BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

City of Light

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Major Effort for First Time Writer

I am an acquaintance of the author and have to say that I was shocked by the depth of the struggles portrayed in this book. I read it because I know her, but I will read her other works in the future because I think she's a great talent. Reading 'City of Light' I was...
I am an acquaintance of the author and have to say that I was shocked by the depth of the struggles portrayed in this book. I read it because I know her, but I will read her other works in the future because I think she's a great talent. Reading 'City of Light' I was fascinated by American history in a way that I only wish I could have been when I was younger, as it was my least-favorite subject in school. The one area which I found lacking in this story was the denouement: in the end, what did it all mean? Louisa Barrett's character seems entirely too bridled by her own fears and the very real constraints of the time and I would have admired her much more for taking a stronger stance and doing something, anything, instead of ending the story in much the same place as where she began it. I guess it's a realistic depiction of a woman feeling powerless in the face of a regime of men, but I expected more. Where is the brave adventurer's spirit in this woman? Has her life taken it completely out of her? I do definitely recommend this book for anyone interested in the history of Buffalo, the lives of early 'captains of industry', and anyone who would like a peek into what life must have been like early in the century for a single working woman without the power of a husband or family to shield her. Sadly, it means that she was largely a puppet. However, I do recommend this book and hope to see further work from Lauren. Great first effort, impeccably researched and intelligently written, even though the ending was a bit of a disappointment. It was certainly better reading than 'The Devil Wears Prada', 'Shopgirl' and things of that ilk.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating history with love, a mystery, and political maneuverings

Immaculate historical detail about an era most of us know little about--Grover Cleveland, the beginnings of electricity, the debate over whether or not to allow Niagara Falls' waters to be used, the robber barons--and all interwoven with a mystery, a love story, and sin...
Immaculate historical detail about an era most of us know little about--Grover Cleveland, the beginnings of electricity, the debate over whether or not to allow Niagara Falls' waters to be used, the robber barons--and all interwoven with a mystery, a love story, and sinister machinations. I thoroughly enjoyed this!

posted by MapleValleyBrooke on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Major Effort for First Time Writer

    I am an acquaintance of the author and have to say that I was shocked by the depth of the struggles portrayed in this book. I read it because I know her, but I will read her other works in the future because I think she's a great talent. Reading 'City of Light' I was fascinated by American history in a way that I only wish I could have been when I was younger, as it was my least-favorite subject in school. The one area which I found lacking in this story was the denouement: in the end, what did it all mean? Louisa Barrett's character seems entirely too bridled by her own fears and the very real constraints of the time and I would have admired her much more for taking a stronger stance and doing something, anything, instead of ending the story in much the same place as where she began it. I guess it's a realistic depiction of a woman feeling powerless in the face of a regime of men, but I expected more. Where is the brave adventurer's spirit in this woman? Has her life taken it completely out of her? I do definitely recommend this book for anyone interested in the history of Buffalo, the lives of early 'captains of industry', and anyone who would like a peek into what life must have been like early in the century for a single working woman without the power of a husband or family to shield her. Sadly, it means that she was largely a puppet. However, I do recommend this book and hope to see further work from Lauren. Great first effort, impeccably researched and intelligently written, even though the ending was a bit of a disappointment. It was certainly better reading than 'The Devil Wears Prada', 'Shopgirl' and things of that ilk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Surprise plot!

    Good history of early days of the water powered electricity. Took about 100 pages to develop the characters and to get interesting. Once into the story, I enjoyed it. Those who like historical fiction should enjoy City of Light

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An entire course in the history of the region and social issues

    An entire course in the history of the region and social issues in the US during this era is contained within the pages of this novel. The story was almost the backdrop for the history instead of vice versa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had to read this book for an assignment in school. I felt that at times it was confusing trying to figure out which character was talking but all in all i thought it was a fairly good book. I liked the fact that it was placed in Buffalo where I live and it portrayed the city in a very positive way. Good book overall, I would strongly recomend it especially to those living in Buffalo and those who like history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Very good historical fiction

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The descriptions of Buffalo and Niagara Falls are amazing. The characters are well-developed and the story is very interesting with a very unusual ending. You feel like you are right there with the characters in Buffalo in 1901 right down to what they are wearing and the carriages they ride in and the places that they visit. It is suspenseful and very intelligently written. Also there is some interesting history of electricity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    Fascinating look at Buffalo in 1900

    Today, Buffalo and honeymoon destination Niagara Falls are synonymous. A century ago it was famous for America's first alternating current power facility and infamous for where President McKinley was assassinated. Powerful forces jockeyed to answer: is electric power a commercial product or public service. This is the book's subject as told by schoolmarm and headmistress Louisa Barrett. Her position brings her into the inner circle of Buffalo's elite, who sponsor her and make her their unwitting pawn. Her personal struggles move the book at a decent pace, but the power structure interplay is fascinating and makes this a recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    A little bit of everything

    Lauren Belfer¿s first novel City of Light is intriguing. She combines fact and fiction, excellent inspiration and romance, and most importantly mystery and history. Ms. Belfer¿s vivid description of location, scenes, scenery and characters, help the reader picture what is happening. While reading this novel, it seemed as if I was next to Louisa Barrett, the headmistress of the Macauley School for girls, as one of her students. The story revolves around controversy over Niagara Falls and the amount of water being taken for the nation¿s electricity. This affects not only the hydropower project and the environmentalists, but also Ms. Barrett and her connection with Tomas Sinclair, the head of the project. Despite the events in the city, there are suspicious, secretive `accidental deaths¿ which Louisa Barrett questions. At the turn of the century, being a woman, Louisa Barrett, is very well treated by an all-male school board. She is well respected and is considered no less of a man in terms of knowledge. She has a willingness to teach her students how to survive the 'man¿s world' at the time, she makes it her a duty to instill high values, she is persistent in working hard despite certain personal issues, she believes in what she teaches, and never gives up on others. She is a progressive woman and a strong character in the City of Light, someone the reader could learn from. City of Light is truly a great read, as it doesn¿t belong to a particular genre; it¿s a little bit of everything in one enlightening novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    A Sense of Place

    This book had a great sense of place - you got to feel what Buffalo might have been like and a great sense of the time period. The writing, at times, was excellent. I didn't think that it was too long, dry, or that the ending felt like 'so what.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    What Went wrong

    As a student in Buffalo, i read this book. It's a book that i highly recommend everyone to read. It shows how beautiful our city used to be. Buffalo was in the top 10 cities in the world. What happned to us? Why did the city go down the drain?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1