Customer Reviews for

Claimed by Shadow (Cassie Palmer Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 322 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC SERIES

I loved Touch the Dark, and the ending left me looking forward to reading more about psychic Cassie Palmer's adventures. I was very excited to discover that there was a sequel, and that it picks up a lot of the threads I enjoyed in the first installment and runs with th...
I loved Touch the Dark, and the ending left me looking forward to reading more about psychic Cassie Palmer's adventures. I was very excited to discover that there was a sequel, and that it picks up a lot of the threads I enjoyed in the first installment and runs with them.
When the book opens, Cassie is trying to get rid of the powers that were thrust upon her at the end of Touch the Dark. She's the new, and very reluctant, pythia, the magical community's head seer. But the power that comes with the office makes her a target for everybody from assassin war mages to vampires to the former leading contender for the role, a seer named Myra. Cassie isn't interested in power-she'd prefer to save her skin. But while she tries to figure out how to decline the position, Myra has come up with a clever plan to remove her competition-permanently.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the best but not the worse

The books was a good read but not worth saving to read again. I am reading the third book right now but after each one I finish I give it to the local library. I have heard some people compare Karen Chance to other authors Like Laurell K Hamilton but I don't see it. Lau...
The books was a good read but not worth saving to read again. I am reading the third book right now but after each one I finish I give it to the local library. I have heard some people compare Karen Chance to other authors Like Laurell K Hamilton but I don't see it. Laurell K Hamiltons books are worth saving to read and re read over and over. Karen Chances books are not. Though I would suggest reading. Just not worth buying. Barrow them.

posted by Dizzietese on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC SERIES

    I loved Touch the Dark, and the ending left me looking forward to reading more about psychic Cassie Palmer's adventures. I was very excited to discover that there was a sequel, and that it picks up a lot of the threads I enjoyed in the first installment and runs with them.
    When the book opens, Cassie is trying to get rid of the powers that were thrust upon her at the end of Touch the Dark. She's the new, and very reluctant, pythia, the magical community's head seer. But the power that comes with the office makes her a target for everybody from assassin war mages to vampires to the former leading contender for the role, a seer named Myra. Cassie isn't interested in power-she'd prefer to save her skin. But while she tries to figure out how to decline the position, Myra has come up with a clever plan to remove her competition-permanently.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    Great Series!

    I hope Karen Chance continues to write this series for a very long time. This is a character that I love and hope to see for many years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    Karen Chance's Cassandra Palmer series has me hooked. Since, I've gone through each and every one of the Cassandra Palmer novels I can honestly say that her characters are dynamic and grow with each new addition! Karen Chance never lets you down and each time I open a new book of hers I feel like I've stepped into a wonderful world. I highly recommend the series and the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great writer of supernatural fantasy

    The Pythia is the earth¿s most powerful clairvoyant, but it is the power of the title that chooses the heir. Although Cassandra Palmer¿s mentor was out of the running for the position because she did something horrific, the vampire Mercia believed Cassandra would be the one. Mercia places a geas on his ward to drive men away so that the young woman can be the Pythia since the ritual needs a virgin when it starts and someone Mercia chooses to complete the power by making love -------------------- The Sylver Circle, a coven of mages, and the Senate, who represent the vampires, want to control Cassandra who was brought up in a vampiric court. Thus the vamps assume she will turn to them to guide her, but Cassandra is her own woman and plans to control her destiny especially if she can find the one male who she can mate with so she can complete the ritual and become the Pythia. Cassandra follows Myra, the initiate who flunked out, back in time to 1888 England and into the realm of Fairy as she knows she will only be safe if her enemy dies though all she wants to do is neutralize her jealous foe.---------------- Karen Chance is a great writer of supernatural fantasy that is on a par with the works of Kim Harrison, Charlaine Harris and Kelly Armstrong. Her heroine is one of the most powerful women in the sub-genre as she makes her own way with a deep desire to use her powers do it her way guided by her ethics. There is so much action in CLAIMED BY SHADOW that readers will never stop until finished as we must know what happens next to Cassandra.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I liked Touch the Dark, the first in this series, but it had a bit of "first book syndrome". I still enjoyed it (the world building was interesting, just too much of it) but this book has none of the issues of the first and is even more fun as a result. Like all the books in this series (I've read them all now) it's funny, action-packed and has a great plot. I can't wait for book 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Loved it!

    I could not put this series down. It was never slow always changing and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    Never a dull moment

    in the life of Cassie Palmer! Claimed by Shadow is the second in a (so far) 4 book set about time trveling clairvoyant Cassie. Don't let the time-travel put you off. I don't usually like time-travel books because few people do it well but Chance does and it's a great read. This is one of my favorites in a series that doesn't have a dud. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Take a Chance on Chance

    If you like Paranormal, Karen Chance is someone you should read. Her story line is different, her characters are multi fauceted individuals and the action keeps going. This book (Book 2) has been my favorite out the 4 currently out. This one has a little more creativity, some colorful scenes, and action to the binding. Try the others in the series as well... Take a chance with Karen chance it is worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another excellent paranormal urban fantasy!

    Cassandra Palmer is the next hip chick of paranormal.

    Anita Blake, you've got company in town!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Loved this book

    I got a good deal on this book and bought it figuring I would read it after I bought the first book. Well, I ran out of things to read and the bookstore didn't have Touch the dark so I went ahead and read this book. I loved it! I was still able to enjoy the story even though I had not read book 1 yet. Can hardly wait to read books 1 and 3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Outstanding sequel

    I just read and loved Touch the Dark, and immediately went out and bought the sequel. It was every bit as good as the first, and maybe better. It isn t a mindless paranormal romance, like I initially thought, which is why I didn't buy these when they first came out. The back cover copy was misleading. These books are among the best fantasies I've ever read: fun, irreverent, tongue firmly in cheek at times, and yet oddly poignant at others. I can't recommend this series highly enough, and am waiting very impatiently for Embrace the Night, book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Great sequel to Touch the Dark

    I loved Touch the Dark, and was very happy to discover that it had a sequel. Psychic Cassie Palmer is back and her world is as dangerous, as crazy and as fun as ever! Cassie became heir to the pythia, the world's chief clairvoyant, in book one, and is doing everything she can to get rid of that unwanted position. It makes her a target for all sorts of supernatural bad guys, with the most dangerous on the list another seer named Myra. Myra wants the job Cassie is so anxious to get rid of, and her idea of the best way to do that is to kill her rival. Cassie has to find and deal with Myra, and to do this, she needs to travel to Faerie. Unfortunately, the only person able to help her get there is Pritkin, a war mage from book one who had been anything but Cassie's admirer. He doesn't like Myra, either, but Cassie fears he may help her to defeat Myra only to turn on her himself. But without his help, she has no idea how to get into Faerie. This book hits so many of the elements that I love in a novel-interesting, well-rounded characters, dark overtones but with humorous moments, too, a feisty heroine who makes mistakes (but for all the right reasons), a touch of romance, and a fast-paced, fun storyline. I am waiting breathlessly for the third in the series, Embrace the Night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Good Read

    I love this series, I just wish there were more published already. It's smart, funny, and gripping from first to last. More, please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Great Book

    I love the storyline, it's a great book! Pick it up and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8