michael Connelly's Detective Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is back in the police procedural, City of Bones. Harry and partner Jerry Edgar are assigned the case of a missing child whose bones are found in the hills of Laurel Canyon. With the cases of child abuse and abduction today, this grisly and depressing storyline really punched me in the gut right from the start. I wanted this killer caught or worse more than Harry and Jerry did.

    As the case progresses, so does Harry's romantic involvement with Officer Julia Brasher. Because she's a fellow officer, she's supposed to be off-limits per LAPD regulations. Harry feels the heat on and off the case from his superiors to overly ambitious media personnel to his own desire wanting to solve this horrific crime.

    Connelly's always does a great job of depicting the inner workings of the LAPD chock-full of political correctness, rivals and friends, procedure and how the case works the psyche of Harry. In spite of all of this, as is the tone of a police procedure, the action is minimal and the solution to the crime didn't turn or twist as much as I thought it might. A key piece of interpreted evidence triggers the solution but it lacked that white-hot, 'I gotcha!' feeling.

    Police procedural mysteries are not thrillers or suspense stories and tend to reflect real life in a more subdued manner but after raising the hair on the back of my neck in the beginning just imagining what happened to this child, the ending to me didn't match that horrendous discovery to launch the case file.

    Then Harry at the conclusion left me scratching my head as much as the solution of closing the investigated and determined homicide. I wasn't quite fully satisfied with the resolution of neither the story nor a certain love interest in this one. But Michael's still the man and continues to be in demand.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    A great Police Procedural

    I have read all of the Harry Bosch series available so far, and have enjoyed each immensely. They are great police procedural books, have strong plots, and involved and interesting charecter development.
    I have eagerly finished each book, and have anticipated beginning the next--I will have to move onto the "Lincoln Lawyer" series, soon!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    excellent five star!

    This was the first book of Connelly's that I read. I am CSI student and I decided to read a mystery novel to relax and fell in love with the Harry Bosch series. Now I need to decide which one will be the next. Should I start from the beginning or for the new ones? All of them has an excellent reviews, hard to choose.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    One of the best books I've read

    Excellent

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    this author always good

    Harry Bosch is human enough to be a good surprising read every timje

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A book that is active throughout the entire book.

    I enjoyed this book because of the twist and turns that left you guessing where the story would end. Very enjoyable reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Aero

    I stay in the shadows, keeping my eyes on the city. •Aero•

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Citgy of bonesm

    Surprize ending. But it did keep you guessing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    ****

    I have read every Harry Bosch novel and enjoyed them all. I look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    I have found an author to add to my collection of great mystery writers. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Fireclaw

    Hey this is skullclan terrioty

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Jordan Bio

    NAME: Jordan -- GENDER: Male -- HAIR: Short, spiked, blonde -- EYES: Left eye is green, right eye is white -- HEIGHT: 5ft 7in -- RACE: White -- PERSONALITY: Smart, Funny, Dangerous, Mischievous -- STATUS: Hunter of the undead and otherworldly -- CLOTHES: Black boots, Black jeans, Grey tank-top, Black leather jacket, Black dogtag neclace with a silver cross design -- WEAPONS: Silver scimitar, Silver bow, Silver-tipped arrows, Dual silver daggers -- SKILLS: Rune creation, Making explosives, Killing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Ranger

    Name. Uh. Um. Hm. Thats really hard. Species. Cat. Gender. Female. Eye color. Yellow. Fur. Brown and scruffy. Pers. Scrappy. Backround. Killer if thousands. Foesnt quite know what this is about but is learning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Holo

    Age:16/ gender: female/ height: 4' 10"/ weight: 80 pounds/ appearance: red shoulder length hair, sea blue eyes and slightly tan skin. She wears jeans and a baggy sweatshirt with the hood up. She has a brown belt and a pair of brown boots. She has a USMC knife in a sheath on her belt and an old .45 revolver./ family: none/ love life: none thus far/ personality: talk to her and find out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Alex Knight Bio

    Name:Alex Knight_ Gender:Male_Desc.:Dirty Blonde with gray eyes.somewhat tall...Personality:kind smewhat funny ambitious Not much else......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Delicia

    Yessir

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Dash

    See full bio at dream world res two. Only thing changed is im 17 and im brave, fiercely loyal, and always up for adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Crazy gurls random bio

    Aask momo to speak for da world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11