Customer Reviews for

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2610)

4 Star

(616)

3 Star

(219)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

138 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

I HAVE READ THE BOOK... so this is a real review.

This book will literally make your blood pump, fast. It will make you yell and hyperventilate and ignore the fact that it is midnight and you have to go to bed because you just really need to know what the hell (literally) is happening. This book is considerably darker ...
This book will literally make your blood pump, fast. It will make you yell and hyperventilate and ignore the fact that it is midnight and you have to go to bed because you just really need to know what the hell (literally) is happening. This book is considerably darker than the last, and you're searching for a happy-go-lucky tale with a single conflict that gets resolved in the end in the most predictable and lovely way, you are not to read this book. If, however, you want a book that is exciting in the utmost way, with a unique plot, so many twists and turns that you feel a bit dizzy, and that also has laugh out loud moments (seriously, I laughed at my book in the middle of class... more embarrassing than you'd think) and, of course, includes romance, then read this book. The romance is not the blissful, easy sailing happy ending you would expect after City of Glass. Jace and Clary are faced with extreme strains on their relationship, yet they also have a rightful amount of passion and strength, and it is one of my favorite aspects of the series: They have a solid, realistic, believable relationship, and it has been consistently building for three books. If you have NOT read the previous Mortal Instruments books, don't read this. Seriously. Go back to the beginning. If you HAVE read them and it has been a while, you may wants to just google the previous books to remind yourself what happened just so this book doesn't have you stumbling in confusion at a few parts, because it goes full blast with very little summarizing about previous events. (I thought I remembered, but when I googled the summaries I found myself saying "OH! I totally forgot about that!" many, many times). Clare is a master at weaving together little details in the books and making a story that feels as real as the pages in your hands. As if you haven't realized already... I loved City of Fallen Angels.
Warning: The end will have you cursing. Literally, out loud, to yourself, cursing. Because (as I looked up immediately after I finished the book..), City of Lost Souls doesn't come out until NEXT May.

posted by PJ_OShea on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Let's be real people--it was OK--NOT FANTASTIC--just simply OK.

I am an avid reader of the MI series and love Cassandra Clare's writing style. I am sad to say, however, that this was not one of her best. COFA still has the classic Clare sarcasm and witty dialogue--which was the best part of the book FYI--but the rest fell short. The...
I am an avid reader of the MI series and love Cassandra Clare's writing style. I am sad to say, however, that this was not one of her best. COFA still has the classic Clare sarcasm and witty dialogue--which was the best part of the book FYI--but the rest fell short. The plot was predictable, there were certain things left unsaid in COG that appear to be blantantly obvious in COFA. But the worst part by far was that the main characters seem to have dropped 50 points in their IQ's. I realize that some character stupidity is needed for plot line, but this was ridiculous--especially where Clary is concerned. There will be parts of this novel where you will be screaming at her for being so blind and so moronic. And beware, if you are a Jace fan, you will want to hit something repeatedly throughout the book. Jace is not Jace in this book, and there is a very good reason why (Clare isn't just throwing it in there because she feels like it), but alas it will leave the plot feeling very non-Jaceish. Not to mention the Clary/Jace romance reads way too much like fanfiction. Furthermore, Simon (while a good addition to the POV's) STILL has not figured out how to be a vampire--and it's getting to the point where it is getting old very fast. But for the good points: there are some new character additions who were very amusing and distracted you from the idiocy of the originals. The plot was a good setup I suppose, but it really is too early to tell. And I loved the way Clare input some of the happenings from Infernal Devices in this one. I will say one thing though, I know that I will be screaming through this novel and the next, but there is no doubt in my mind that I will absolutely adore the 6th and final installment. It will just be a struggle to get there.

posted by EAMC on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3706 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 186
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    I HAVE READ THE BOOK... so this is a real review.

    This book will literally make your blood pump, fast. It will make you yell and hyperventilate and ignore the fact that it is midnight and you have to go to bed because you just really need to know what the hell (literally) is happening. This book is considerably darker than the last, and you're searching for a happy-go-lucky tale with a single conflict that gets resolved in the end in the most predictable and lovely way, you are not to read this book. If, however, you want a book that is exciting in the utmost way, with a unique plot, so many twists and turns that you feel a bit dizzy, and that also has laugh out loud moments (seriously, I laughed at my book in the middle of class... more embarrassing than you'd think) and, of course, includes romance, then read this book. The romance is not the blissful, easy sailing happy ending you would expect after City of Glass. Jace and Clary are faced with extreme strains on their relationship, yet they also have a rightful amount of passion and strength, and it is one of my favorite aspects of the series: They have a solid, realistic, believable relationship, and it has been consistently building for three books. If you have NOT read the previous Mortal Instruments books, don't read this. Seriously. Go back to the beginning. If you HAVE read them and it has been a while, you may wants to just google the previous books to remind yourself what happened just so this book doesn't have you stumbling in confusion at a few parts, because it goes full blast with very little summarizing about previous events. (I thought I remembered, but when I googled the summaries I found myself saying "OH! I totally forgot about that!" many, many times). Clare is a master at weaving together little details in the books and making a story that feels as real as the pages in your hands. As if you haven't realized already... I loved City of Fallen Angels.
    Warning: The end will have you cursing. Literally, out loud, to yourself, cursing. Because (as I looked up immediately after I finished the book..), City of Lost Souls doesn't come out until NEXT May.

    138 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I love the series. Very ideal for the hot summer days. They will keep you entertained for hours

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Let's be real people--it was OK--NOT FANTASTIC--just simply OK.

    I am an avid reader of the MI series and love Cassandra Clare's writing style. I am sad to say, however, that this was not one of her best. COFA still has the classic Clare sarcasm and witty dialogue--which was the best part of the book FYI--but the rest fell short. The plot was predictable, there were certain things left unsaid in COG that appear to be blantantly obvious in COFA. But the worst part by far was that the main characters seem to have dropped 50 points in their IQ's. I realize that some character stupidity is needed for plot line, but this was ridiculous--especially where Clary is concerned. There will be parts of this novel where you will be screaming at her for being so blind and so moronic. And beware, if you are a Jace fan, you will want to hit something repeatedly throughout the book. Jace is not Jace in this book, and there is a very good reason why (Clare isn't just throwing it in there because she feels like it), but alas it will leave the plot feeling very non-Jaceish. Not to mention the Clary/Jace romance reads way too much like fanfiction. Furthermore, Simon (while a good addition to the POV's) STILL has not figured out how to be a vampire--and it's getting to the point where it is getting old very fast. But for the good points: there are some new character additions who were very amusing and distracted you from the idiocy of the originals. The plot was a good setup I suppose, but it really is too early to tell. And I loved the way Clare input some of the happenings from Infernal Devices in this one. I will say one thing though, I know that I will be screaming through this novel and the next, but there is no doubt in my mind that I will absolutely adore the 6th and final installment. It will just be a struggle to get there.

    35 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best series EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I believed City of Glass was the last book in the Mortal Instruments series and I was sooo sad when I finished reading it because the books are so great. When I saw City of Fallen Angels available on the pre-order list I was so excited and so mad it doesnt come out till next year!!! I guess I'll have to suffer alongside everyone else who loved this series as much as me until it's released. Cant wait for this book!!!!!!!!!

    24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    disappointing compared to the first three

    I absolutely loved the first three but this one was slightly choppy, the story didn't flow very well. Also, it would have been so much better if the ending hadn't been so random and abrupt; it was meant as a cliff hanger but it needed something that wasn't so completely off from the rest of the book.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Daddy! I want it NOW! (:

    I have to say that the entire Mortal Instruments series have me captivated. I hate to say that I picked up City of Bones for two reasons (Stephenie Meyer approved and shiny), but it blew so many other books I've read out of the water.

    I've been looking forward to City of Fallen Angels ever since I heard of its creation. I've read every little thing I could find on it and am so happy that Jace and Clary (although not the main focus) will be featured as regular characters because of their relationship with Simon. I'm really excited and can't wait for the reveal of the cover nor the moment I download this onto my nook!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    QUIT WHILE YOUR AHEAD...

    Well COFA was a let down, unlike the first three books. I personality think she should have never written this book, COFG wrapped up everything perfectly, so what else was there to write about ? NOTHING adn thats excately what happing in COFA, almost every "nevre- ending" twist you saw coming from a mile away, seriously Cassandra ? You could have done better. Jace is acting weird (SPOILER)

    about having dreams of killing clary.. A DREAM ! and is for some reason afraid to tell her, really ? -___- what did he think clare would do ? leave him ? i think not. In this book all the chacaracters change. Clare becomes a complete dumbo, Jcae a jerk for something so stupid, simon a player, isabella clingy GF. I also didn't like the switching of POV's no one really cares about simons realationships.. which were pointless. over all the book was not good but OK...

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Love the Series . . . But a bit Dissapointed with this one

    I love these books - I love Clare's writing. Her character's are all utterly unique, her settings are beautiful with swirls of imagery, but I was dissappionted in this book. The end of City of Glass seemed a fitting, appropriate, and hopeful end to a nice series, but now I'm feeling like all the chracters' issues have just swelled over the brim of a bucket and knocked it over. There's only so much pain and misery you can make a character go through before you become utterly bored and tired of reading about these poor people. That is how this book made me feel about Jace and Clary. Jace is suffering as a puppet of some new villian, and tries to drive Clary away. This, of course, gives them both a terrible case of PoorMe Syndrome, which I really can't stand in characters.

    That said, the only characters who didn't make me mad in this book were Magnus (he's too funny not to like), and Simon. Poor Simon. He's torn between two girlfriends (though neither knows about the other), struggling with revealing his true identity to his mother, and also being stalked. Unlike the other characters, though, who just talk about how terrible they are or must be (Jace and Clary specifically) Simon remains true and selfless and brave.

    I enjoyed the book, it just didn't live up to my expectations. Hopefully the next one will be better.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Undesrcribeable

    Cassandra Clare has the amazing ability to highlight what's important in life; friends, family, moral, hope, selfconfidence, bravery, and of course a sexy boyfriend can help too ;D. I read Cassandra's website a lot and therefore I know that there will be TWO MORE books after City of Fallen Angels (City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire). City of Fallen Angels was NOT A LET DOWN. In fact I thought it was one of her best installments yet! The 4th book of the Mortal Instruments is just as jam packed with blazing violence, heart pounding romance, and twisted mind games as the other three. Clary and Jace find themselves mysteriously torn apart, Simon is in a heap of trouble with pretty much every one he knows, Isabelle is- well she's Isabelle, and we get to see Alec and Magnus's relationship develop! Not to mention brand new characters and, get this, the reason for the creation of Demons! What more can I say to get you to want to read this book? You should have bought it the moment you saw the name Cassandra Clare, because she sure has done it again!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Still deciding.....kinda a let down.

    I'm a fan of Clare's and really enjoyed the first three books of the Mortal Instruments however, I didn't think that they would be a fourth part and was excited to know that there would be. After reading the fourth installment I'm having a hard time deciding if I like it or not. It's darker than the other three and it's not what I expected.....I'm really hoping that the next book will make up for the disappointment I had in this one.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Amazing series... sad news

    To say I love this series is an understatement. Obsessed is more like it. so I've read and reread the spoilers, and have come to a scary, scary conclusion; Jace and and Clary are going to(for a lack of a better phrase) breakup! For those of you who are team Simon-it's okay, I dont judge- it's ike yay! Or you may be thinking that Simon's too good for Clary. (If so, stop reading and get medical help immediatly.) Of course, in the fashion of romance novels, they'll probably get back togethor in the last book, but it really puts a damper on things, doesnt it?

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW SOOOOO Excited!

    I feel like a teenager with a crush, Ive been waiting to see when the next book in this series would come out & I cant wait!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Too expensive!!!

    C'mon, publishers...$15 for one e-book is more than a little ridiculous. :(

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome author

    I really loves this Author. NO matter what anyone says i think she is great,Funny,Just plan awesome. The books have it all Drama,Suspense,relationships.I have read the first 3 books more than 10 times and i can't wait tell April 5 to get the city of fallen angels
    -Max

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TOTALLY STOKED!

    I was almost certain City of Glass was the last book in the Motal Instruments series, but I guess it's not. I suppose it could continue on..there are many different ways that Cassie could go with it. It's possible that Valentine maybe comes back some how, like maybe he's reserrected or something...or maybe this one will take place down the road sometime, and maybe the group faces some sort of new threat. Who knows exactly, but you can bet that whatever the premise may be, it's going to be good. I mean c'mon...it's Cassandra Clare and the Mortal Instruments series we're talkin about here. Those are without a shadow of a doubt some of the best books I have read so far. Sure, they're young adult reads...and I'm 30 years old, but if it's one thing I never wanted to lose growing up, it's my imagination...and I still enjoy a good fantasy and/or supernatural read...and the Mortal Instruments series has been a great mix of both! If you are into fantasy and have never read the Mortal Instruments series, I suggest you get on it! Get em read, and you'll see what those of us reviewing mean about this series being so great...and then you'll want to get this one when it comes out too. Clockwork Angel is pretty good too, the 1st book out right now in Cassy's other series, The Infernal Devices. Check it out as well. It's not quite as good as Mortal Instruments in my opinion so far, but it's not bad either. CHECK IT ALL OUT PEOPLE! CASSY RULZ!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    impotent

    Have you ever watched a movie youve been looking forward to during a storm where the satelite keeps getting knocked out? She should have stopped with book three. There really was no point to this story. It drug on and on, and when the big ah ha moment was supposed to come it went as flat as a slashed tire. Teased you with a love stories that never went anywhere. City of Fallen Angels left me frustrated over and over again.

    Who ever edited this book did a seriously lousy job. This book came off as being thrown together. I wanted to have at it with red pen. Its irritating when you have to reread a sentence to figure out what they ment to say. When you have to do that over and over, it makes you wonder how it got published in the first place.

    The book would have been better as a novelette. It was legnthened by annoyingly large paragraphs describing insignificant details like how shiny the knife was or how pointy his hair was tonight. BLAH

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WORTH THE WAIT!!!

    I'd been waiting for so long (not very patiently) for this book to come out for the last 2 years. I was a little worried about reading it because I thought that Cassandra Clare ended it perfectly with City of Glass and I was afraid it would ruin the series, but that's not at all he case. Athough things changed DRASTICALLY with all the characters and it's a completely new plot, I was pleased to find that the story line did end up fitting in with the first three just fine. It's hard to decide which is better --seeing as Clare's now moved on almost to a completely different story line-- which is better. I can safely say those who are fans of Jace and Clary will not be dissapointed. The romance gets a TON better. I think the story in the first 3 was solid, and this feels a bit like a "third" wheel. Although, I think it fit in the best it could. I'm just hoping the last two books (which names have been released: City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire) will result in tying them all together so it feels more like one story. All together, it was fantastic. It felt a little out of place, but I trust Clare to fix that with the next 2. The characters are still themselves (mostly), but it's nice to see the changes in them as new situations occur. Honestly, I bought it the day it was released and as up to 2am finishing it, it's that good. Clare keeps it constantly interesting with her incredible descriptions and writing. City of Fallen Angels is so addicting and you won't be able to put it down, even for a minute.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    City of glass

    This book left me wanting more. Some events in the book were easily predicted, but overall it was a great book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Uggggh!

    I'm sorry, but I'm obsessed with the 1st 3 books in this series. Obsessed. However, this one really disappointed me.... I was expecting so much more. It actually took me 4 months to finally finish it. I never wanted to pick it up. Ugh!! Clary and Jace weren't themselves in this book. I was really annoyed by them. The only good thing I though was that I stated liking Isabelle more. I really hope the next book is better and back to the old flow... : (

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spectacular!

    Cassandra Clare never disappoints! I could not have imagined that a twisted path lay waiting for Jace and Clary to walk. Or that Simon would slowly develop into a bad ass! I am going to have a difficult time waiting for the next book and wondering what the heck the author is going to write! Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3706 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 186