Customer Reviews for

City of Bones / City of Ashes / City of Glass / City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments Series #1-4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Best. Series. Ever.

I never thought that i would find another series that i liked more than Harry Potter but this surpassed that . i have yet to find another book even get remotely close to this level. This books appeals to anybody that likes pretty much any genre. When i read a book i a...
I never thought that i would find another series that i liked more than Harry Potter but this surpassed that . i have yet to find another book even get remotely close to this level. This books appeals to anybody that likes pretty much any genre. When i read a book i always like when it has a romantic aspect in it at least in soeme way.but this book really has it all. It has action romance fantasy. Pretty much you name it its got it. I recommnd this to anyone who has time to read because trust you wont want it down. And when you do it will leave you in awe and waiting for the next one. These books willanger you, make you cry, make you laugh. And ultmately leaving you wanting to be part of the series itself. Beautifully written. The book is writen in such a way that even though it is third person you get to know the character's thoughts. Breathetaking series.

posted by 10426123 on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Woo-hoo

These are the best books that I have ever read, which is saying a lot because i love to read! These books are a combinaton of fantasy, romance and mystery. I love these books so much! I am reading the City of Fallen Angels right now!

posted by I_AM_A_DOWNWORLDER on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Best. Series. Ever.

    I never thought that i would find another series that i liked more than Harry Potter but this surpassed that . i have yet to find another book even get remotely close to this level. This books appeals to anybody that likes pretty much any genre. When i read a book i always like when it has a romantic aspect in it at least in soeme way.but this book really has it all. It has action romance fantasy. Pretty much you name it its got it. I recommnd this to anyone who has time to read because trust you wont want it down. And when you do it will leave you in awe and waiting for the next one. These books willanger you, make you cry, make you laugh. And ultmately leaving you wanting to be part of the series itself. Beautifully written. The book is writen in such a way that even though it is third person you get to know the character's thoughts. Breathetaking series.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    LOVED THIS SERIES!!!!!

    I read the first 3 books from this series about 3 years ago. I was so excited to see that a fourth book has been released in the series. And even more excited to see that a fifth and sixth would be coming over the next 2 years.

    I read and reread these books many times. I finally purchased a digital copy today for my NOOK.

    =)

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Awesome!!!'

    Amazing series! Loved every book, from start to finish! Completly addicting series!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Awesome beyond all understanding!!!!

    This series is so addicting! The books maybe big and daunting looking, but once you start, there will be no closing the books until you have read all three. With this new one coming out, its like waiting for Christmas Day so I can open my presents! For best results, get comfortable on a couch or chair and have livations at your disposal and get ready to be transported into a story that will make you wish your life was this exciting!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Must read!!!

    I bought this series on a whim cause all the books had great reviews... well im glad i did, its hard to put the books down once u start and u save some money buying the whole series together!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I first heard about this series from a friend and thought that having all the creatures in the night put into ine story wouldent be as good.. but i was wrong and found myself thriving for more great series and cant wait until the fourth book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!

    Getting this complete set is completely worth it since you would immediately want the next book right after! GET IT NOW!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Fave book

    Amazing a total 5 star books i have read cover ro cover probalay 20 times amazingly surprised jace and clary are amazing charaters it is so life like read it and it is a crazy love and killer book it is amazing def read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    I even cryed because the book was over...

    If you don't read this series you would miss out on a good book and most likely waste you money on the boring seties of twilight... you would be stupid not to read these books

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great Series

    These series are the most exciting and adventurous series I had ever read. I am only on 'City of Bones', and I cannot take my eyes off of it. Though there are little parts that are boring, it is a great read. I recommend this book for all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    My Fav series

    These books are the best, it is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Amazing

    This series by far has been the best i have read in a long time. I had read the first three books a couple years ago and was extremely happy to be able to purchase all 4 of the books that have been released all at once. I read them all over again like it was the first time and was just as in love with them and can not wait for book 5 to come out in may. Love love love this series and would recommend it to anyone looking for a underworld series with a love story twist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    To confused

    One is short a book. The cheaper one doesnt include city of angels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    City of bones. <3

    This book is full with romance and its an addicting book to read.




    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Amazing!

    From the first time i have opened this book i was hooked! Its a great read and Jace is Halarious:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love love love

    The best series! I am in love with jace. I hope she comes out with more series like this one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    I loved this series one of the best I have ever read!!

    OMG! I loved books 1-3 very addicting series :) I am very excited to read book 4 and then read books five and six when they are released :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Bones and ashes and glas and fallen angels o my

    None

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Best series in the Best series ever!

    I have recommended thus book to every one i know! It truely deserves to be the best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Awesome

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10