BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3713 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2654)

4 Star

(627)

3 Star

(225)

2 Star

(100)

1 Star

(107)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

145 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

I HAVE READ THE BOOK... so this is a real review.

This book will literally make your blood pump, fast. It will make you yell and hyperventilate and ignore the fact that it is midnight and you have to go to bed because you just really need to know what the hell (literally) is happening. This book is considerably darker ...
This book will literally make your blood pump, fast. It will make you yell and hyperventilate and ignore the fact that it is midnight and you have to go to bed because you just really need to know what the hell (literally) is happening. This book is considerably darker than the last, and you're searching for a happy-go-lucky tale with a single conflict that gets resolved in the end in the most predictable and lovely way, you are not to read this book. If, however, you want a book that is exciting in the utmost way, with a unique plot, so many twists and turns that you feel a bit dizzy, and that also has laugh out loud moments (seriously, I laughed at my book in the middle of class... more embarrassing than you'd think) and, of course, includes romance, then read this book. The romance is not the blissful, easy sailing happy ending you would expect after City of Glass. Jace and Clary are faced with extreme strains on their relationship, yet they also have a rightful amount of passion and strength, and it is one of my favorite aspects of the series: They have a solid, realistic, believable relationship, and it has been consistently building for three books. If you have NOT read the previous Mortal Instruments books, don't read this. Seriously. Go back to the beginning. If you HAVE read them and it has been a while, you may wants to just google the previous books to remind yourself what happened just so this book doesn't have you stumbling in confusion at a few parts, because it goes full blast with very little summarizing about previous events. (I thought I remembered, but when I googled the summaries I found myself saying "OH! I totally forgot about that!" many, many times). Clare is a master at weaving together little details in the books and making a story that feels as real as the pages in your hands. As if you haven't realized already... I loved City of Fallen Angels.
Warning: The end will have you cursing. Literally, out loud, to yourself, cursing. Because (as I looked up immediately after I finished the book..), City of Lost Souls doesn't come out until NEXT May.

posted by PJ_OShea on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Let's be real people--it was OK--NOT FANTASTIC--just simply OK.

I am an avid reader of the MI series and love Cassandra Clare's writing style. I am sad to say, however, that this was not one of her best. COFA still has the classic Clare sarcasm and witty dialogue--which was the best part of the book FYI--but the rest fell short. The...
I am an avid reader of the MI series and love Cassandra Clare's writing style. I am sad to say, however, that this was not one of her best. COFA still has the classic Clare sarcasm and witty dialogue--which was the best part of the book FYI--but the rest fell short. The plot was predictable, there were certain things left unsaid in COG that appear to be blantantly obvious in COFA. But the worst part by far was that the main characters seem to have dropped 50 points in their IQ's. I realize that some character stupidity is needed for plot line, but this was ridiculous--especially where Clary is concerned. There will be parts of this novel where you will be screaming at her for being so blind and so moronic. And beware, if you are a Jace fan, you will want to hit something repeatedly throughout the book. Jace is not Jace in this book, and there is a very good reason why (Clare isn't just throwing it in there because she feels like it), but alas it will leave the plot feeling very non-Jaceish. Not to mention the Clary/Jace romance reads way too much like fanfiction. Furthermore, Simon (while a good addition to the POV's) STILL has not figured out how to be a vampire--and it's getting to the point where it is getting old very fast. But for the good points: there are some new character additions who were very amusing and distracted you from the idiocy of the originals. The plot was a good setup I suppose, but it really is too early to tell. And I loved the way Clare input some of the happenings from Infernal Devices in this one. I will say one thing though, I know that I will be screaming through this novel and the next, but there is no doubt in my mind that I will absolutely adore the 6th and final installment. It will just be a struggle to get there.

posted by EAMC on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 627 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    abigailparker0123123@gmail.com

    Add me. And some books do that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Great,but...

    Okay, I probably would have given this book five stars if not for the rather disappointing perspective of Jace, and sometimes Clary. I root for them and their ever changing, unpredictable relationship; and yes there are some seriously heated make out sessions, but it is beginning to annoy me. Jace seems incredibly vulnerable and maybe even pouty. They are so incredibly in love it gets on my nerves. Its great and all, but the world does not revolve around their love life. Dont let this get in the way though, and um... enjoy!!

    On the other hand, I enjoy reading about Simon and his love life... with a new and mysterious character that will come out!!! Although I do not approve of gay... gayness- I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Alec and Magnus.. so interesting. The book is witty and sarcastic, just the way I like it!! Read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Would recommend.

    C. Clare is a new author for me. Got caught up in the first book I read and now have all eight books in my Nook! Lost a few weekends getting thru them but they kept my attention; the story lines were full, active, and with plenty of characters to get caught up in. The books flowed into each other well! I enjoyed the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Great Series.

    I love The Mortal Instruments series. Even though I read this book in two days I had trouble getting into it in the beginning.It had a slower start but when it picked up I could not put it down. Can't wait to go buy City of Lost Souls:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I enjoy this book

    This book is different but i thoroughly enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Sucked in!

    Couldn't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    • Ever twisting story about good vs evil story, and how the lines in between get blurred

    •Author develops several unique characters and at the same time maintains the focus on the primary too

    •movie will be out in august might want to read it beforehand

    •Reasonably quick read, Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Usually I review the book first and then the narrators. However,

    Usually I review the book first and then the narrators. However, there were a few things that came to mind within the first few chapters of listening that I wrote down immediately. Since those things were all revolving the narrators, let’s start with them.  I was excited to have seen that there were two narrators, one male and one female. Why excited? Based on other audio books that I've heard, I thought Ed would read the male characters and narration and Molly would read the female characters and narration. Sigh. That was a disappointing sigh…..  They narrated based on the point of view of the character: Ed for Simon’s POV and Molly for Clary’s POV.  If the division of POV was organized into parts (Simon – Part One and Clary – Part Two) I believe it would have worked out better. However, that’s not the case here.
    Ed’s voice is smooth and he does a great job switching tones between characters and the narration. He starts off the book as its Simon’s POV. It’s always interesting to see the narrator’s interpretation of a character. He definitely nailed what I thought Simon would sound like. It was interesting to hear his interpretation of Jace.

    This is the first time Molly narrates this series (she also narrates “City of Lost Souls”).  It was a bit rough when she began to narrate. She doesn't differentiate between the characters or the narration, which can make it hard to follow. Other female narrators go a few octaves lower for the male characters but unfortunately Molly does not. Excited? Sad? Narration? Angry? Unfortunately, all the same tone.  She does add an accent to the Seelie Queen. I will say that towards the end, her narration improves with regards to tone for Clary.

    My issue with the way the narration was conducted is that each narrator had their own interpretation of the characters (which were significantly different) causing there to no cohesiveness between the POV of Simon and Clary. I really liked Ed’s narration which caused me to compare Molly’s narration and thought different can be good, not in this case. I’m hoping that Molly feels more comfortable with the characters and has gotten to know them better as she is narrating the next book all by herself.

    Book Review: 
    The story was a bit slow to start with but it pick up its pace after a few chapters. “City of Fallen Angels” is divided between Simon’s POV and Clary’s POV.  However, the majority of the book revolves around Simon. In fact, Simon’s part truly kept the story moving forward and made this installment of the series good.

    There was significantly more “teenage angst” in this book than in any of the previous ones. Yes, I know it’s a YA (as it should be about teenagers) and I do remember what it’s like. Just had to roll my eyes a bit during some of the scenes between Jace and Clary. If I could have gone through the book and grabbed her by the shoulders and shaken her, I would have. It actually reminded me of a few friends I had in high school. I had to shake them too when it came to boys, their own self worth and about looking at the situation for what it is vs. making it about themselves (not pretty enough, not good enough, blah blah blah).  Clary and Jace are officially a couple and like any couple that just got together, they are still getting to know each other and how they now fit into this new role. Of course add vampires, a potential new war, your mother not liking your boyfriend (wait, that one isn't anything new or out of the ordinary, but still), someone trying to kill your best friend, well, you can see where this is a rocky start for them.

    The Jace I knew and love is absent from this book. I know he has gone through a lot! Though I would have thought he had learned that he’s not alone in the world and that he has family and Clary that he can count on. However, he continues to keep things to himself and not let others in, causing greater harm and alienating those around him (even more in some cases) in the process. His absence is greatly felt in this book as it causes something to be missing and his personality was such a great driving force for the previous books.

    Speaking of couples, LOVED Alec and Magnus! Interesting to see their dynamic, it was very cute and endearing. Curious to see where the events in this book lead to!

    Over all I liked this book though it did feel like it dragged in a lot of places, and unfortunately it was usually the spots with Clary. This book also felt more like the first book in a series, creating the build up for the next book. This is sort of the case as well as “The Mortal Instruments” was supposed to be a trilogy but Cassandra Clare decided to continue to make it an ongoing series (currently there are 6 books scheduled for the series). If I looked at it as the first book in the series, then everything does make more sense as to the flow and lack of action (except for the end which is used more for a build up what’s to come in the next installment). This does make me look forward to “City of Lost Souls”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Okay

    Its is not as good as the first three but its still pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Good book

    It was pretty good, but it wasnt as good as the first three...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Awesome book-- too expensive!!!

    I LOVE this series but i havent ben able to get the ebook versions because they are WAY to expensive, and no duh-- im on a budget.
    so love it, recomend it, but not buyin it. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this series! Its gets you going, and makes you feel like you actually know the characters. This book is great because just when you think its over its starts back up again. By the middle of the book i found myself screaming. And even though there is romance, these books arent just for girls. Even some boys will like it, i know my brother did. The only thing i didnt like about this bookwas that it was short, it took me no time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Throughly enjoyed

    This is my favorite so far in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Great!

    Okay, first of all i just want to say that i love this series! Anyways, moving on, i am by far not the first to say that this book was not the best of the series, but it also wasnt bad by any means. It had everything the other books had, but sometimes certin scenes were dragged out longer than needed. But, overall the book was great!

    *Sorta Spoiler*
    I just wanted to say that i love the idea of simon and isabelle together and magnus and alec together! Oh and i just wanted to say that sometimes the scenes of when clary and jace were together declaring their love for each other kinda got annoying only because they say it sooooo many times! But it was still good overall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Not th best in the series

    I liked it alot and her writting is fantastic but it was not my favorite book of the series.... its dtill a fabulous book though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Love the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Good book!!

    I just want things to clear up, but it was a good book. I was waiting until I finished this book so I could go back to The Infernal Devices 2nd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Review1333717296233

    This is a really nice book!1333717296233

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Good read

    Cofa was a good read. It was a letdown when i found out its from Simons view. I like simon, but i don't really care about his love life. I'd rather read about Clary and Jace.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good

    Great last book of the series. Never a dull moment, and definitely keeps you turning the pages and guessing what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 627 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 32