Customer Reviews for

Claiming His Own (Harlequin Desire Series #2265)

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    I loved the way Olivia Gates wrote Claiming His Own. Maksim and

    I loved the way Olivia Gates wrote Claiming His Own. Maksim and Caliope seemed to have everything go wrong in their lives, so it was
    only fair that they get a Happily Ever After, once they worked things out and started actually speaking to each other

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Claiming His Own is an emotional read with a strong heroine and

    Claiming His Own is an emotional read with a strong heroine and an alpha hero who, despite himself, despite conflicts with the heroine, and despite all other circumstances, is passionately and unwaveringly in love with her. The author brings the tears, and she brings the heat.  Most of all, she brings the love that dries the readers' tears and makes everything better again.

    Caliope Sarantos lives in the shadow of her mother's weakness for Cali's father, who showed up in their lives only long enough to impregnate Cali's mother and spend all the money she had scraped and earned for her children before he left them again to fend for themselves.  He left the family for the last time just before Cali's birth.  As a result, she is determined that she will never be her mother; she will never be emotionally vulnerable to a man.  To her, commitment is nothing more than a setup for mediocrity and disappointment. She has never met a man who tempted her to explore physical intimacy.  However, the heart wants what it wants, regardless of what the head knows is smart.

    When Cali meets Maksim Volkov, a Russian steel tycoon, at a charity gala, the attraction between them is instantaneous and explosive. Within an hour, she finds herself on the way to his presidential hotel suite. After the intensity of her first night with him, she realizes that it could never be a one-night stand, so she forges an agreement with him to protect herself. They will be together whenever their schedules allow and for as long as they mutually desire each other.  Maksim, a man with quite a playboy reputation, adds one surprising requirement of his own: mutual exclusivity.

    For his part, Maksim is harboring his own secrets. What Maksim does not tell her is that he fears that he will become like his father and his father's paternal lineage: an abuser.  His father had been cold and abusive to Maksim's mother and to him, as his father's father had been and so on far into the history of his family.  He fears that abusiveness is in his genetic makeup and that, if he is too involved in a child's life, he will be unable to stop himself from becoming abusive as well.

    So when Cali learns that, despite using precautions religiously, she is pregnant, she is sure that her decision to keep the baby will mark the end of her relationship with Maksim.  Maksim, however, has some surprises up his sleeve as well.

    At times, this story has you weeping for Maksim and at other times for Cali; sometimes you weep for both of them.  Between these times, they share a bond so potent and overwhelming that you cannot resist turning to the next page, even when it’s after 2:30am and you know the 6:10 alarm will come all too soon!

    If you like stories with big personalities and full of bold, sweeping passions that will keep your emotions on edge throughout, Claiming His Own is definitely  the book you want to read! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    When Caliope Sarantos becomes entangled with sexy Russian steel

    When Caliope Sarantos becomes entangled with sexy Russian steel tycoon Maksim Volkov she knows pleasure is in the cards. Their attraction is nothing short of a conflagration. Far from burning itself out, her desire for him only grows stronger the longer they remain together. But the all-consuming entanglement implodes when Cali finds she’s pregnant. She shares the news with Maksim only to be slammed with heartbreak when he insists he does not want to be a part of his child’s life.
    Maksim remains with Cali for a while, but he disappears before the birth of their son. Cali is shaken when Maksim returns after an accident hoping to spend time with her and their infant. What ensues is an amazing tale of hope, redemption, and the power of love.
    Olivia Gates delves into complex emotions as Maksim struggles to overcome his belief that he is destined to be an abuser like his father and grandfather before him. Ms. Gates’ tough yet tender-hearted hero is driven to protect the ones he loves from himself. The gorgeous, feisty Cali is every bit his match; tough enough to guide him through his tumultuous journey as he learns to overcome his misconceptions. She shows Maksim the happily ever after he didn’t dare hope could be possible can indeed be a reality.
    Ms. Gates is a gem amongst storytellers, but she has outdone herself with Claiming His Own. Brimming over with blazing hot passion and intensely emotional moments, this book will surely earn a spot on your keeper shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    The book tells the story of the unexpected and passionate relati

    The book tells the story of the unexpected and passionate relationship between Selene and Aris. It has all the basic flavor of our Harlequin novels, but with Olivia we always have more. The word that defines Olivia's heroes is INTENSE. They're not afraid to feel, to surrender. They live the passion completely on edge. In some moments I was breathless, sighing like a fool with things that Aris said to Selene. Oww this Selene is a lucky woman! He is completely in love with her and to their little boy, Alex. Aris is just so cute when he is with his son.
    And folks, LOOK THAT COVER! Who does not want this adorable baby and this handsome Daddy all to yourself? I wanted them at the first moment! I'm bonkers for books with babies and Olivia is one of the best authors to write about it. I am COMPLETELY recommending this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    Calliope Sarantos finds Maksim Volkov to be incredibly sexy and

    Calliope Sarantos finds Maksim Volkov to be incredibly sexy and the two embark on a no holds barred affair with only a few rules. Their affair is to be about pleasure with no commitment. All that changes when Calliope finds herself pregnant. Maksim agrees to give the baby his name but not himself. He disappears from her life before the baby is born. When he returns, Maksim offers everything he denied before, but Calliope is not sure she wants to take a chance. A tragedy from his past threatens her future happiness. Calliope is not sure she should allow him the chance to potentially hurt her again.

    Olivia Gates lands her magic to the Billionaires and Babies series with Claiming His Own. Maksim suffered so much and wanted only the best for Calliope, but instead he only wound up hurting her more. The love between the two was very strong but Maksim’s past interfered. It was uncertain through parts of the book if Maksim would become the hero we love but he redeemed himself in the end, particularly when he learned of his past and his noble intentions. Another great love story to entertain us for the coming cold nights, Claiming His Own by Olivia Gates will take its place as another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    A hot sexy Russian hero, a super fabulous plot with lots of twis

    A hot sexy Russian hero, a super fabulous plot with lots of twists and turns and an explosive ending that will leave you in complete awe, yes this book had it all and so much more.




    Definitely one of the most intense reads of the year! The book tells the story of Caliope and Maksim, brought together by a fierce attraction their raging passionate nights leads to Cali becoming pregnant but instead of the normal he will do anything to be with her and the baby the author took this read in a whole other direction.




    Maksim will claim the child as his heir but does not want to be part of it's life, but he will be around for Cali as long as she will have him.




    So when he suddenly disappears Cali is convinced something terrible happened to him, after all he said he would be with her till their passion fades with the baby only in the background
    ( yes I know this sounds incredible and believe me it was the plot of the year).




    A year goes by and suddenly Maksim is back, but standing on Cali's doorstep is not the man she fell in love with, he is only half the man she knew, when he reveals the reason for leaving Cali is not only in shock but also a state of utter confusion., Maksim wants her and the baby and a marriage. Why now and not before? And how is she meant to make this decision without it being a direct reflection to her mother's past?




    The character of Maskim was truly mind blowing-ly fascinating! I truly could not get enough of this hero. Strong, sexy and confident the one minute and helpless and a heap of sorrow the next. His reasoning for taking off then just popping back up made him a very intriguing hero and his kind and caring nature touched my heart.




    But what I found most fascinating was the inner battle he fights with himself in wanting to be with Cali but not wanting to hurt her. This reminded me that in real life it is what each and everyone of us do, we want, need and crave but in an attempt to not face failure we try to control the future and of course this is impossible and in the process our attempts cause more damage.




    The character of Cali was brilliant. Strong and always ready to push for what she wants and needs, but also always alert to know when it is time to stop pushing and rather start re-directing those in her life ready to meddle in her happiness. I absolutely adored how the author let Cali have this hangup with her mother and the actions she takes in life, it showed her as I think most woman are, afraid to turn into their mothers yet when faced with similar circumstances the true understanding into their mothers actions becomes a clear and very vivid reality, opening the road to understanding.




    The backdrop settings were simply amazing! Each and every setting was mouthwatering, laced with so much vivid description it left me in a state of wonder and wanting to be right there to see what was being described, but with the exquisite descriptions it was as if I truly was!




    The dialogue was filled with such heartbreaking emotion and intensity it left me in tears more than once both of sorrow and joy. The most amazing of all was the twists and turns of this read, just when I thought I had it figured out the author would take it to a whole new level which reminded me that this is exactly what real life is like, it is never the perfect road , and therefore this read was as real as it gets and I found it simply brilliant.




    But it did also leave me with quite a number of stares in my direction when a twist happened and I would shout out a big ear piercing "NO!" yes I truly believe the others in the room thought me completely mad. For me this just meant that the author truly wrote a masterpiece and I was completely entranced.




    I am taking away a message of  tragedy can strike at any time and our perfect happy lives can become bleak and meaningless but we have no control of the when or where or what and for this reason it is of the highest importance to always live each day to the fullest and be with the ones we love for tomorrow they may be gone.




    I highly recommend this read for all fans of romance so intense and filled with the wonder of life, you will be in trapped in world of pure brilliant romance! Sensual, sexy, passionate, spicy and simply beautiful!




    5 star review




    " Claiming his family brings him back to life" 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    This is truly the first romance book I read that followed that t

    This is truly the first romance book I read that followed that trajectory in relationship between hero and heroine, making Aram and Kanza unique for me. And they were the best in every stage. I laughed out loud so many times and shed tears when all seemed lost. But my jaw dropped when the twists kept coming, as Kanza the unpredictable didn't behave like it's expected from romance heroines and believed in her man, when any other would have run screaming, making everything worse. And Aram....oh, Araaaam! He's so absolutely luscious...alpha all the way yet with a fathomless need for love and belonging and a gigantic heart. 




    I can't recommend this book enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    Reading Olivia Gates books are like serving up the most decadent

    Reading Olivia Gates books are like serving up the most decadent over the top dessert and then adding sprinkles on top. They are almost too much. The smex scenes sizzle, the emotions are full on, the language is often almost poetical. In some ways they remind me of Violet Winspear if she'd been allowed to write Smexytimes.
    This is one of the most emotional category reads I've come across for a while. Maksim and Caliope are lovers but neither want to get too involved because of the tragedies in their past. When Caliope gets pregnant, it changes everything. Maksim at first seems to be prepared to take responsibility without becoming emotionally involved but then he vanishes entirely for almost a year.
    The story really gets going when he returns but Caliope is reluctant to take him back. What follows is a roller coaster ride of emotions. This books made me cry more than once.
    Maksim is a fascinating hero. Underneath his steely facade is a cauldron of seething emotion, for Caliope and for his son Leo. Caliope is a strong woman but is reluctant to take a chance on Maksim, afraid that it will make her weak.
    I really enjoyed every bit of this story, even the bits that made me cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1