Customer Reviews for

The City of Ember (Books of Ember Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1466 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(983)

4 Star

(280)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Great story with colorful characters. Liked it a lot and days later I still hadn't forgotten it, nor have the kids and one of them is a fussy reader. Have recommended it to everyone.

posted by Julie_Price on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Blah Blah

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau is about Lina and Doon, who are two young people living in a dark and creepy city. The only difference between them and the other people in the city is their wanting, trying, sacrificing, and fighting for a better place called home. ...
The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau is about Lina and Doon, who are two young people living in a dark and creepy city. The only difference between them and the other people in the city is their wanting, trying, sacrificing, and fighting for a better place called home. Lina is a brave girl and Doon is a daring guy. Their goal is to try to find a better place to live and find out drastic secrets that not everybody knows. They accomplish their goals by trying their best and fighting for what they want, working as a team, and using important equipment. They have many urgent challenges like the cops running after them, and having to go through a lot of stress by watching their backs.

I do not like the book because it didn't catch my attention, parts of the plot are unrealistic, and the characters do not impress me. The City of Ember does not fascinate me because it does not have enough action. When Lina and Doon are looking for the missing pieces of the instructions to try to find the way out of Ember, it is not wild enough for me, because the conflicts are too short and are resolved too quickly. I would have preferred for the challenges to last longer, and be more risky. Another reason why I do not like the book is because some of the parts of the plot do not really seem possible. For example, the kids start working after sixth grade. It is weird that they would go only up to sixth grade, because people usually have to finish college and have good skills. In addition, the characters are very blank and uninteresting to me. For example, Lina is too serious because she does not play around or make jokes. When she finds pieces of information that will help her get out of the city, she keeps the joy hiding inside of herself instead of screaming it out. I like characters who are more playful and expressive. I would not recommend the book to people who like realistic books, and books with action.

posted by 1417263 on June 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 983 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 50
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Great story with colorful characters. Liked it a lot and days later I still hadn't forgotten it, nor have the kids and one of them is a fussy reader. Have recommended it to everyone.

    81 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME Book

    Okay, okay, I admit it. I watched the movie first. But in my defense...okay, I have no defense. Anyway, I read the book, too, and I found both absolutely amazing. It was a fantastic book, and I can't wait to get started on the rest of the series! I recommend this book to anyone, of any age!

    63 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book

    i loved the way the book all of a sudden just grabbed my attention! It was like i was really there with the characters and everything. It made me feel like i just couldn't stop reading(which for me is unusual)it. I just wanted to tear through the book and read even more! It held my attention so well and made me want kind of want to be there with the characters!

    49 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    the city of ember

    in year 2012 there is a breakout of the 3 plauges and 4 wars. That is when congress meets up and decides the only way to save the human race is to build an underground city, completly cut off from the rest of the world and keep people there for 220 years with all the suplies they will need in that time and no more, and a locked box containing instuctions for a way out of ember. In year 241 the peole are running out of everything and it lies in the hands of two twelve year olds to find the long missing instrucions and save the people of Ember.

    41 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    The City of Ember rox!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD! YOU HAVE TO BUY IT! THE CITY OF EMBER ROXS! I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!

    36 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing book with an amazing plot.

    A great book is on selfs near you. Its none other than the city of Ember by Jeanne Duprau. This great novel follows Lina Mayfleet and Doon on an amazing journey to save the underground city; Ember. This book will easily get you into the story, and the vivid descriptions help alot.I would recommend this book for ages 10-15. See ya! ;)

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Fantastic

    One of the best book I have ever read. very very good. very adventurous. love it!

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Adventure

    This book is unlike any other because of the setting. I recommend this to everyone especially children!

    20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    This book was so good and i would highly recommend this to anyone with an imagination.This is the best thing science murder on the menu!!!Please read this you wont regret it!!!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great book

    Great adventure read. Also it's kind of a mystery.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    amazeing!!!!!!!

    i love this book! it takes you through an amazeing advinture and exitment and this is comeing from a 12 year old

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Please read - Awesome Book!!!

    The story takes place in the city of ember. The city in always dark, with only tall floodlamps to lead the way. While they are going through old things in a closet, lina finds a note. Her younger sister poppy has been chewing it up. She reads it. She must figure out what the words are. They are instructions for saving everyone's life and abandoning the city forever. Her and her friend doon ddecide to follow the path. They find a small stell panel in the pipeworks below their city. Behinnd it is a key, which unlocks a door on the riverbanks. They open the door and go inside. They find a boat equipped with candles, matches, and a set of padddles. They climb down a nearby riverbank ladder. They place their boat in the water and climb in. It brings them to crazy rapids. It eventually slows down, and they are lead up a long path and innto a new city, one where light comes from the sky and they dont need to worry about lightbulbs anymore. They explore it. They find a large cliff and they see their city in a big black hole.

    This was a very inspiring book with an insane ending. I would give it thousands of stars if i could.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    This is supposed to be good but I haven't gotten it yet...should I?

    I've seen some of the movie at school but it was stolen so we didn't to see the rest. I sorta liked it but wasn't convinced. Is it good???????

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    SO AWESOME!!!!!!! :P

    I read the book The Book of Ember. This book is a great book; there are 4 books in the series. I liked this one the best. My favorite character is Lina and Doon. They are smart, optimistic characters! They look for a way to keep the electricity going away! They find something much more intriguing! I really enjoy this book! This book is super great action packed book and I think anyone would like it!
    I think this book was really neat! The people live underground, which I have never heard of! I like how they make it forbidden for people to leave. The mayor was kind of creepy! I thought the box that poppy ripped was super neat! I think they will get out but im not sure!! I bet the people of Sparks(the name of the next book( will be super surprised to see people coming out of the ground! I know I would be.
    I really hope if you get this book that you will enjoy it! Have a great time reading!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Great new author with a wonderful story!

    I got a hold of this title by chance in a pre-release copy, and I am very happy I did! The setting for the book is unusual (always nice to find a new kind of alternate world!) and described in detail with words that make you feel like you understand what it would be like to live there. The main characters are well fleshed out and very sympathetic, with a great supporting cast of interesting and varied characters. The plot is straightforward but not predictable, with just the right kind of twists and turns. I very much enjoyed this book. Although it is aimed at a younger audience, adults and teens might like it as well as it has a blend of fantasy, adventure, and mystery all in one. If you enjoy reading Philip Pullman, JK Rowling, and the C.S. Lewis Narnia books, you definitely want to try 'The City of Ember'. It is a great fantasy story, and I'm very much looking forward to the sequel.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Read me Read m

    This is a really good book and i highly suggest this book. It takes a few chapters to get good but once it does you will kick your legs with anticipation.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    This book is amazing!!!! It's full of adventure! There's even a movie and this book is part of a series read them all!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!

    THIS IS DEFINEITLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ. IT IS SOOOO EXCITING AND COOL!!!! SOMETIMES IT CAN BE SCARY WHEN THE TALK ABOUT ELECTRICITY RUNNING OUT OR NO MORE FOOD. I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOING TO BE THE WEIRDEST THING EVER BUT I WAS WRONG! I CANNOT STRESS MORE HOW GOOD THIS WAS!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER READ

    This book got me going from the minute i read the back it is now one of my absolute FAVORITE books i totaly recomend this book to everybody

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Look here!!!!!!!!!!

    My teacher ms smith reading started to read me this- i liked it so i had to buy it!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 983 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 50