Customer Reviews for

City Of Spirits

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Voodoo and Mystery in the Big Easy

I liked the French Quarter setting, the mystery, and the characters. The twisted though enjoyable plot kept me reading to the conclusion that I didn't see coming.

posted by Wilderinok on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

!

To the poster on aug 29, 2012... i take offense at your statement ' the deep racism that still exists in the south today'. Have you ever lived on the south? Racism goes both ways buddy and i see a hell of a lot more racism towards whites than ever was towards blacks. Ge...
To the poster on aug 29, 2012... i take offense at your statement ' the deep racism that still exists in the south today'. Have you ever lived on the south? Racism goes both ways buddy and i see a hell of a lot more racism towards whites than ever was towards blacks. Get your facts straight before you malign sn entire nation.

posted by 8888649 on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Voodoo and Mystery in the Big Easy

    I liked the French Quarter setting, the mystery, and the characters. The twisted though enjoyable plot kept me reading to the conclusion that I didn't see coming.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    In a city that takes on a life of its own, Wilder gives breathe

    In a city that takes on a life of its own, Wilder gives breathe to an edge-of-your seat tale full of plot twists, mystery, intricate characters, and romance in his novel City of Spirits. Set in New Orleans during the infamous Mardi Gras, Wilder captures the uniqueness and the spirit of a city that has a rich and diverse culture in a way that makes readers feel as if they are actually there eating some gumbo and drinking a Dixie. Through Wilder’s writing, the city comes alive for the reader in a way that few authors can achieve.

    While describing a city that is by no means perfect, yet better off for it, Wilder introduces the reader to an eclectic cast of characters, each with their own flaws and story lines. Mixed with voodoo, mysticism, murder and a good ole curse or two, the reader follows each character on their journey as they navigate the mysteries that unfold. Whether following Wyatt Thomas, the French quarter sleuth, as he strikes out to find the truth and fall madly in love, or N.O.P.D officer Tony, as he struggles through a personal crisis of his own as he chases a killer, there are times when you want to cheer for the characters and others where you wish they would get their act together. The book’s ending, one that I would never have guessed, does a good job of closing this chapter but leaves many of the characters’ storylines unresolved, which leaves the reader wanting more.

    Woven into the storyline are several real life topics, including the devastation of Hurricane Katrina, alcoholism, and the deep racism that can still be found in the South today. It brings a deeper meaning to the text and makes it all the more honest for the reader.

    As for the writing, there are several different story lines woven into this novel, yet Wilder does a great job of sealing them all together in the end. There is truly a lot going on in the novel, with many characters and twists and turns, which forces the reader to be active in the story as they follow the ups and downs. I found myself taking time with this book to keep up with the details, and I must admit I actually enjoyed the read better for that fact. It’s a book that drags you in and makes you become emotionally and mentally invested in the city and in the characters.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Well written. Great story line and real characters. I gravitate toward books set in New Orleans. This did not disappoint. Many threads to follow yet Mr. Wilder never loses you. I will read more Wilder books even if they are not based in New Orleans. I found a new author for me to enjoy and my intro to him could not of been better. Mystery. Life. Murder. Voodoo. History. Great setting. Could not ask for more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Loved it

    Cant believe this book was free!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    OMG! I loved this BOOK! I couldn't put it down from start to fin

    OMG! I loved this BOOK! I couldn't put it down from start to finish, wow amazing! It was nice to see Wyatt get some womanly action in this book, as he is forever the ladies man he doesn't sleep around and it was nice to see him in a sort of relationship atmosphere. I loved that this book takes place in the middle of Mardi Gras as the the sights and the goings on that Eric describes makes you feel as if you are in the think of it and partying along with the characters.

    In This book Wyatt Thomas Takes on a case of New Orleans most social elite Mr. Gordon Vallee. Someone is spreading nasty rumors that Mr. Vallee is a Passeblanc (half black and half white. Mr. Valle is pretty sure the person spreading the the rumor is his rival and ex-best friend Mr.Claude Sonnier. Sonnier has based his claim's on a ancient curse and the word of some 100 year old ghosts! never a dull moment in the Big Easy when Wyatt's on the case.

    Meanwhile Tony and the New Orleans Police are trying to track down a wanted F.B.I escaped criminal. He is almost 7 feet tall and on the loose killing people in New Orleans, and he has already put several people in the hospital, including Tony's partner Tommy. Tony is going to bring this guy down no matter if he has to beat everyone in town for information to do it, and no one is going to stop him.

    Amazing book I couldn't get enough of it! I never wanted the book to end! Eric is a master at creating a scene and making you feel like your living right in it. You can taste the food, hear the music, and feel the fear right along with the characters. Eric is a Master at what he does and I am on pins and needles to read his next Wyatt Thomas adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Great story

    Once you start this book, you will not be able to put it down. Love New Oleans? You will love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Wow!!

    Intense for a short read. Could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1