Customer Reviews for

City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive

Average Rating 3.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A great beginning!

A shorter story than what I was used to from Rollins, but it is basically just a primer/teaser for a new series that Rollins will be writing with Cantrell.

If you like Rollins you will definitely like where this new series appears to be going. His mix of science, my...
A shorter story than what I was used to from Rollins, but it is basically just a primer/teaser for a new series that Rollins will be writing with Cantrell.

If you like Rollins you will definitely like where this new series appears to be going. His mix of science, mystery, military and 'other', seems to mesh well with Cantrell's style. I have not read any books by Catrell before, but will certainly look her up now.

Basically a CSI team of special forces is how I would sum them up. They are sent to a murder/massacre scene at an archaeology site. Of course finding out what really happened and by who/what is the story.

Enjoy

posted by Rild on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

NO SAMPLE, NO BOOK!

posted by 8429876 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great beginning!

    A shorter story than what I was used to from Rollins, but it is basically just a primer/teaser for a new series that Rollins will be writing with Cantrell.

    If you like Rollins you will definitely like where this new series appears to be going. His mix of science, mystery, military and 'other', seems to mesh well with Cantrell's style. I have not read any books by Catrell before, but will certainly look her up now.

    Basically a CSI team of special forces is how I would sum them up. They are sent to a murder/massacre scene at an archaeology site. Of course finding out what really happened and by who/what is the story.

    Enjoy

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    If you┬┐re a James Rollins fan like I am, I jumped at the change

    If you’re a James Rollins fan like I am, I jumped at the change to review an exclusive short story called City of Screams. Things are happening right and left in the 60 pages that comprise this introduction to the full-length novel, Blood Gospel which you’ve got to find!
    Jordan Stone hears the screams coming from a small town in Afghanistan. He sees the girl lying terrified on the bed in the hut. He also sees her taken away by creatures that speak a language so old that virtually no one can translate it.
    What happens to Jordan and his crew and to the people in the succeeding chapters is what makes Rollins one of my favorite authors – you just never know what will happen. Just when you’ve got it all figured out nice and cozy he throws in something that really rocks you.
    Do yourself a huge favor – go get Blood Gospel, keep the lights on and cuddle up with an afghan to protect you and read this one!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Good intro to Sgt Stones team

    Good intro to Sgt Stone & preview of Blood Gospel. I can tell this is going to be more of a supernatural tale rather than just action/science story.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Great read. Keep them comomg!

    Another book that kept me up all night. Did not want to put it down. Rollins books always leaves me wanting more.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Do not buy

    While its billed as a short story, it's actually the first few chapters of the actual book! It sucks that instead of offering a free sample of the book, they are making you pay for it by having it seem like this is a separate short story. Very deceptive and not how they should be promoting books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good deal

    Rollins usually writes greats thrillers and stories. For 99¿ im still not surprised to see people complaining. Buy it, its cheaper than a pop at the gas station!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Anonymous

    NO SAMPLE, NO BOOK!

    7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    highly recommended must read

    i always want more

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Review

    No sample to read!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Good

    Great as always.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Precursor

    This is essentially the intro to one of the characters from Blood Gospel and it os a great intro. Can't wait for book two of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Exciting Thriller

    I love James Rollins so gave this book a try. Didn't know what to expect but the authors made a good team and kept you guessing to the very end. Finished it and and went on to purchase the next collaboration, The Blood Gospel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    City of screams

    This was a joke. Thirty pages? A rip off.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    I enjoyed this as I have all the James Rollins books I've read.

    I enjoyed this as I have all the James Rollins books I've read. :) The only con was that it was over too soon!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Great short story

    More great work from James Rollins

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Thought I was getting a full book. Love Rollins. Even though t

    Thought I was getting a full book. Love Rollins. Even though this is a short story , it was extremely good. The best part about it was that it introduced me to The Blood Gospel. After reading the intro for that, I had to order it. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Very Good Book

    Really enjoyed this book. ROllins has done it again. Moves along and tells a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Lala

    Chickens dont fly

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    It won't open. Just says it will be available on Oct 30.

    It won't open. Just says it will be available on Oct 30.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Love

    A quick prequel to Blood Gospel. Great short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4