Customer Reviews for

The Civil War: An Illustrated History

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This book is amazing. It is comprehensive and well written. The photos enhance the subject matter. I have read other texts which have been interesting, yet harder to go through. This textbook covers the subject matter in a commendable manner. The material is enhanc...
This book is amazing. It is comprehensive and well written. The photos enhance the subject matter. I have read other texts which have been interesting, yet harder to go through. This textbook covers the subject matter in a commendable manner. The material is enhanced by actual individual accounts of the war. The read was fast-paced, I could not put the book down. I definitely would highly recommend this text to all interested in the history of the Civil War.

posted by 9538255 on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

GOOD Book for the subject dear to my heart

I feel this book was misrepresented on the review purchase page. Where are all the photographs and maps which were refered to. That was a major selling point which infuenced my purchase, I certainly feel cheated with this purchase. I love my Nook but occassionally we...
I feel this book was misrepresented on the review purchase page. Where are all the photographs and maps which were refered to. That was a major selling point which infuenced my purchase, I certainly feel cheated with this purchase. I love my Nook but occassionally we are getting Took!

posted by EddieW on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    GOOD Book for the subject dear to my heart

    I feel this book was misrepresented on the review purchase page. Where are all the photographs and maps which were refered to. That was a major selling point which infuenced my purchase, I certainly feel cheated with this purchase. I love my Nook but occassionally we are getting Took!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is amazing. It is comprehensive and well written. The photos enhance the subject matter. I have read other texts which have been interesting, yet harder to go through. This textbook covers the subject matter in a commendable manner. The material is enhanced by actual individual accounts of the war. The read was fast-paced, I could not put the book down. I definitely would highly recommend this text to all interested in the history of the Civil War.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Do Not Buy

    This book does not work. You only can get to page #3. Barnes&Noble provides suggestion to fix that do not work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Still can't get past page 3

    First post about this issue was August 2 - it is now August 17th and it still doesn't work -what's up with this B&N?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book on the Civil War to Date

    The Civil War from the perspective of those who fought it. One of the most interesting history books of all times. Wonderfully illustrated. A must-have for the Civil War buff.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    A MUST HAVE

    This book was easy to read and in sensible order. Not a lot of confusing descriptions of troop movements and numbers. The pictures are very crisp and animations were smooth. It also has a lot of information on lesser known "common" soldiers and nurses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Dddd

    Dddd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Great Book

    Very interesting book. Good read and the pictures help you connect with the actual people of the time. I also was unable to scroll past page 3. There seems to be a glitch in the program at that point. But all you have to do is pull up the bar at the bottom of the page and type in go to page 4 or whatever page you want. The program will take you to that page and you will be able to scroll forward from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    Love this!!

    Am a Civil War nut and this book is always great to have around

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    quite informative

    This book serves as the text boook for my schools Civil War class, the book has a lot of information on the diffrent aspects of the war and has a ton of pictures of the war and the people of the war. Plus the way the book is set up makes it easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A war that divided a nation.

    If you have any sort of interest in the Civil War at all then this is the book to gain all knowledge about this brutal war. Its beautiful photos really make you feel as if you are actually there yourself and give full details of just what the environments, uniforms and conditions soldiers faced. When I first started this book it began right about the time John Brown lead his attack on Harpers Ferry. From there it goes into a chapter that starts right about at 1861 called A House Divided. This chapter gives you the details of how the war was started and why it started in full detail and very historically accurate. This part of the book though is probably the slowest part of the book though from here on out you will be reading about the battles that took place in the war. But don¿t think that the only thing this book talks about is the battles. It talks about everything that went on with the civilians outside of the war and the politics of the war including, how the war was fought financially, Generals strategies and personalities, and a few other things that had to do with the war. Most of this book I seen through a narrator that is giving out the information but a few times in the story the narrator puts you in the shoes of a general by taking his personal quotes or thoughts about the certain situation. But aside from that you will be receiving all this from the author Geoffrey Ward. Geoffrey Ward does do a good job at making this suspenseful at times but most of the time he is just trying to tell you information. Aside from all the great writing and historic information this book and the historic accuracy of it the real thing you will love this book for is the many pictures. At the beginning of the book you will open up to few pictures of famous generals like Grant and Lee, and from then on almost every picture ever taken from the war is recorded in this book. I gave this book a perfect 5. It is sometimes unorganized but that is probably the only thing wrong with this book. The pictures are beautiful and there is plenty of information to keep you busy. It took me 2 weeks to finish this book front to back but you could just easily skip around and just read different chapters if you please since we all know the climax to the civil war anyways.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    great!

    This is a Great civil war book.. It has a good lay out that even 5th graders can understand.. I have read it word for word..it took all summer but it was worth it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    best civil war book

    This is a really really good book. i read mostly all of it it took me a while but it has detail, it shows you what the war was like i reccomend it for all ages and all levels of civil war knowladge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    Great Information

    The way the book is laid out is great. It has a lot of detailed information. There are a lot of really great pictures and illustrations. I love the brown/tin-type photos in real color rather than basic black and white. I highly recommend this book for any history lover, especially an avid Civil War buff like myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3