Customer Reviews for

City of Masks (Stravaganza Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    A Great Find

    I stumbled upon this book in my library, and it was a great find! It was very interesting, something that hasn't been done a thousand times. It has whimsical qualities; it's set mostly in Talia (which is like an alternate version of Venice, Italy) and is a world full of magic, masks, and traditions. (It reminds me a bit of 'The Thief Lord', they are both set in Venice and involve magic; so if you enjoyed that book i'm sure you will enjoy this one as well). This book is great for anyone looking for adventure; and the characters are well developed, there are true friendships not just fluffy romance. A great read, I will definitely be reading the rest of the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Wow

    Love thes book it is grat and a spenc bilding book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Amazing book and series

    I saw this at my school library and picked it up for the heck of it. I started reading it, and I couldn't put it down. It's a diamond in the rough, a fantastic book that no one has heard of, and if you read it you can be a hipster trendsetter and read an amazing series. I want more!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfull

    I was combing the libary one random afternoon and was really bored so i was going through ALL the shelves when i randomly picked this book up. I was instantly enthralled and am now a huge fan of the series. It has action, fantasy, intrugue, and everything you could ask for in a series. PICK IT UP AND READ IT NOW!!!!!!! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Amazing and Gripping adventure

    This book brings a normal boy fighting cancer in one world to another world for a second chance. Mary Hoffman's fantastic characters and amazing plot will have you dreaming about being there your self!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    Amazing!!!

    I picked this book up off my cousin's shelf one day and started to read it. I couldn't put it down until I had finished it, and now I refuse to give it back to her. I love this book and I am eagerly anticipating the rest of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    This was an amazing book!

    This book was one of the best books I have ever read. I checked it out of my school library because of its cool cover, but once I started reading it I could not put it down. Not even to eat dinner. I highly recommend this book. Mary Hoffman does an extrodinary job bringing this story to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    Stravaganza: City of my dreams.

    This is a great book. I won't spoil anything, but it has humor, excitement, and mystery. Highly reccomended, no matter what genre you like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    WOW!

    This book is a great book.I saw it at a book fair and I didn't buy it. I am so happy now. I am a fantsy girl and I love the way she put's this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is amazing! I first saw it at the book fair earlier in the year, but didn't get it. I checked it out of my school library a few days ago. Now I wonder why I didn't buy it. The way Mary Hoffman twisted the plot so many times kept me reading. I loved the book. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    Amazing...leaves you wanting so much more!

    This is a riveting, excellent, and enchanting book that truly anyone could love! Hoffman has the ability to excite her readers just as Rowling and Nix do. Her characters are so well woven into the plot that you feel as if you could reach out and touch them. If you are stuck in the midwest with all of the snow, this is the perfect book to snuggle up with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    Very Exciting

    I got into this book very quickly and i couldn't put it down. The characters are great and the plot is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    You can't stop reading it!

    This book was great, I read it straight through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Best thing since HP

    I can't believe it took me this long to pick the book off my shelf. I got the book for Christmas last year (2002), and here it is August of 2003 and I read it in a night. So bad that here I am at 2 AM leaving a review for it looking for the sequal that is apparently not out yet. I loved the book, everything clicks together in the end, and you're just sitting there, 'OHHHH! So that's why she told us that!' Mary Hoffman rivals JK Rowlings writing, but that's what you get with British authors. (Just joking.) Definatly a book for someone at least in 8th grade in my opinion, the kids are almost 16 in the book, and they think the same way. Not to mention that it's another realm of space and time which would be harder for a younger kid to read. I enjoyed it a lot, and I'm 17 so, it was definatly worth the late night. Easily something to quench your thirst for more Harry Potter, just the minor flaw that now I'm waiting for both installments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    One of the best books ever

    Really really good book, next to harry potter and the old kingdom books. Anyone who is really into exciting books should read this. Plot twisters the works. Keeps you into the book. I can't wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    wow!

    great book, it really gets the imagination going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    I absolutely love it!

    I really enjoyed this book and plan on getting a copy for myself A.S.A.P! I really got into it in just the first chapter, unlike a lot of books I've read where you get into it later on.. boring! I just couldn't stop reading it, and I was sad to finish it so soon. I hope there are more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Again and Again

    This book is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!! It made me read it again and again and agian! lol!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    WOW GREAT BOOK!!

    from what i've heard there is going to be another book after this i think it will be a trilogy!!!!! so this book was a very very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. The story is so good and I hope that Mary Hoffman wirtes another book to go along with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2