BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3429 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2751)

4 Star

(492)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler Free Review of City of Glass

It's a scary thing when you get to the final book in a series or
trilogy that you particularly care about. There's a certain amount of
apprehension involved,correlating directly to your emotional
involvement to the story and characters. Its tricky for the au...
It's a scary thing when you get to the final book in a series or
trilogy that you particularly care about. There's a certain amount of
apprehension involved,correlating directly to your emotional
involvement to the story and characters. Its tricky for the author to
wrap things up in a way that is true to the characters, consistent
with the themes of the previous books, ties up the story arcs, and is still enjoyable to read. I've never read the final book in any series that managed to seamlessly do all of those things.
City of Glass did.

The characters remained true to themselves while still managing to grow appropriately.

Clary was very Clary-ish. Particularly early on in the book she was
just as rash and independent and headstrong as ever. Watching her
character progression over the span of the book (as well as the
series), I must say that she usurps Gemma Doyle for the crown of
female protagonists in the category that I refer to as "Girls Who Do
Things." And she does "Do Things." Regardless of the fact that Jace
tried to keep her from Idris, despite the fact that
she lacks the training or even the in depth knowledge of their
society, Clary refuses to sit on the sidelines. She refuses to be
relegated to the role of bystander or victim. She was very true to the
character that we got to know in City of Bones and City of Ashes.

Jace, well, what can I say. Jace's journey here is epic. As he has in
every book before, he broke my heart. Watching him struggle with
himself, with his past, with things he cannot control...it is
beautiful.

The 'minor' characters (though I am loathe to call them that, seeing
how real and well developed they are) really shine here, too. They all grow to meet the challenges before them, and we see a different side of
*everyone* in Idris, though they stay true to the characters we knew.
To say that I am ecstatic about the character development here is a
gross understatement.

All of the story arcs--both for the individual characters as well as
the main conflicts--are tied up nicely. The foundations for everything
that happens have been building since COB. The resolutions are not
gratuitous or indulgent. They feel as if--rather than the writer
giving the series the ending she wanted it to have, regardless of
whether or not it fit the themes of the other books--the author
allowed these characters to tell their stories through her. It was the
way endings should be...but so rarely ever are.

I laughed, I cried, I squealed, I shouted at the characters, I yelled "Yes!" and "No!"Oftentimes I did all of those things within the span of a single chapter. It's an emotional whirlwind reading experience. I was
physically unable to put the book down from the moment I picked it up. And the ending? Well, the ending left me breathless.

I don't say this lightly: there are probably two dozen books that I
easily list as "one of my favorite books of all time." City of Glass is not on that list.

City of Glass *IS* my favorite book of all time.

For sheer emotional connect, suspense, excitement, character WIN,
romance, frighteningly believable villainy goodness, and moments that made me flail around like a toddler in the candy closet, it is
unparalleled.

So for those of you eagerly counting down the days between now and
March 24, take heart. City of Glass is well worth the wait. I had
really high expecta

posted by Marcy_Jo on January 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

Cassandra Clare has an amazing imagination. The characters are out of this world and the plot was great. But it's so aggravating when you have half of something but not the other. The writing was redundant, I felt like everyone was having the same conversation over a...
Cassandra Clare has an amazing imagination. The characters are out of this world and the plot was great. But it's so aggravating when you have half of something but not the other. The writing was redundant, I felt like everyone was having the same conversation over and over again. And evertime the main character had a moment of intensity she drew blood, either she bit her lip so hard she tasted blood or she squeezed her fist so hard there was blood where her nail marks were... it's not intense anymore if you say it more than 10 times in the book. The end was predictable and lackluster.
Being in this author's mind must be one of the best places to be but being in her books is aggravating because you expect so much more!

posted by curled-up-with-a-book on June 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2751 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 138
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    A must read series!

    I was very doubtful about this series as this is not my typical read but I've seen the previews for the movie Mortal Instuments: City of Bones and it looked like a good movie. I like to rwad the books to movies because you get so much more detail and thought I would try it. I absolutely love the books and will probably read them again at a later date.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

    I just got City of Glass yesterday and I finished around 2:00AM this morning. I could not put this book down. It's sad that the series is over, but it ended perfectly. One thing I do have to admit is that I actually cried while reading this. Cassandra did such a good job at creating the characters it was as if I've known them forever. Probably one of the best book series I have ever read. You should really go out and get this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fabulous Conclusion

    I loved this book. It truely summed up all of the loose ends created within the book while still keeping it interesting. I loved the character development throughout the trilogy, and the characters really stay true to themselves in the concluding book.
    I will admit, however, that a lot of the 'twists' within this book were very predictible. I would know what was about to happen several chapters in advance and there was very little that surprised me in this book, which was quite contrary to the first book. However, who cares?! The book is so good that even when you know what is going to happen, you can't help but want to see how the characters get to that point.
    Overall, a very fulfilling read and a fabulous conclusion to a fantastic trilogy. My only complaint is that it's over and I have nothing to read at the moment haha.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't judge a book by it's cover!:)

    WARNING: Extremely emotional and intense book series
    An honest opinion without preconceived ideas about the series beforehand were the only biasness comes from my own view.
    When I first read about 'The City of Bones' I thought it sounded boy-ish but due to all the reviews I decided to give it a whirl. And yes, it was amazing. The whole series sets such a high standard and are completely absorbing. I loved the characters and the ending of the 1st book actually made me cry and fume in a rage. They are powerful, uplifting but dark and will challenge and make you question your views on everything. I really liked how things in one book became massive points in the other ones. I went through phases with Simon- mainly due to Clary + Jace- and came out the other end liking the brill best friend. I love the way Cassandra Clare writes and the books have at times made me cry(esp. the city of glass), be angry, annoyed, questioning, super on edge yet the characters are so witty and sarcastic that I got pains laughing and I have sat well into the night reading. Also, my friends and I have spent many an hour discussing the books and quoting them. My ultimate favourite books and I have read alot of books. You haven't read anything until you read The Mortals Instruments!!! AND I NEVER LOVED GOLD THIS MUCH- JACE WAYLAND...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    I absolutely love this series!!

    This is such a great series to read. I absolutely love it. The whole series was a page turner for me. I cant decide which book is my favorite because i love the whole story so much. I would definitely recommend this series. I was so excited when the final 6th book came out but then again I'm sad because the series is over. I would recommend The Infernal Devices Series also it is the prequel to The Mortal Instruments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally Moving Forward Again - Remembering Why I Love This Series - SPOILERS BELOW

    The ups and the down in this book were extreme for me. The death in this story really tore me up and how the related characters dealt with it was so painful. But the high moments were amazing. I remember why I was so hooked on these books throughout the first two. But then I have to love this book for finally moving past the incest theme. The only thing that made it bearable for me to read at all was the fact that I KNEW that they couldn't actually be brother and sister. How could an author feel good about themselves putting out a tale where they this brother and sister gifting evil fighting duo just can't keep their hands off each other? NASTY! But we finally get the real story here and it's just such a massive relief to move on from that uncomfortable aspect of the story and enjoy the love and fighting and complexity of the different relationships in this story. Hooray for Clary's mom and Luke! Hooray for Valentine dying! And Hooray for Alec and Magnus!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Best book EVER!

    I could not put it down my eyes were literally glued to it!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    CANT STOP READING THIS!!!

    Such an amazing read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Keeps getting better

    I can't get enough of this series. Clary and Jace's relationship, the battles to save the world, how can you not love these books. Bring on book 4!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Respond to crazylion2012

    Clary and Jace are dating right? Im so confused because they are brother and suster but yet they are dating... PLEASE RESPOND! THANKS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    OMG

    I love this series so much and i really really want to c the movies for all the books





    Kaija watts

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Amazing

    I love this series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Love it

    Im a gurl and imvin luv with it such a good book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best book I have EVER read!

    The Mortal Instruments series is amazing! I dont have a friend who read them that didnt say the same thing. If you are looking for a good series with charcters you never forget, writing that makes you want more, and a plot that is outstanding, this is the one you want to read! Although the ending about the forbidden romance was pretty noticable, it was fun to see all the highs and lows that occured in Clary and Jace's relationship. There isnt a thing that made these books not worth reading. The books that I recomended are either the last published in the series, or is just a single book (Beautiful Creatures).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing!

    need i say more? I see this book has 5 out of 5 stars and they are well deserved. Is there a fourth book?? It ended perfectly but i still think there COULD be another one. ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The perfect ending to an amazing trilogy

    I couldn't have asked for a better ending. I got everything I wanted. There are some heartbreakingly beautiful scenes in this book. The characters became more developed and more endearing, especially Jace, my favorite. His sarcastic wit is certainly present in this book; however, he is no longer hiding behind his carefully constructed facade. His torment over Clary is utterly obvious from the first chapter.
    I often found myself comparing these novels to J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series, which is high praise. Cassandra Clare works magic with this novel, weaving an intricate tale with a plot that never failed to shock me. The excitement begins on the first page and doesn't stop until the final sentence. The balance of romance and horror is outstanding. She brings everything full circle for a completely satisfying ending*.
    I am sad that this series is over; *however, Clare has a new book in this series coming in 2011 called City of Fallen Angels. Can't wait!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    City of Shock

    This book has got everything! Action, mistaken identity, stubborn polictial laws, a forbidden romance (but you know what they say about forbidden.) and an edge that'll make you wanna never put it down! Ok before I start to praise the book (which it deserves!) I just want to say thank you to the author for such a wonderful read! In this story Clary has finally found a way to get her mother to wake up. Only when she has to brake into glass city (which is against the law) she finds that somethings aren't what they seem. With her new power she feels invincible. But why would she have to break in? That's because Jace is determind to keep her far from glass city as possible, but why? Clary and Jace are totually different from each other but isn't that what they say? "Opposites attrack" or with them is it more of a "Love is blinding"? Either way it doesn't matter, their brother and sister. So they can't be together, Or can they? And most of all will the Shadowhunters unite with the Downworlders against the Valentine's army of Demons? Or will they surrender to Valentine's will? And what about this new guy? What does he have to do with any of this? Unfortunately your going to have to find out yourself. ( Warning: prepare for the most shocking book in the Mortal Instruments!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    City of Glass is worth it...

    I really enjoyed the entire Mortal Instruments series, I enjoyed seeing Jace's character develop the most. Clary really does bring the best out of him and him out of her! Awesome read! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    City Of Glass

    I finished this book back and November, but i still find myself thinking about it, and obsessing for the next one to come out. This is by far one of my favorite series ever. All of them take you through an amazing adventure and you find yourself always on the edge of you seat. Shock after shock, Cassandre writes the unexpected and makes a completely new turn in the story. I really enjoyed this series and recommend them to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hello? Are the Shadowhunters here?

    My favorite series and it always will be now I can believe that. Vampires, Werewolves, and Wizards O MY. This series is amazing and you probably have heard many people say that about many books in your life but I'm not lying to make people buy this and make it popular. No, I am telling you this series is amaing because that is the real truth and as much as I want to say how great this series is I'm not sure I can because I really don't think there are any words to decribe how great and fantastic this series is, I think you'll just have to trust me and read them. Because I know that after you read this series you probably wont ever look at anythere book again without thinking about these books, I know I wont. Like most books it brought me in, but this time I didn't get bored or wanted to just finish it and be done. No, I wanted it to never end but of course it did and there wasn't any better way to end it then the City of Glass. So plz buy this book not for the people how work there or for the Author but for you and for you to really enjoy something this great. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2751 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 138