Customer Reviews for

Claim Me (Stark Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

"Claim Me" is the second installment to J. Kenner's St

"Claim Me" is the second installment to J. Kenner's Stark Trilogy and it definitely answered a few questions that I had from the first book.  The second book picks up from where the first book left off at, so if you have not read the first book, I definitely r...
"Claim Me" is the second installment to J. Kenner's Stark Trilogy and it definitely answered a few questions that I had from the first book.  The second book picks up from where the first book left off at, so if you have not read the first book, I definitely recommend it.

Nikki Fairchild is obsessed with Damien Stark and in the second installment the obsession has become even worst for her.  In fact, Damien has now become her pain reliever and Nikki has become his source to let out some stress.  They both are amazing together though.  Damien is finally opening up on what is going on in his life in "Claim Me" and Nikki is proving to be the strongest of the two.  I have come to admire Nikki even more in this book.  Here the woman is put through a whole lot of mess and she overcomes it all.  She almost stumbles, but she has proven she can overcome anything thrown at her.

If you have read "Release Me", you probably had a lot of questions on what was happening in Damien's head and what made him have so many secrets.  Slowly, but surely he begins to open up in the second installment.
He showed his possessive side more in this book as well, which could be found to be annoying to some people, but his motive behind it all will make your realize his intentions are for the greater good.
I loved everything in the second installment and now I look forward to even more the final book.  J. Kenner leaves you hanging at the end which makes me wonder what is going to happen next.  Are the characters going to ever have a happily ever after?
I want to know who is causing all the issues and I have a funny feeling I know who it is.
Poor Nikki not only goes through so much in this book, but her best friend, Jamie did as well.
Her other best friend, Ollie, I cannot figure him out, but in this book I did not like him.  I feel he is up to no good.
I loved how J. Kenner made Nikki stronger though in this book and made me hate Damien at points in the book where I wanted to hurt him for Nikki.  Damien though is nothing like Gideon Cross from the Cross novels by Sylvia Day.  In fact, Damien, is not one who plays games, he admires and loves Nikki.   He just has a very particular way of showing it.  I cannot compare him to Christian since I have not read the FSoG books and really tend not to read them anytime soon so I will not compare Damien to him.

J. Kenner's writing style is definitely different from other contemporary authors I have read, which makes me adore her even more.  She has a way of describing in detail that will make you feel you are there. She also makes you feel the emotions of the characters.  That is one writing style that makes it more appealing for me to read since I feel like the characters are real.

This book has a lot of angst, friendship blow ups, and lots, lots of HOT sexual scenes between Nikki and Damien.  The purple scarf on the cover of the book plays a very significant role in the book.  =)

I give this book 4.5 full moons and highly recommend it to contemporary romance and erotica readers out there.  This book is intended for 18+ mature audience though...just to warn you.

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

posted by FranJessca on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I

No need to buy the book thanks to all the plot spoilers giving away every detail of the book! (Insert heavy sarcasm here) thanks a lot!

posted by 8888649 on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    "Claim Me" is the second installment to J. Kenner's St

    "Claim Me" is the second installment to J. Kenner's Stark Trilogy and it definitely answered a few questions that I had from the first book.  The second book picks up from where the first book left off at, so if you have not read the first book, I definitely recommend it.

    Nikki Fairchild is obsessed with Damien Stark and in the second installment the obsession has become even worst for her.  In fact, Damien has now become her pain reliever and Nikki has become his source to let out some stress.  They both are amazing together though.  Damien is finally opening up on what is going on in his life in "Claim Me" and Nikki is proving to be the strongest of the two.  I have come to admire Nikki even more in this book.  Here the woman is put through a whole lot of mess and she overcomes it all.  She almost stumbles, but she has proven she can overcome anything thrown at her.

    If you have read "Release Me", you probably had a lot of questions on what was happening in Damien's head and what made him have so many secrets.  Slowly, but surely he begins to open up in the second installment.
    He showed his possessive side more in this book as well, which could be found to be annoying to some people, but his motive behind it all will make your realize his intentions are for the greater good.
    I loved everything in the second installment and now I look forward to even more the final book.  J. Kenner leaves you hanging at the end which makes me wonder what is going to happen next.  Are the characters going to ever have a happily ever after?
    I want to know who is causing all the issues and I have a funny feeling I know who it is.
    Poor Nikki not only goes through so much in this book, but her best friend, Jamie did as well.
    Her other best friend, Ollie, I cannot figure him out, but in this book I did not like him.  I feel he is up to no good.
    I loved how J. Kenner made Nikki stronger though in this book and made me hate Damien at points in the book where I wanted to hurt him for Nikki.  Damien though is nothing like Gideon Cross from the Cross novels by Sylvia Day.  In fact, Damien, is not one who plays games, he admires and loves Nikki.   He just has a very particular way of showing it.  I cannot compare him to Christian since I have not read the FSoG books and really tend not to read them anytime soon so I will not compare Damien to him.

    J. Kenner's writing style is definitely different from other contemporary authors I have read, which makes me adore her even more.  She has a way of describing in detail that will make you feel you are there. She also makes you feel the emotions of the characters.  That is one writing style that makes it more appealing for me to read since I feel like the characters are real.

    This book has a lot of angst, friendship blow ups, and lots, lots of HOT sexual scenes between Nikki and Damien.  The purple scarf on the cover of the book plays a very significant role in the book.  =)

    I give this book 4.5 full moons and highly recommend it to contemporary romance and erotica readers out there.  This book is intended for 18+ mature audience though...just to warn you.

    I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    When I first read Release me, I thought it was going to be anoth

    When I first read Release me, I thought it was going to be another, more cheap version of Fifty Shades.
     I was so wrong. It was so much more. Then I had to wait what felt like forever  for Claim Me to be release.
    My world stopped for about day and half while I devoured this book. I so enjoyed the story between Damien
    and Nikki. There was NO boring parts in this book. It was well written, well developed and very detailed.
    The sex scenes were hot  and erotic and to me, not too outlandish. I can't wait for the next book. Ten thumbs up!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful middle book that improves on its excellent predecess

    A wonderful middle book that improves on its excellent predecessor
     
     
     
    Nikki Fairchild and Damien Stark began their relationship as a game, where in return for one million dollars, Nikki agreed to not only
    pose for a nude portrait but to also belong to Damien, body and soul, for the span of time it takes for the portrait to be completed. But
    now that the time, and presumably the game, has ended, is their emotional connection strong enough to continue? 

    “Release Me”, the first book in the Stark trilogy, was the story of how two reinvented people found the one person who could help heal
    past emotional wounds. “Claim Me” shows what happens after the artificial boundaries of their original agreement fall away and how
    what remains will either make their love stronger or break them apart forever.

    We found out in “Release Me” how Nikki had been emotionally and physically scarred by her mother’s relentless pursuit of molding her
    daughters into vessels for her own ambition. That ambition had killed Nikki’s sister, and had taken all of Nikki’s determination and will
    to survive on her own. As she became more open and trusting with Damien, he was able to show her that love didn't have to hurt, at
    least not permanently. As “Claim Me” begins, we see how Damien’s past secrets are even more damaging and painful to him, and by
    extension, to Nikki as their relationship becomes public. Secrets this awful can’t stay buried forever, and as they emerge, it will be Nikki
    who provides her hard-won strength to Damien in a way that neither he nor the reader could have possibly predicted.

    Once again, J. Kenner has moved the Stark trilogy well beyond the BDSM Billionaire trope into something more compelling and
    meaningful. “Claim Me” is a tale of two strong willed personalities who may have come together under somewhat less than noble
    circumstances but have since cemented a mutual love partnership where each holds the other up when they fall, no matter what.
    The previous foreshadowing of terrible events to come was nothing compared to what Damien and Nikki suffer, yet the growing
    strength of their love and trust kept me confident that they would ultimately prevail. I especially loved how the author handled the one
    giant moment of doubt that I could see coming toward the end of the book, and she earned every one of my sad/happy tears by the final
    page.

    “Claim Me” is that rare and wonderful middle book that actually improves on the excellent predecessor in a romantic trilogy. Once
    again, J. Kenner pulls off the unlikely feat of providing a cliffhanger with closure, where the reader is still keen to know what happens
    next, but not angry at being left hanging in the middle of an incomplete scene. I’m fully vested in Damien and Nikki’s future, and trust
    that the final book “Complete Me” will provide the Happy Ever After ending they and we deserve.

    Ratings:

    Overall: 5
    Sensuality level: 4 (light BDSM, semi-public sex, discussion of child sexual abuse)

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    This is the second book in the series about Damien and Nikki. Y

    This is the second book in the series about Damien and Nikki.
    You don't need to have read the first to get emotionally involved with this couple.
    Yes, there are several erotic scenes but there are also a few strong personal issues going on.
    Nikki continues to grow as a confident woman in this book.
    Damien is a little disappointing because he struggles with sharing and opening his life to her.
    They have some issues to work out between them. And most importantly, I want to know how this turns out, so am looking forward to reading the third book in this trilogy.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    This is the second instalment in the Stark Trilogy and it was ju

    This is the second instalment in the Stark Trilogy and it was just as good as the first one, I can't wait to find out what happens in the next one - thankfully the release date has been moved forward a little so I don't need to wait.

    Yes this is another trilogy that fits into the deviant billionaire being paired with a more innocent female, dark pasts & lots of angst and commitment issues. To me, this is one of the good ones!

    Damien is sexy and rich with a dark and troubled past - in Claim Me we get to know him a little better, his secrets are starting to unravel and to be honest I enjoyed getting to know him a bit better. Nikki, is a very bright girl who has mastered the art of hiding herself behind a mask. Her perfect mask is starting to crack thanks to all the hits she has been taking publicly, in private she is starting to crumble a little too, it's nice to see her backbone strengthen a little.

    I did enjoy this one, there was a good amount of character development and I love the way the plot is going. It will be interesting to see what happens in book 3, I have a few idea's about who may be behind recent goings on and I can't wait to see if Julie can surprise me!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Claim Me, the second book in the Stark Trilogy has officially

    Claim Me, the second book in the Stark Trilogy has officially hooked me on this series!! I love how we are slowly getting to know Damien's secrets and in this book we get a HUGE secret revealed and it leads the way for a great opening to book three, which I will have to wait (not so patiently) for. One of the things I am enjoying the most about this series is how Damien and Nikki's relationship is solid. There is really no back and forth/on again off again with them. Yes, they have their fair share of problems but they for most part stand side by side and face them, like a couple in a real relationship should. On a side note, I also want to mention that while most of the secondary characters in this book are pretty easy to like, Evelyn is my absolute favorite!!! I love her and would love to have someone like her that I could talk to!
    Definitely, definitely recommend that you give this series a try, but make sure you start with book 1, Release Me!!! I received an ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    A sensual story of love and hate/betrayal and trust:  REVIEW: Cl

    A sensual story of love and hate/betrayal and trust:  REVIEW: Claim Me is the second storyline in J.Kenner’s erotic romance Stark Trilogy focusing on billionaire Damien Stark and his obsession and need for Nikki Fairchild. In the previous storyline, Damien had offered Nikki one million dollars to pose for an erotic portrait that was to be kept in the privacy of his home, but Damien’s need and passion for the beautiful but scarred woman turns his private and public world upside down. Where once he offered Nikki one week of exclusivity he now wants a lifetime of promises that neither one may be able to keep. And when the art world is turned on its head with innuendo and rumors, Nikki and Damien will become the center of controversy and tabloid fodder filled with lies, deceit, murder and revenge.
    Throughout Claim Me, we follow as the relationship between Damien and Nikki fast approaches a need so strong that Damien fears that without his Nikki he is less than worthy. But there are secrets from each of their pasts that threaten the relationship. Nikki accepts that Damien needs time but time is not necessarily on their side. When the walls begin to crumble, Damien will reveal that there is much more to his life than acquisitions and mergers. The pain and anguish from his childhood continue to haunt him and will become the focus of an international investigation that could spell the ruin of Stark Industries and the end to Nikki and Damien.
    J. Kenner brings together a storyline in the similar stylings of E.L.James, Sylvia Day and Lisa Renee Jones. The bad boy billionaire with a secret life of family problems and abuse; and a heroine who is scarred both inside and out will again be familiar to fans of this genre. We are pulled into a fairy tale of the rich and famous only to discover that being rich and famous comes with more heartache and sorrow than anyone could ever have imagined. A beautiful mask does not necessary hide a broken heart and proves that no one is safe from the ugliness of abuse and greed. Everyone deals with pain in a different way.
    Plenty of background information into Nikki and Damien’s lives is revealed as they are both forced to confront the demons from the past. Sometimes it is better to say goodbye than to allow family to bring you down. But it may be too late for Damien when his father sets into motion a blackmail scheme that will force a face to face confrontation between father and son, open up a decades old investigation and necessitate a last minute confession that takes Nikki by surprise.
    J. Kenner has written a sensual story of love and hate, betrayal and trust, revenge and greed. Claim Me will pull the reader into a storyline of dark family secrets, vengeful parents and open our eyes to the truth about what goes on behind the scenes when a successful child becomes a parent’s key to fame and fortune. It is a story of love between two people so badly damaged that no matter what you are rooting for them to stay together-forever.
    “You are my blood.”
    “Without you, I’m nothing but a shell.”

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    It is a must read

    I really enjoy the story of Damien and Nikki. If you liked bared on me you will love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    UNBELIEVABLE

    Unbelievable! Once again another great hit and cant wait for book three to come out. Loved the sex, drama, thrills and suspense.... I love how these charactors came to life and how hard it was to put this book down.

    Every chapter draws you into the nect chapter. Damian and Nikki are hot hot hot and man I WANT A DAMIAN.

    Excellent book, would highly recommend YOU get it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Disappointed

    The characters in this secondbook lacked story, it was all repetative sex. It never got back on track until 3/4 through the book. Book one was so good building there characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    4

    It was a little slow going for me at first, but then the story took off. Part of the reason it felt so impersonal was that I just couldn't feel a strong enough love connection with the characters. Plus, Nikki came across as weak unless she had a Damien.Towards the middle and end, I finally felt it, although I would've liked even more. In the next novel, I hope Kenner rewards Nikki's fierce loyalty and I hope Nikki's strength extends to herself as well. Because while I loved that Nikki stood by her man,many people have wronged her too. I'd like to see Nikki kick a little ass of her own in the final novel. I'd also like to see her own successes, without the help of Damien. A little girl power would impress me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    I

    No need to buy the book thanks to all the plot spoilers giving away every detail of the book! (Insert heavy sarcasm here) thanks a lot!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Nikki and Damien begin right where they left off in book one! I

    Nikki and Damien begin right where they left off in book one! I couldn't put this one down! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Loved then hated

    This series was great until i got half way into the second book then it just got boring. The steamy scenes stopped being steamy because they were worded the same way every time. There wasnt really anything exciting or mysterious to look forward too. I really just finished the series out becaused i felt like i needed too, didnt want too, but needed too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    The Second Book in the Stark Trilogy, just as great as the first

    The Second Book in the Stark Trilogy, just as great as the first. This book was hard to put down. I absolutely loved it and look forward to
     the next in the Trilogy. 

    Damien Stark as we know has a past that hurts him and he's used his pain to make something of himself. He's actually become quite
    the billionaire. But all the money in the world couldn't prepare him for Nikki Fairchild. 

    Nikki fled from her mothers grasp as soon as she could. All the things her mother did robbed Nikki of her childhood as it did her sisters.
    With the passing of her sister Nikki couldn't hold herself together anymore and dealt with her pain in a much different fashion than did
    Damien. But Nikki is smart. She has the ability to make something of herself and has just begun to work towards that goal and with the
    help of Damien she might just be able to succeed and finally believe in herself. But can she deal with the truth of Damien's past? Will
    the truth break her and push her away or will it only strengthen their very powerful love that they have yet to even realize during their
    times of need. 

    They use each other for what feels good. They are each others backbone with things get tough. But will Damien let Nikki in so she can
    be there for him as much as he is for her, or will he ultimately push her away losing possibly losing the one person he has come to
    love so much....

    This book contains a large amount of sexual content and is in my opinion based around the very sexual and powerful relationship of
    Damien Stark and Nikki Fairchild.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you're into Fifty Shades of Grey & The Bared to You trilo

    If you're into Fifty Shades of Grey & The Bared to You trilogy then you will love this book. While I did find the plot eerily familiar to both novels (Fifty Shades & Bared to You), the characters and sensuality were good in their own right. I did think the plot could have used a bit more depth, but in the end I found myself happy to have read it. Now on to the third book in the series to see how it ends! B+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Great Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Stark Trilogy. They are well written and kept you captivated to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    I was interested in the first book...the love, passion, yada yad

    I was interested in the first book...the love, passion, yada yada but then we got to book 2 and well all the "electricity" that this woman feels as soon as Damien enters the room is past pathetic.  The scenes were pretty hot but it got to be so much that I just found myself skipping though most of it. So that left reading about 3 pages and skipping 5.  

    Just finished the third book as well, and if you are thinking about reading book 2, save yourself the time and money from being dragged to read book 2 and 3.  I usually hate these trilogy books because I think the author gets bored and just write about pure crap and that is exactly what happens.  I read the third one just because I wanted to see how this pathetic love story ended and sure enough, there is another one to follow.  The last one, I HOPE, is only 93 pages and its seems just about as stupid as 2 and 3.  

    Damien and his heat, and Nikki with her stupidity on not being able to see a piece of glass without wanting to cut herself or the pleasure she feels from her "nails digging into her skin".  Whoever says she is growing stronger as a woman in these books needs to reevaluate what their idea of a strong woman is.  Because this excuse of a woman, who needs Damien to stop herself from cutting and to basically save her from the world is disturbing. Save yourself the time, I wish I had when I started this trilogy of stupidity.  I hate that feeling of wanting to get to the end because in this very case it was extremely disappointing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Great series

    Great read and very hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16