Customer Reviews for

Claimed

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Second book in an exciting series!

4.5 Stars Amazing new take on vampires, Ms. Zanetti's vampires are innovative and exciting! Emma Paulsen has been on the run for weeks. She is trying to escape the Kurjans and now also the Vampires. During her work as a geneticist she discovers that she isn't researchin...
4.5 Stars Amazing new take on vampires, Ms. Zanetti's vampires are innovative and exciting! Emma Paulsen has been on the run for weeks. She is trying to escape the Kurjans and now also the Vampires. During her work as a geneticist she discovers that she isn't researching a cure for cancer but something more sinister. Grabbing her research and running is her only option. A race of evil beings called Kurjans are hunting her down for more than her research though. While on the run she discovers another race of beings, the Vampires, enemies of the Kurjans. Unknown to her, one particular vampire wants more than the stolen research; he wants her as his mate. For several centuries Dage Kayrs has dreamed of his mate; her face, her body, her warm embrace. Now he knows she is out there and he is determined to find her. Not only to save her from the Kurjans, but to save himself. As King of the Realm he needs her to complete him. He knows she will be a hard woman to claim, but he is determined to have her anyways. This is the second book in Ms. Zanetti's exciting new series. Her universe of vampires is refreshing and exhilarating. These are probably the most human vampires I have read about. While they have elements of some of my favorite vampires, they are in a class all their own. Both the Vampires and the Kurjans can only be male, so they have to look outside their race to find mates, but only certain females will work. They need females with physic abilities. The Kurjans have developed a virus that attacks the mates of the Vampires. Emma is in a race to find a cure to save both her sister and her unborn nephew. This series has a strong undercurrent of adventure, almost overshadowing the romance. The medical lingo and background does not take away from the general story, but enhances it. Ms. Zanetti has developed an engaging and exciting new world. The males in this series are a hard group to love. They are extremely alpha and exasperating at times. Their raw masculinity and power draw you in and holds on tight. Luckily the heroines are just as strong and know how to bring these big brutes to their knees. If you are looking for a new adventure in the paranormal world, look no further then this new series. Fated and Claimed both have heart pounding action and sizzling chemistry, what more can you ask for!

posted by TSteiner on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Book 2 in a series

Rebecca Zanetti introduced the world of her Dark Protector series in book one, Fated. I did not read that book and it was detrimental to my enjoyment of Claimed, which is book two in the series. I was confused from page one because the story begins in the middle of an a...
Rebecca Zanetti introduced the world of her Dark Protector series in book one, Fated. I did not read that book and it was detrimental to my enjoyment of Claimed, which is book two in the series. I was confused from page one because the story begins in the middle of an action scene that I’m assuming began toward the end of book one.

I eventually caught up with the action, but I never really connected with the heroine, Emma. There is a reason for that. Emma has been dreaming of her death for years. She wants to avoid it and works hard to combat her future relationship with Dage in hopes of preventing her predestined future from occurring. Her behavior was nerve-wracking and irritating and killed the compassion I had for her.

Dage, Emma’s hero, is the ultimate alpha vampire. He is all about protecting his woman and God help any being who gets in his way. Dage also has the welfare of the Realm to consider. (Consider him as king of the good vampires.) Every one of his actions is calculated, but he cannot calculate everything—like the love and sexual attraction he feels for his mate. The woman he’s been waiting for over 300 years.

There are several things taking place in Claimed. It’s first and foremost a love story. People who read the first book will be pleased to know it includes an update on the romance introduced in Fated. It also continues an overall story arc involving Emma’s niece and book one’s daughter. Most interesting is the blistering sex. Whew, it’s good stuff.

Claimed is extremely erotic. It is a continuation of a plot introduced in the book Fated and leaves several plot lines open to be explored in future books. A novella, Tempted, will be released in March 2012, and book three, Hunted, will be released in May 2012. According to Zanetti’s website there are five full length novels and one short story scheduled for the series.

posted by ScooperSpeaks on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another enjoyable book in this action packed series that has bec

    Another enjoyable book in this action packed series that has become a guilty pleasure for me.  Why guilty?  Because at times I can hear my inner feminist screaming in the back of my mind that these characters are awful examples for women’s rights.  I should not be reading this, the lessons it teaches about how to treat women are all wrong.  Wrong.  I would never tolerate or associate with men that really behaved like the ones in this book.  The women are just as bad, not making a stand against the men at all, or they do and then cave with out any fight at all.  They also use sex as a weapon in the book to manipulate and get what they want.  All really bad examples of how to interact with other people we love and respect.  The characters themselves know their behavior is wrong and that it should not be tolerated, but then confess that the men are not going to change.  They have a caveman like approach to relationships and the women just need to get used to it.  Really, really awful if you think to deeply about it.  I also realize that this is a common complaint about the types of books that I read, and maybe romance books in general.  This series just seems to be a stronger example of the stereo types in this genre than others I’ve read.




    So why am I reading the series, and I am going to be reading them all. Because I have decided to not think to deeply about it.  It is still a fun sexy read.  Like the women in the book I’m choosing to overlook a lot of bad behavior.  After all it is just fiction, and there is something that can be learned from a bad example as well as a good one.  The story isn’t all bad examples though.  We do see a group of brothers that are there for each other and defend them and their mates to the end, the support of friends and family in this series is remarkable.  They are also very accepting of each other and the different species in this world, despite the fact that they are going to war.  They all are working together towards a greater good, after they find peace I hope they continue to work together to bring the men out of the stone age.  There is also real love in the relationships.  It happens quickly, but that is a common theme in paranormal books, but once the men fall for or are mated to these women they do cherish them and would give up their lives to protect them.  They become complete once they find their mates.  Yes, codependency is rampant in this world…




    Sometimes we just need to escape, and that is what this series does really well.  We get a serious situation with plenty of drama and some fierce alpha men along with a steamy romance.  It fills that inner desire to be swept off our feet and to become something so precious to someone that they go to any end to posses and protect you.  After all don’t we all want to be the center of someone’s universe?  Don’t we all want love?  Granted in a much healthier way, but in a book the type of relationships this series is portraying is fine, in real life all of these characters should be in counseling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Dr. Emma Paulsen, a brillant geneticist, is used to running to p

    Dr. Emma Paulsen, a brillant geneticist, is used to running to protect her family from danger. Emma has for years from visions of the future that included silver eyed man and explosions leading to her death. Kurjans want the mates of Vampires for themselves creating a virus and catalyst to ensure this completely. Dage Kayr is King of the Realm, has been waiting three centuries for his mate and isn't going to let her stubborn ways get in the way of their true happiness. There is a traitor amongst them no telling what information has been traded. Emma and Kane are feverishly working on a way to stop the virus and catalyst with little success so far. Conn's mate Moira, a powerful witch, made hold the key to curing the virus and stopping the catalyst too. Dage is trying to hold the kingdom together but lately he cares little for diplomacy or politics. He'd much rather spend time with his mate. Is there a cure for the virus and catalyst? Will Kurjans be stopped? Who is the traitor? Will Emma admit she loves Dage? Can Moira help? Your answers await you in Claimed.




    This series is just beginning to heat up in it's war with Kurjans. Dage's need for Emma is all about balance. Both have visions of the future but neither is willing to share their information with the other one. Hints as to what prophecy is beginning to show through the story arc. Looking forward to the next book in the series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    Just keeps getting better!  If other readers out there are anyt

    Just keeps getting better! 

    If other readers out there are anything like me, you always want to see the self- sacrificing, “don’t f**k with me, I am the leader here”, King of the Realm, taken to his knees by a sassy, “don’t tell me what to do, or I’ll kick your butt”, woman!
    NO....oh well, I do! 
    And this story is all that and a whole lot more! While the war is heating up and mates are at risk, the ruler and oldest Kayrs brother will be blindsided by the one thing he can’t control – fate!
    Hold onto your seats, it’s gonna be a bumpy ride; but a whole lot of delicious Vampire male may just make submitting worth it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Truely am enjoying this series and highly recommend it to all wh

    Truely am enjoying this series and highly recommend it to all who enjoy paranormal romances that include mystery and adventure. Can't put them down, just bought the next 3 books in the series.I recommend reading them in order due to the developing back story. Fated, Claimed, Tempted, Hunted, Consumed, Provoked, Twisted and Shadowed are all available now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Emma's story

    Good story...Emma is strong as is Dage, who is an Alpha male.Yes, he is over bearing and arrogant, but he also loves deeply and protects those he loves. Emma is more than his match. And Janie is still the puzzle piece that keeps you wanting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great sequel, series is a must read

    Claimed is the sequel to “Fated”, this book literally picks up right where the last one left off. The flow is so great with these books. This series has a strong undercurrent of adventure and mystery which almost overshadows the romance. The medical lingo and background does not take away from the general story, but enhances it. Just like its predecessor this book had no problem with keeping me in the many plots going on. It is very well developed and is detailed enough to make sure you’re in the story but not drowning. I enjoyed the depths of the characters as well, there is a constant reminder that Emma depends on one but herself, and takes care of everyone while Dage is split between being King and being a man. Emma and Dage burn through each and every page! His push and her pull creating an incredible friction that lights the page on fire! The climax of this book had me on the edge waiting to fall over, and it did not disappoint. I highly recommend Claimed if you are a Paranormal Romance fan who loves a fast paced novel with tons of action, angry sexing, strong heroines, many uber Alpha males and a great plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    OMG you have to read this series. This is the second book. "Fated" is the first. I promise you will love this book. Dage is a hot alpha male and Emma is a great match or should I say mate for him. Hot love scenes and a good romance. Rebecca Zanetti is an author to watch for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1