Customer Reviews for

City of Dragons (Rain Wilds Chronicles #3)

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Check the Author's Website!

The most common complaint for this book is that it was incomplete for a trilogy. Robin Hobb posted a while back in her journal that this was intended to be a trilogy, but she has expanded it to be four books so she could tell the story better. "Blood of Dragons" shou...
The most common complaint for this book is that it was incomplete for a trilogy. Robin Hobb posted a while back in her journal that this was intended to be a trilogy, but she has expanded it to be four books so she could tell the story better. "Blood of Dragons" should be out sometime in the next year.

posted by tabbycat03 on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too short.

Hobb is known for long sprawling fantasy. The writing style is the same that i have come to know and love, but when i buy a hobb book i expect at least five to six hundred pages of fantastic adventure. There is obviously more she has to say about the charaters, so why ...
Hobb is known for long sprawling fantasy. The writing style is the same that i have come to know and love, but when i buy a hobb book i expect at least five to six hundred pages of fantastic adventure. There is obviously more she has to say about the charaters, so why not include that in this book instead of having the ending of this book feel so incomplete. I feel like i am being ripped off by this "chronicle" when the first three books could have been condensed into one or two of a trilogy like hobbs books normally are. I feel as if hobb or her publishers are taking advantage of me and causing me to pay substantially more for less product.

posted by 11092389 on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Check the Author's Website!

    The most common complaint for this book is that it was incomplete for a trilogy. Robin Hobb posted a while back in her journal that this was intended to be a trilogy, but she has expanded it to be four books so she could tell the story better. "Blood of Dragons" should be out sometime in the next year.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Too short.

    Hobb is known for long sprawling fantasy. The writing style is the same that i have come to know and love, but when i buy a hobb book i expect at least five to six hundred pages of fantastic adventure. There is obviously more she has to say about the charaters, so why not include that in this book instead of having the ending of this book feel so incomplete. I feel like i am being ripped off by this "chronicle" when the first three books could have been condensed into one or two of a trilogy like hobbs books normally are. I feel as if hobb or her publishers are taking advantage of me and causing me to pay substantially more for less product.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Worst Ending Ever

    I've read every trilogy that Robin Hobb has written and loved them all until now. This trilogy has no conclusion. It ends as though her deadline came and she just turned in what she had written at the time ... very disappointing

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    good read

    So far this is a great series.I want the next book. Come on Robin, don't do the WOT thing like Robert Jordan. To long between books is not fair to your fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I love Robin Hobb, great stories, great characterization, beautiful world... however this book really upset me! We have spent 2 books getting characters to Kelsingra and now that the main characters are there we branch out and bring more people in to the story! The last chapter was introducing new characters even. There was barely any forward motion at all in this book and a lot of sexual discovery and new partners. Fine, put that in there to develop the characters but don't spend one third of the book doing it. Especially about characters we don't care about. Hobb needs a better editor to cut her viewpoints down and get rid of all the chaf (sp?).

    Overall the entire book felt like an introduction, or maybe the first book of a series. Unfortunately its the third book, and I paid 27 dollars for something another book and feel like Hobb has started to milk her audience for money. The 3 books really only have enough story to be a single novel and that's how I feel about that!

    -still love Hobb, not loving Rain Wild Series

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Wait until the pricw goes down

    You pay 15$ for a short, incomplete book. Frustrating and dissappointing

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No end in sight

    Unlike her other series, volume 3 doesn't wrap up the plot lines. I could sum up this book in 2 sentences. I love the characters and her writing style, but for the money, I would advise reading the synopsis and waiting for the final installment.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Michael

    He builds a tiger and lion pinn fir shire khon and kovu.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Enjoy

    Great series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Awesome book

    Robin Hobb is by far my favorite author, and this is one of the reasons why

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    The whole series is worth reading. Different and holds your interest.

    Without knowing anything about the author or any of the books. I took a chance and really loved the series. When you finish the first one, you can't wait to read the second, and so on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I would recommend all of Robin Hobb's books. I've read around nine of the books so far and love all of them. There is one set and the last of the Rain Wilds Chronicles at least book #4 that I haven't read yet, but I'm sure I'll love them as much as the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow, I loved all the Rain Wild books, and am happy that there's another book in the works. Robin Hobbs is one of my favorite authors! Would give more then 5 stars if I could!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    wonderful

    I can't get enough of The Rain Wilds...this didn't disapoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Love the series

    Love all her work. As normal the story ends exactly when you don't want it too. Can't wait for book 4 to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Not the best

    I enjoyed the first two books but I found myself skimming through this book searching for something new. A majority of the book is spent catching the reader up on the previous two books. I don't think I will be buying the next book in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Story not moving forward

    Disapointed in this. Road trip book, nothing is resolved, we only moved some people around. felt unfinished, like she had written it out and someone said 'Hey, we can cut this in half and make twice the money!"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    thaawsome!

    My only complaint is the book doesn't ever feel done at the end. It is almost like the books following are till about the same people. Just wonder why split them at all or else wind it all up so it feels like a closed chapter at at the end give some completion or book two might as well have the same title and say continuing saga....
    Otherwise. Wow loved the story the trials adventures romances great heros and villans and a woman who grows a real strong characture during the trip
    Also cool species and and I love the selfish dragon route. Please keep em coming.
    Tonya Dee

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Deputys den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Very good third book

    Not quite as good as the second book in the series (Dragon Haven), but still a good read. The author has a tendency of rehashing some of the story lines as if the reader forgot what the read a couple of chapters ago, but the characters are still interesting and the story is exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5