Customer Reviews for

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(396)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

93 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

So excited!!!

I can't wait for this last installment to an amazing series!

Though don't think this is the end of what you will be reading by cassandra clare.
She is writing a new shadowhunter series called the dark artifices which takes place after city of heavenly fire in LA, SO I...
I can't wait for this last installment to an amazing series!

Though don't think this is the end of what you will be reading by cassandra clare.
She is writing a new shadowhunter series called the dark artifices which takes place after city of heavenly fire in LA, SO IT SHOULD BE PRETTY GOOD! anyways, they are making the city of ashes movie already so don't worry the shadowhunter world isn't over yet.

posted by 16929452 on December 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Umm

Its may 27 and I've waited all night and its not on my device. Why? I paided for it to be here on may 27 even if its midnight!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Wth?!?!?

    I pre ordered my copy of CoHF 2 months ago. Today ,I tried turning my nook off and then back on again and it still wouldn't load my book! I don't know what else to do!

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Great End to The Mortal Instruments

    Bring on The Dark Artifices!

    I really liked the conclusion to this portion of the shadowhunter modern history. I was slightly disappointed that the wedding we saw was not really the wedding we were expecting.

    At first the story was a bit distressing...I was having a hard time putting all the pieces together-Carstairs, brother Zachariah, etc.-you see the end of Clockwork Princess actually happens during this story, but I read it before this book hit the shelves. I am glad that my copy of Clockwork Princess had the lineages in it so I could ease my mind a bit. While I digress from the actual title, this is is relevant to my review of it. I LOVE how Magnus, Tessa, and Jem are intertwined in these stories and I look forward to seeing them in the future.

    This was a complicated tale; so many facets and levels to follow. Cassandra Clare could have ended it more bluntly, but I think it was much better having her give a complete and rounded epilogue. Some readers may feel it was too happy of an ending; however, I felt it to be deeply bittersweet. There is definitely something brewing on the horizon - Magnus has lived long enough to see history repeat itself...here an echo of mundane history - how the end of WWI led to WWII. The Clave is too shortsighted to see it and they will live through yet another.

    This was a long, twisting and turning journey (readers who may also have read Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows and thought there was too much wandering may feel the same here) and I am grateful for every moment spent with these wonderful characters. In addition, we received a gentle and genuine introduction to the characters in the next installment - The Dark Artifices. As Magnus and Izzy found a way to help Simon...I have a feeling Emma will find a way to adjust the parabati rule that is most distressing.

    Cassandra Clare's writing sweeps the reader into the lives of her characters as they strive to fulfill their quest. The way is harrowing - filled with surprises, turmoil, grief as well as wit, humor, joy, and love. I will be adding many quotes to my favorites.

    I LOVE Magnus, Simon, Zachariah, Izzy, Clary, and Jace!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    How to get blank pages to download

    Archive the book, turn off nook, turn back on, unarchive, and enjoy.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    HELP!

    I pre-ordered this months ago and was REALLY looking forward to reading it, but all I got is blank pages! I tried archiving then unarchiving and tried turning my nook off then on, but nothings working! Someone fix this!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Jess

    :*(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Dez to carr

    Well u culdve fooled me. Mis yolo rolls eyes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    This book dragged on and on. Over 500 pages of banter between c

    This book dragged on and on. Over 500 pages of banter between characters that could have easily been shortened into 300 pages of action. I found myself skimming over much of the dialogue to get to the important parts. Glad I made it to the end without just stopping reading all together. Obviously her next book is about Emma and the Blackthorn children who half of this book was wasted on talking about. Boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    :)

    Good story over all. But the writer spent to much time setting up her new series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    The story is good but I cannot stand Jason Dohring's narration.

    The story is good but I cannot stand Jason Dohring's narration. It's practically monotone. Sophie Turner does a wonderful job, but that just highlights what a poor job Jason Dohring does. I just stopped listening whenever he came on & picked up the book to read those parts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Mixed Feelings

    Mixed feeling about this...the ending was a nice touch though. Just disappoted that it seemed split in half between promoting the The Dark Artifices then the grand finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1