Customer Reviews for

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2703)

4 Star

(480)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler Free Review of City of Glass

It's a scary thing when you get to the final book in a series or
trilogy that you particularly care about. There's a certain amount of
apprehension involved,correlating directly to your emotional
involvement to the story and characters. Its tricky for the au...
It's a scary thing when you get to the final book in a series or
trilogy that you particularly care about. There's a certain amount of
apprehension involved,correlating directly to your emotional
involvement to the story and characters. Its tricky for the author to
wrap things up in a way that is true to the characters, consistent
with the themes of the previous books, ties up the story arcs, and is still enjoyable to read. I've never read the final book in any series that managed to seamlessly do all of those things.
City of Glass did.

The characters remained true to themselves while still managing to grow appropriately.

Clary was very Clary-ish. Particularly early on in the book she was
just as rash and independent and headstrong as ever. Watching her
character progression over the span of the book (as well as the
series), I must say that she usurps Gemma Doyle for the crown of
female protagonists in the category that I refer to as "Girls Who Do
Things." And she does "Do Things." Regardless of the fact that Jace
tried to keep her from Idris, despite the fact that
she lacks the training or even the in depth knowledge of their
society, Clary refuses to sit on the sidelines. She refuses to be
relegated to the role of bystander or victim. She was very true to the
character that we got to know in City of Bones and City of Ashes.

Jace, well, what can I say. Jace's journey here is epic. As he has in
every book before, he broke my heart. Watching him struggle with
himself, with his past, with things he cannot control...it is
beautiful.

The 'minor' characters (though I am loathe to call them that, seeing
how real and well developed they are) really shine here, too. They all grow to meet the challenges before them, and we see a different side of
*everyone* in Idris, though they stay true to the characters we knew.
To say that I am ecstatic about the character development here is a
gross understatement.

All of the story arcs--both for the individual characters as well as
the main conflicts--are tied up nicely. The foundations for everything
that happens have been building since COB. The resolutions are not
gratuitous or indulgent. They feel as if--rather than the writer
giving the series the ending she wanted it to have, regardless of
whether or not it fit the themes of the other books--the author
allowed these characters to tell their stories through her. It was the
way endings should be...but so rarely ever are.

I laughed, I cried, I squealed, I shouted at the characters, I yelled "Yes!" and "No!"Oftentimes I did all of those things within the span of a single chapter. It's an emotional whirlwind reading experience. I was
physically unable to put the book down from the moment I picked it up. And the ending? Well, the ending left me breathless.

I don't say this lightly: there are probably two dozen books that I
easily list as "one of my favorite books of all time." City of Glass is not on that list.

City of Glass *IS* my favorite book of all time.

For sheer emotional connect, suspense, excitement, character WIN,
romance, frighteningly believable villainy goodness, and moments that made me flail around like a toddler in the candy closet, it is
unparalleled.

So for those of you eagerly counting down the days between now and
March 24, take heart. City of Glass is well worth the wait. I had
really high expecta

posted by Marcy_Jo on January 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

Cassandra Clare has an amazing imagination. The characters are out of this world and the plot was great. But it's so aggravating when you have half of something but not the other. The writing was redundant, I felt like everyone was having the same conversation over a...
Cassandra Clare has an amazing imagination. The characters are out of this world and the plot was great. But it's so aggravating when you have half of something but not the other. The writing was redundant, I felt like everyone was having the same conversation over and over again. And evertime the main character had a moment of intensity she drew blood, either she bit her lip so hard she tasted blood or she squeezed her fist so hard there was blood where her nail marks were... it's not intense anymore if you say it more than 10 times in the book. The end was predictable and lackluster.
Being in this author's mind must be one of the best places to be but being in her books is aggravating because you expect so much more!

posted by curled-up-with-a-book on June 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2703 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 136
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Spoiler Free Review of City of Glass

    It's a scary thing when you get to the final book in a series or<BR/>trilogy that you particularly care about. There's a certain amount of<BR/>apprehension involved,correlating directly to your emotional<BR/>involvement to the story and characters. Its tricky for the author to<BR/>wrap things up in a way that is true to the characters, consistent<BR/>with the themes of the previous books, ties up the story arcs, and is still enjoyable to read. I've never read the final book in any series that managed to seamlessly do all of those things.<BR/>City of Glass did.<BR/><BR/>The characters remained true to themselves while still managing to grow appropriately.<BR/><BR/>Clary was very Clary-ish. Particularly early on in the book she was<BR/>just as rash and independent and headstrong as ever. Watching her<BR/>character progression over the span of the book (as well as the<BR/>series), I must say that she usurps Gemma Doyle for the crown of<BR/>female protagonists in the category that I refer to as "Girls Who Do<BR/>Things." And she does "Do Things." Regardless of the fact that Jace<BR/>tried to keep her from Idris, despite the fact that<BR/>she lacks the training or even the in depth knowledge of their<BR/>society, Clary refuses to sit on the sidelines. She refuses to be<BR/>relegated to the role of bystander or victim. She was very true to the<BR/>character that we got to know in City of Bones and City of Ashes.<BR/><BR/>Jace, well, what can I say. Jace's journey here is epic. As he has in<BR/>every book before, he broke my heart. Watching him struggle with<BR/>himself, with his past, with things he cannot control...it is<BR/>beautiful.<BR/><BR/>The 'minor' characters (though I am loathe to call them that, seeing<BR/>how real and well developed they are) really shine here, too. They all grow to meet the challenges before them, and we see a different side of<BR/>*everyone* in Idris, though they stay true to the characters we knew.<BR/>To say that I am ecstatic about the character development here is a<BR/>gross understatement.<BR/><BR/>All of the story arcs--both for the individual characters as well as<BR/>the main conflicts--are tied up nicely. The foundations for everything<BR/>that happens have been building since COB. The resolutions are not<BR/>gratuitous or indulgent. They feel as if--rather than the writer<BR/>giving the series the ending she wanted it to have, regardless of<BR/>whether or not it fit the themes of the other books--the author<BR/>allowed these characters to tell their stories through her. It was the<BR/>way endings should be...but so rarely ever are.<BR/><BR/>I laughed, I cried, I squealed, I shouted at the characters, I yelled "Yes!" and "No!"Oftentimes I did all of those things within the span of a single chapter. It's an emotional whirlwind reading experience. I was<BR/>physically unable to put the book down from the moment I picked it up. And the ending? Well, the ending left me breathless.<BR/><BR/>I don't say this lightly: there are probably two dozen books that I<BR/>easily list as "one of my favorite books of all time." City of Glass is not on that list. <BR/><BR/>City of Glass *IS* my favorite book of all time. <BR/><BR/>For sheer emotional connect, suspense, excitement, character WIN,<BR/>romance, frighteningly believable villainy goodness, and moments that made me flail around like a toddler in the candy closet, it is<BR/>unparalleled. <BR/><BR/>So for those of you eagerly counting down the days between now and<BR/>March 24, take heart. City of Glass is well worth the wait. I had<BR/>really high expecta

    56 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    52 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Demons, Shadowhunters, and Forbidden Love? Step right this way, please...

    The entire series of The Mortal Instruments is a book that rivals Harry Potter--and that's saying something.

    Full of magic, demons (definitely lots of those), action, and "forbidden" (read the book and you'll know why that's in quotes...)romance. Oh, and there's also the forbidden (without quotes) romance...but that's a whole other story WORTH READING)

    The characters are so well developed that it seems as though you've known them your whole life. Before you know it, you'll realize that Jace and Clary have snuck (or sneeked--whichever you prefer) their way into your heart.

    Completely unforgettable, thoroughly captivating, and utterly sexy. Read it.

    52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book with great story line. Kept me very entertained

    Very good book with great story line. Kept me very entertained

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Twilight Fans

    I picked this book up after seeing that Stephenie Meyer recommended it on her site. All I can say it that I was not disappointed. After mourning the end of the Twilight series I was looking for a group of characters I could enjoy and Cassandra Clare came through with those. From the very first chapter I was roped into the world of the Shadowhunters. The relationship between Clary and Jace will keep you enthralled and wanting more. I was able to identify with Clary so much in her faith of others and her belief that love is stronger and will save rather than destroy. I will read this series again and this time I am sure enjoy it even more. I loved Twilight and the Cullen famliy but if I had to choose I would much rather be a Shadowhunter than a vampire.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CITY of GLASS by Cassandra Clare

    CITY OF GLASS is the third novel in The Mortal Instruments trilogy and you will not be disappointed in this final installment by Cassandra Clare. In fact, you will be taken on the roller coaster adventure of your literary experience.<BR/><BR/>Buckle yourself in for your ride as you begin City of Glass. It commences several days after The CITY OF ASHES ends. Clary and her family (brother Jace) and friends (the Lightwoods) must travel to the city of Alicante, the ancesteral home of all Shadow hunters. Clary's focus on going to Alicante is to find the person that can "help" her mother awaken from her coma like state, a fact that is supplied by her mother's friend Madeline. The problem with this scenario is that Jace believes that Idris, the beautiful city of glass, is too dangerous a place for Clary and will stop at nothing to keep her from going, even if that means that he has to lie to her and needs to enlist in Simon's help to achieve it. What happens next will leave you white knuckling your book and breathless and you take your first plunge, and just think your ride has only begun.<BR/><BR/>Clary soon realizes that she has been lied to and left behind and when no one will help her, she decides to use her special powers to enter into the city because she refuses to be a bystander. This action makes her an outlaw in Alicante for you CANNOT enter the city of Idris without permission, thus she ends up in a situation that nearly kills her. Luckily she has Luke to help her, but remember that he is a down worlder and his presence in Alicante is not good news....can you feel the bumpiness of the ride ahead? I know I felt some chills of dread.<BR/><BR/>When Clary is finally within the city walls of Idris and in company of Jace and the others, it is to find the city under much duress and weary over the impending threat of Valentine's wrath. This sickening doom lead Jace and Clary to investigate a "vision" and spend time together, moments that only seems to cause more heartache and confusion to an already forbidden relationship. Not to mention that a new character draws Clary to him and his presence will forever change how Clary feels about Jace. These moments are the G-force emotions that leave your heart in your stomach and screaming AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!! as you travel the loops this gigacoaster of an amazing story offers you.<BR/><BR/>The other twists and turns of this book ride are of the other characters in this series that have seemed to come forth and shine, such as the case with Simon. We have seen him develop from the awkward, love lorn geek to a confident, insightful and amazingly attractive blood sucker and we love him all the more for it. Any time that Simon is on the page you are drawn towards him and want more of him, as do others :). Magnus is always a welcome presence and you will not be disappointed as he manages to make his flashy, wise self important in helping Clary. Alec also grows into the shadow hunter that he was born to be and finally faces up to his fears (sigh). I adore the fact that the character story arcs were well tended to and you are left contented and happy with their resolutions.<BR/> <BR/>City of Glass is beautifully written and interwoven with amazingly unforgettable characters and moments, everything is brought full circle and I have to say that I want to get back on the ride and do it all over again and again.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A-MAZING!

    This is by far my favorite book of the series. Ms. Clare's writing really improved with this book (not to say it was bad before) and it was simply phenominal. I do not say this lightly, but I think this book (not necessairly the series) is up there with Harry Potter. I've read several other series (including Harry Potter, Twilight, Gemma Doyle, etc.) and this is by far my favorite final book in a series. Fantastic! Buy it; totally worth the money.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Knocking Twilight out of the Spotlight

    I didn't think there could be another Saga that could hold a candle to the Twilight series but here it is. City of bones, City of Ashes and City of Glass is a story that I just couldn't put down. Great storyline, character and emotionally gripping. I was pulled into the story from the first few pages of the first book. I hightly recommend this series to everyone that loved the Twilight series. I can't wait for them to make a movie for this one.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cassandra Clare is a Mad Genius!

    I finished City of Glass and I have to say that The Mortal Instruments is one of the best series I have ever read. City of Bones crushed me a little with the news that Clary and Jace were really brother and sister. I was stubborn though and I refused to believe it. I immediately ran over to pick up City of Ashes. City of Ashes was even more exciting then the first book in the series. It was in that book that I realized why everybody is always raving about Magnus Bane. He is a very..sparkly character. I of course was also driven crazy by the end of that book when Jace "lies" to Clary and says he will just be her brother from now on.You are killing me Cassandra Clare!

    City of Glass picks up right after City of Ashes. Clary's mother is still in her magically induced coma but now, thanks to Madeline, Clary knows how to save her and the only one who can help her is in Idris. The reader hears a lot about Idris in the previous books but we are never really introduces to it until this book. Despite Clary's reasons for wanting to go to Idris Jace is determined to prevent her from going. Jace fears that Clary's heightened Shadowhunter abilities will make her desired by the Clave. After an unexpected demon attack Jace manages to succeed in leaving Clary behind but ends up bringing Simon with instead. Let's just say that the new Inquisitor is not too pleased to see a vampire come through the portal and he has some plans for Simon.

    Jace may have succeeded initially but Clary being the determined person she is creates her own portal and ends up in Idris with Luke anyways. Shortly after arriving in Idris Clary meets a new tall dark haired boy who seems strangely familiar. Sebastian quickly offers to help Clary in her pursuit for the warlock who can help her cure her mother. Valentine is still moving forward with his plans to attack the Clave and Idris. He has the sword and the cup and now he just needs the mirror. The only way to defeat his demon army may be for Shadowhunters and Downworlders to work together. Putting aside there differences and petty jealousies may prove to be impossible. Only Clary seems to hold the key to uniting them against Valentine.

    City of Glass is action packed and laced with declarations of love *squeal*. I can't wait to continue this series with City of Fallen Angels which is scheduled to release April 5, 2011. At least I will have Clockwork Angel to tide me over in the meantime and I only have to wait 2 more weeks for it!

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If books could run... this book would fly! Leaving all other books in the dust (except maybe Harry Potter)!

    AMAZING! To be read again and again...
    This book is the third one in the Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare. As a first time author she is INCREDIBLE! Clare is now my new all-time FAVORITE author (Srry Stephenie, I think she beat you). This book has everything from romance and adventure to suspense, compassion, friendship, and it teaches so many lessons. This book is definitely, without a doubt, the best in this series. I'm so sad it's over :-( It's a great book...plus Jace is smokin' hahahahaha.
    A MUST READ! (first read though, City of Bones and City of Ashes)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    I got these yesterday and finished the second one today (not even presents couldn't tear me from it)I absoulutly love them! I got on to see when the third one is coming out and i saw the picture of it and screamed then became sad that i have to wait like 3 more months but it will be worth it. I just want Jace and Clary to get together even if they truly are brother and sister. I was so mad that when she went to tell him that she loved him he final decided to be good and just be her brother grrr

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why does Jace have to be fictional?--Amazing Book!

    From the moment I picked up the first book, The City of Bones, I couldn't put it down. It was torture waiting for this final book to finally come out, and believe me, I was in no way disappointed. This book, and series, contains just the right amount of action, romance, and suspense. IT WAS AMAZING! I highly, HIGHLY, recommend this book to anyone who loved the previous books. If you havn't read its predecessors, I feel very sorry for you. You're missing something crucial to life. Go buy the series and gain true fulfillment as a reader... yeah... it's that good!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's official! If I were a guy, I would totally go gay for Magnu

    It's official! If I were a guy, I would totally go gay for Magnus. Much to my dissapointment he is a book character, i'm not a guy, and Im straight as a pool stick. I really like the humor in this book. But what the hell was Jace thinking about while sneaking into Clary's room.
    &quot;Hey self?&quot;
    &quot;What Jace?&quot;
    &quot;I'm lonely.&quot;
    &quot;Well since I'm pretty sure you can't warm your OWN bed, why don't you hop in with Clary?&quot; - Do you really need to think bout that? Sometimes.. no matter how much I love him and how he's developing into a good charcter... I just don't GET him!! *Don't worry parents, there are no sex scenes in this book. I just wouldn't recomment to anyone who is not in middle school yet.*

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Each book is better than the one before it!

    loved this and books 1 and 2...can't wait for book 4!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    YOU MUST READ!!!

    This series was completely amazing. I loved the first, and second books, and i DIED in the last book. I love this series so much! Now stop reading these interviews and go buy the book for yourself!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    Unforgettable!

    This book was the perfect ending to the Mortal Instruments series. It had everything that a reader would enjoy in a book. The romance between Clary and Jace is still strong, but the city needs them first and so they put it aside.

    Don't ever be discouraged to stop reading it no matter what happens. You may get upset at one point, but keep on reading because everything gets resolved or taken care of one thing or another...

    All in all an amazing book that won't disappoint you unless you honestly have no imagination.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Movie ending (as Armstrong's Chloe would say)

    Undine and Trout (Undine by Penni Russon), Schuyler and Jack (Blue bloods by Melissa De La Cruz), Chloe and Derek (The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong, and Jace and Clary-some twisty relationships, lots of suspense.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :):):)

    I love the mortal insterments!!!!! The city of glass is the best yet! If u havent read it u should its amazing i love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWSOME!

    I loved this series so much. Especially this last book, I was really happy with the ending and thought that there was so much action and excitment. Its a really great book if your into fantasy and a little romance

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Cassandra Clare is a very good writer, each of her books are a page turner.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2703 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 136