Customer Reviews for

City of Golden Shadow

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The beginning of an epic adventure!

    This is the second Tad Williams novel that I have read and it remains one of my favorite books of all time. The first book I read by Tad was Tailchaser's Song, and while that was a good book, it was easy to see the simplistic style of writing. The Otherland series however shows a great deal of growth in writing style and plot development. For those who have not read beyond this novel, I implore you to continue at least through River of Blue Fire. There are four novels total and each one gets better and better. Follow Renie as she searches to find a cure for her brother's sudden comatose state... Get to know Thargor and Pithlit (aka Orlando and Fredricks) as they search for the secret behind the City of Golden Shadow. While I didn't find this book to be a slow start at all, others might be waiting for something more exciting to happen. My advice to them is to bear with it, continue on with the story and you will not be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Christopher Paolini talks about Tad

    Deborah Beale here (Tad partner & wife): we recently received this rave review from Christopher Paolini, and I thought I would take the liberty of posting it here. "Tad Williams is a huge inspiration for me. He's one of the main reasons I started writing fantasy. His books are epic, exciting, and filled with fascinating characters. When it comes to inventing imaginary worlds, he's as skilled as J.R.R. Tolkien and Frank Herbert. "Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn is one of the great fantasy epics of all time. I can't even remember how many times I've read it. It kept me so enthralled, I plowed through the last book in just one sitting! Here be magic, dragons, sprawling battles, thrilling feats of derring-do, ancient mysteries, hidden secrets-all the things a good story needs. These are the books, along with a few others, that led me to write Eragon. "Otherland is an awesome sci-fi story. The scale of Tad Williams' ambition and accomplishments as a storyteller in this series is amazing. He weaves together so many characters, locations, and unique worlds, you can't help but be impressed! Also, with Otherland Tad predicted the rise of the internet and online gaming long before it was invented. "Tad Williams' work is an essential part of any science fiction and fantasy library. I look forward to each new book he writes. If you like exciting, thought-provoking fiction, you owe it to yourself to give Tad a try. "His books are thick enough to stop a bullet! I know!" - Christopher Paolini

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    one of the best epic sagas I've ever read!! Whimsical, scary, tender.

    I absolutely LOVED this series, I originally read this series when it was first published; actually, I had to wait for the final book to be written & released. I couldn't wait for him to finish writing it & get the conclusion out to the bookstores. Well worth the wait! I've found all the volumes in this series to be consistently well-written. As it's been some years since I discovered the Otherland saga, I am getting set to read these books again. I was disappointed to find that you cannot get the whole series in e-book format. You CANNOT read these books as stand-alone novels, if you want to get the entire idea behind Tad's concept. If you skip ANY of them you'll miss a LOT!!!! WHY would anyone want to do that?!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    gaa! everyone must read!

    Few people know this, but the Matrix movies were based off of the principle of this book, but Wiliams is more complete than the Wachowski brothers at showing how developing technology will possibly affect the globe. The first book starts slow and concentrates on setting up a theory of computer science that will raise the eyebrows of compsci experts with its insightfullness. Williams also concentrates on building characters and plots throughout the City of Golden Shadow. The second book is where theory turns into adventure. This is, by far, the best series I have ever read. The characters, the dozens of plots that all connect, the ideas and perspectives are all nothing short of spectacular. If you are in search of a read that will stretch your imagination and introduce you to a truly unique cast of players, please PLEASE don't let a slow start disuade you. The four thousand pages of the series are a wonderful adventure that is well worth the journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Unique but boring

    I tried to give this book a chance. I really did. I was intrigued at first, but eventually reading this got very tedious. Characters have to keep a story afloat. I really didn't care much about the ones in Otherland. And it takes forever for interesting things to happen. This book was not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Totally captivating,enthralling

    Ihad a VERY difficult time breaking away from this book (and the following books in this series)) to do anything but read! It is one of my all-time favorite fantasy/sci-fi series,and I read a LOT! It is set in the near-future. The characters are relatable, well- developed, and easy to care about. I was a bit confused at first, but caught up to speed pretty fast,, andI was HOOKED! Tad had me onboard for the whole, breath-taking journey. I never looked back! I had to wait for him to finish writing the final installment. What an agonzing wait , but well worth it!!! I am now re-reading the entire series. It is at least as good the second time around. I have read ALL of his other works, but these are my faves. Second favorite series is the Memory,thorn and Sorrow sefies. These are ALL must-reads! KD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Ansley to haley

    Please hlep me!!!! Im trying to get him to come explain but he wont listen to his yougest daughter!!!!! Maybe if you tell him to he will

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Jen

    The sky

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    JAYDEN TO ALL (FRIGGIN URGENT)

    Who wants to joing Golden-High Eagles Basketball Team? (Just leave a reply saying to jay from anonymous) [Btw Im captian[^_~]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Party at

    Part time res 1!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Haley to jayden

    Daddy? Why r u leaving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Jo

    Im back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Ivee

    *sits with her stuff* guess im out here tonight...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    One of the best sci-fi series ever. Williams creates engaging ch

    One of the best sci-fi series ever. Williams creates engaging characters in a powerful epic. It was beyond refreshing to see sci-fi with strong females and people of color drawn without stereotype. This series remains in my top 5 (to stand along with Austen, Dickens, James Baldwin, Octavia Butler; yes, it's that good.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A Fast-Paced Journey Worth Going On!

    This book started me on a ride through such mind blowing places that I was disappointed when it came to an end. This was the first series written by Tad Williams that I read and led me to check out all of his works. The characters I traveled with thru these places were as real as they get, and I felt every emotion with them as we journeyed along the river of the author's wondrous imagination. I had a blast reading this series and suggest you give it a chance to take you far away from the mundane. Great storyline and characters that will win you over or make your jaw drop. Cannot say enough, give it a whirl-you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Dreamy Meadows

    A beautiful meadow with hundreds of flowers, each with theur own unique color. A peaceful and relaxing place to be, one can get lost amid the sweet scents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Slow start

    It took 2/3 of the first book to really start to figure out what was going on, but then I got hooked and am now on volume 3, and can hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Epic

    The first book starts slow but trust me...stay with it. When it picks up it does not slow down. This is the first book in a truly engrossing science fiction journey spanning some truly amazing and imaganitive worlds. All the characters at to the grit and flavor and you will find yourself trying to help them through their perdictiment.

    Trust me. Buy this and the rest of the Otherland series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shadow of Information

    This is the first Tad Williams book I have read and it has been quite the introduction. I really enjoy the multiple story lines, and the character developments for the first half of the book. Some of the characters are more believable and enjoyable than others, while some of the main characters are left with gaping holes in their development. I can only hope this will be resolved in one of the other books in the series. I think the book would be better with some of the side story lines removed, so the author could focus more on the main two or three story lines. Future books may change this opinion, but there was almost information over load in the first book making it less enjoyable to read at times. I will with hold final opinion until I finish the series. For now I would rate it a C, and to devote this much time to a series, it really needs to be at least a high B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    Extremely descriptive and very, very long...

    By far one of the most descriptive authors I have ever read. It seems like Tad can spend pages trying to make you feel just how ominous the enormous looming entrance to the castle is and how poignant the aroma of the age old deteriorating stones are that line the lowest of the thousands high stacked walls and upon entering, the painting across the dark corridor reminds the character¿ if you catch my drift. <BR/><BR/> However, this works for me. I can see how many people would grow bored with the book. Not to mention the exceeding length of these books. There are 4 books in the series and it could easily be many more, and in fact it kinda is because there are 4 separate "books" within each "book" making it about the length of 16 books, which you feel every bit of.<BR/><BR/> It takes quite a long time to get into the actually story and the author continues to add characters throughout jumping back and forth from character to character which, if you are simply looking for a novel that you could pick up every once in a while, makes it very easy to forget where you are with each characters story when you jump from one to the other.<BR/><BR/> However, if you allow it, the descriptive style of the author can really pull you in, making the characters seem more real than I have felt from a book in a long time. If you have the desire, and the time to really give this series a shot you will be rewarded with a compelling story and an array of deep characters following them through the expansive and wondrous worlds of the virtual, online realms that Tad Williams has created in the Otherland series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4