Customer Reviews for

City of Souls (Signs of the Zodiac Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I hadn't really thought much of the title (I was just waiting for the 4th book :P), but in retrospect, it is rather fitting if you make the distinction as to what city is being referred to.

    I would say this book was not as good as the previous ones. Don't worry-it contained your favorite, or not so favorite, characters (with a HUGE twist) but it appeared to be lacking to me. We know the 4th sign of the Zodiac and of course Joanna figures it out; but once I finished the book, I felt cheated somehow. I was totally unimpressed with the ending and now I have no idea where the book is going. I get the feeling Joanna feels the same.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    City of Souls

    To be honest, I was disappointed in this book. In the other Zodiac Novels there was always a sense of freshness. Her ideas were new and almost completely her own. I felt as though this book was something that she rushed through and like she has no idea how to get from A Touch of Twilight to whatever book comes after a City of Souls. I truly like the beginning of the book, but the ending was a complete letdown. I hope that her next novel can pick up where A Touch of Twilight left off and that City of Souls is not the last of the Zodiac novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Arggg.... Story of a Super Zero!

    This series is extremely frustrating!

    I have read all four of the books so far and it just get worse and worse. Here we have a potentially great super heroine only to be disappointed over and over again.

    When we first start off with this character she is a tough, no-crap taken, butt-kicking, human. As the books progress she becomes a super heroine. You would think that would only make her tougher.....Not quite!

    As the books move one she does nothing but mess up over and over again, LOOSE power, whine, and try to do anything she can to fit into the Zodiac troop. I found myself several times hollering at the book for her to get her act together and grow some manly danglers. I expected at this point in the series we would have a super heroine that is a shadow of her former human self.

    I don't think I can take this series anymore.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Disappointing 4th book

    After the first 3 books which were all "page turners", this one dragged and dragged and dragged ....
    I was very disappointed in the book having lost interest by the 3rd chapter. The plot was transparent and the ending predictable. Definitely NOT up to Pettersson's prior standard.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    meh ...

    okay. i'm a little bitter today, but i must say i expected more from this book. having said that, the first three were really good so i'll forgive a slump by the author. the protagonist (joanna) was a little clueless in this book. unless the author's intent was to surprise us all (she didn't), her suspenseful build-up fell a little flat. and, also: if you're going to shock the audience the way this author tried to do, you'd better have a good reason and the story had better be awesome. by the time the truth was revealed, i had become so annoyed that i just didn't care. i just felt let down by an overly dense, metaphyical mystery that became so diffuse that it ended up being rather pointless. this main character had so many crises going on at once that i forgot a few at times and it felt as though they just kind of parachuted back hard into the story at the author's convenience. i really like this author's take on the zodiac, and i hope the next installment in the series is better or i'll just start getting these from the library. But wait, there's more!!! I had to come back and update this review, because I forgot my biggest problem with this book: Incorrect vocabulary/spelling. That is truly unforgivable, certainly for a publisher of this level. This author apparently doesn't know the meaning of the world "clamor," and uses it to mean "clamber." Wow. She had the protagonist "clamoring" into the back of a taxi cab, up a ledge, over a ditch ... you get the point. Truly unbelievable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9