Customer Reviews for

City of Scoundrels: The 12 Days of Disaster That Gave Birth to Modern Chicago

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Photos are in the Nook edition

In a review I just wrote (but doesn't yet appear) I complained about a lack of photos that appeared in the hardbound version. I was wrong.

While the section appears several pages past where it is in the hardbound version, it is there. And it is even shown in the Table ...
In a review I just wrote (but doesn't yet appear) I complained about a lack of photos that appeared in the hardbound version. I was wrong.

While the section appears several pages past where it is in the hardbound version, it is there. And it is even shown in the Table of Contents (which I am sure I'd checked earlier but apparently not -- or there are pesky gremlins that sneaked it in after I complained)

So, consider my complaint withdrawn and I shall amend my initial review if possible (and when it appears) and add a star as I have done here.

posted by MNSnowman on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gary Krist has written an extremely detailed account of what he

Gary Krist has written an extremely detailed account of what he calls the twelve days in 1919 that changed and made the city of Chicago.  This involved a supposed "treat ride on the new Goodyear blimp" that was a disaster when it caught fire and fell ablaze in...
Gary Krist has written an extremely detailed account of what he calls the twelve days in 1919 that changed and made the city of Chicago.  This involved a supposed "treat ride on the new Goodyear blimp" that was a disaster when it caught fire and fell ablaze into the center of a popular Chicago bank; a transit strike that turned into a political battleground; race riots between the blacks that were making a new life for themselves in the north, and the whites who didn't want them there; and the murder of a six year old girl by a disturbed man. 




Krist tells this tale through detailed accounts of people's letters and journals, and accounts from newspapers and other first hand reports of the time.  For lovers of extensive histories of Chicago, I believe this book is a must read.  For historians of American politics, this reads like political battles of the present day.  But, perhaps for the casual reader, this was a bit long winded.  Some personal views of lovers or militia men, plus names of many of the victims from these different events were not truly necessary.  But, I believe this book was well done for exactly what it claims to be telling---the events that changed a city into the political being, and visual entity that it is today.

posted by RonnaL on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Photos are in the Nook edition

    In a review I just wrote (but doesn't yet appear) I complained about a lack of photos that appeared in the hardbound version. I was wrong.

    While the section appears several pages past where it is in the hardbound version, it is there. And it is even shown in the Table of Contents (which I am sure I'd checked earlier but apparently not -- or there are pesky gremlins that sneaked it in after I complained)

    So, consider my complaint withdrawn and I shall amend my initial review if possible (and when it appears) and add a star as I have done here.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    very interesting book outline, so naturally had to get the this

    very interesting book outline, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Very enjoyable Chicago history.

    This was an enjoyable, informative read. It is a look back at the city of Chicago in the first part of the last century. The book looks at a terrible time for the city, from a blimp crash into a bank in the loop, to a child's murder, to the worst race riot the city had seen. It also looks at the mayor's office and how glad handing and racial politics affected the response of the city to these problems.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Gary Krist has written an extremely detailed account of what he

    Gary Krist has written an extremely detailed account of what he calls the twelve days in 1919 that changed and made the city of Chicago.  This involved a supposed "treat ride on the new Goodyear blimp" that was a disaster when it caught fire and fell ablaze into the center of a popular Chicago bank; a transit strike that turned into a political battleground; race riots between the blacks that were making a new life for themselves in the north, and the whites who didn't want them there; and the murder of a six year old girl by a disturbed man. 




    Krist tells this tale through detailed accounts of people's letters and journals, and accounts from newspapers and other first hand reports of the time.  For lovers of extensive histories of Chicago, I believe this book is a must read.  For historians of American politics, this reads like political battles of the present day.  But, perhaps for the casual reader, this was a bit long winded.  Some personal views of lovers or militia men, plus names of many of the victims from these different events were not truly necessary.  But, I believe this book was well done for exactly what it claims to be telling---the events that changed a city into the political being, and visual entity that it is today.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Good Read

    Writing style can be a bit sensationalized - but its an interesting history of my most favorite and the best city in the Whole World - Sweet Home Chicago! well referenced

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I was born and raised in Chicago, I absolutely love everything about this city, except the cubs and northsiders! haha.... Iam always interested in anything having to do with city's history. Gary Krist does an excellent job of explaining the early part of the twentieth century in Chicago. There have been many books Ive read relating to this city's history, but I found this book to be extremely informative and introduced a lot of facts about Chicago's past that I never knew before

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Extremely interesting account of events I'd never even heard of

    Extremely interesting account of events I'd never even heard of before reading the book. It reads like fiction, I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Bums in the City

    Excellent!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Partially Interesting But Somewhat Laborious

    The book basically tells the story of several events which transpired during a short period of time in 1919 Chicago with Mr. Krist trying to tie them together. Although I applaud Mr. Krist's meticulous research, I found the book somewhat laborious and at times boring. I was originally attracted to this book because it covered the 1919 Wingfoot Dirigible disaster which I had never read anything about beyond newspaper accounts of the time. Although it did a fair job on this event, the book got bogged down talking extensively about Chicago Mayor William Thompson, his political career and battles with the governor of Illinois, and the city political scene. The coverage of the Chicago Race Riot was fairly done as well, but did not seem all that different from other sources I have read. I did find the inclusion of several eyewitness accounts from sources I did not know of to be interesting. If you want to read about the 1919 Chicago political landscape then you should find it of interest. It took me some time to get through it because of the detailed political information which caused me to put it down a few times while trying to read it. My overall rating, well, I would have to give this book a C+ and a so so recommendation for the reasons stated.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Really Good Book

    This book was very interesting. A little too much political stuff (which I usually like), but intriguing stories about the race riots, and blimp disaster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Tori

    Na youll like it to much.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Nookville moving to nookville all results

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    If your interest is in Chicago, you will enjoy its history

    Interesting if you like historical, political stories.I would give it a 3 star rating.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No Devil and the White City

    Book starts off strong but subject matter becomes less compelling as the book progresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Vfhfhfhxyvivthbkmybhkggu

    Bn ygbycfjfgbyvbhnrjtytyuijuhwuytjguvfgvrhh

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Review1335185993519

    This is a really nice book!1335185993519

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2