Customer Reviews for

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Sleeping Beauty Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 721 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(176)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

This book is erotica-- Plain & simple, straight up erotica.

This book is erotica-- Plain & simple, straight up erotica. Often, erotica will come wrapped up with some flimsy romantic story to make it palatable for mommies. This absolutely does not! It is unashamedly the most hardcore of any erotic novel I've ever read (an...
This book is erotica-- Plain & simple, straight up erotica. Often, erotica will come wrapped up with some flimsy romantic story to make it palatable for mommies. This absolutely does not! It is unashamedly the most hardcore of any erotic novel I've ever read (and I've read a LOT). I actually really liked this book. I DO think Beauty could've been developed more (even erotica needs interesting characters), but that fact that she was the LEAST interesting character to me knocks it from five to four stars. Note- this book really delves into some fetishes people will find distasteful (heavy bondage, pony play, etc). This book is also HOMOEROTIC, which I suspect has something to do with a lot of the one star reviews here (I personally find a bit of homoerotica a turn on). If you're interested in reading some hardcore erotica, this book is really great. If you're looking for a sappy love story with some moderately hot erotic scenes, move on- this book isn't it.

posted by andeesings on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

What a horrible book...

I am completely confused as to why this book got such a great reviews by other members. I'm an avid reader who enjoys reading at least 3 books a week from all different genras. And yes sometimes that includes erotic romance. And like many do, I will on occassion skim th...
I am completely confused as to why this book got such a great reviews by other members. I'm an avid reader who enjoys reading at least 3 books a week from all different genras. And yes sometimes that includes erotic romance. And like many do, I will on occassion skim through a book for the "juicy love scenes" of which this book has NONE. Fumbeling teenagers have hotter sex then this. That aside this book has the most poorly developed characters I've ever run across. There is NO story-telling here. Nothing that grips your interest. The premise is strong an "adults only" version of a classic fairy tale. Great concept. Horrid execution.

Now I'm an attractive women in her early 30's who in todays society sees nothing wrong with erotica or porn but this book was the worst example of both. Purely about putting the main chartacter Beauty is every concievable phsyical postion that could be only politely described with such words as uninventive unsexy and plainly gross. She goes from being shown naked throughout the entire book first like a dog then as a horse. Now I've read some BD/SM books and in my opinion whatever floats your boat is fine. It can be intresting when written by someone who understands what SEXY is . That is not the case with this book.
In 8 years of reading through hundreds of books I've maybe been tempted to write 3 reviews. This book was hands down the worst book I've ever read. If you're looking for hot romance the kind that has you unable to put it down and cursing having a job that doesn't allow you to read all day THIS IS NOT IT. If you are looking for a sexy read that has you squirming in your seat with hot and heavy love scenes THIS IS NOT IT.
Spend your money elsewhere or contact me and I'll fish mine out of the trash bin. Also a first for me never have I ever thrown a book out. But this went right where it need to go - in the trash.
If you"re looking for hot romance sorching sex a little BDSM with great charcaters check out Lora Leigh Bound Hearts series.

One star because I couldn't give it less.

posted by 345010 on January 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    This book is erotica-- Plain & simple, straight up erotica.

    This book is erotica-- Plain & simple, straight up erotica. Often, erotica will come wrapped up with some flimsy romantic story to make it palatable for mommies. This absolutely does not! It is unashamedly the most hardcore of any erotic novel I've ever read (and I've read a LOT). I actually really liked this book. I DO think Beauty could've been developed more (even erotica needs interesting characters), but that fact that she was the LEAST interesting character to me knocks it from five to four stars. Note- this book really delves into some fetishes people will find distasteful (heavy bondage, pony play, etc). This book is also HOMOEROTIC, which I suspect has something to do with a lot of the one star reviews here (I personally find a bit of homoerotica a turn on). If you're interested in reading some hardcore erotica, this book is really great. If you're looking for a sappy love story with some moderately hot erotic scenes, move on- this book isn't it.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Decent read

    Not for children or the conservative.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Anon

    STOP with the comparisons to 50 Shades!! They're nothing alike, PERIOD!!!! Granted, I only made it through the first novel of the 50's trilogy because of the mushy, gushy goo. Whereas, I devoured these three when I first heard about them long ago. What bothers me, seriously bothers me, is that while 50 shades sits wrap-bound and mysterios to young readers, the Beauty series sits right next to it open to all in an "if you like this, then you might like these" manner. If anything, it should be the other way around. Beauty is hard core sexual fantasy. The focus being "fetish fantasy". Not for all, but a must for this reader. If you like "The Story of O", you might give these a go....

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I liked it

    I have to say that this is the first of the three books and I got pissed off because of the princess being humiliated all the time. Once you get through it and read all three books it makes complete sense. How can one rule without knowing what humiliation feels like.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    For those who keep comparing this book to 50 Shades of Grey, the

    For those who keep comparing this book to 50 Shades of Grey, they are sadly the ones who are going to ruin this book for everyone. This is NOT anything like 50 Shades and quite frankly it is much better than 50 Shades will ever be.

    While there could have been better character development, this is truly an erotic novel. Plain and simple, that's really what it is designed to be. We as readers have this idea in our head that all erotica is supposed to be these Harlequin novels that have us squirming in our seats and not all erotica is that way. This is designed to be erotic and that's exactly what it is.

    The only reason I'm giving it 4 out of 5 stars is for the lack of development on the character of Beauty. Other than that, I love Anne Rice's work. She has a mind unlike most writers out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Better than '50 Shades' series

    I tried reading 50 Shades of Grey but the grammar was on a middle school level and the characters were sadly written. Had a few friends recommend this series and I'm thankful they did. An adult written book that in depth and written years before and better than the adolecent 50 Shades series. So if you are a mature adult who wants to read an entertaining BDSM series in stead of some Dr. Seuss 'How-to' teen novel.. Opt for this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Be prepared

    I have not finished the book yet because I can only read a chapter and then I need a break. This is the real deal submission. No one is being cute or nice, it is straight up dominance...which is tough to read if you are an avid romance reader like I am.
    However, I am learning new things, to say the least and I am determined to finish this book. It is not for the faint of heart and the sex scenes will blow your mind and any notion you had of dominance. Bravo Mrs. Rice.....your dedication has kicked my romance reading butt and I love a challenge :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Anne Rice. What can I say, this is the book that started me in t

    Anne Rice. What can I say, this is the book that started me in the who genre. It's a classic that can't be compared to others. Beauty is awoken from her sleep only to find herself a slave to the man who awakens her. Taken back to his castle she finds several other tributes all serving as sex slaves to the whims of the Prince and his friends. This has what many people would consider to be taboo subjects, forced sex, spanking and so forth. Don't think of this as another fifty shades. Fifty shades would be the tame younger brother compared to this book. This is book one of the trilogy, it is written in the typical Anne Rice fashion that has you falling in love with the Characters and rooting for your favorite.
    If you love forbidden sex, humiliation, BDSM. slavery then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Pass this one up!

    I am highly disappointed in Anne Rice! Stupid adult version of a children's classic story. This is not erotica, but rather S&M. Don't bother reading this or the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Anne Rice Published By: Plume Age Recommended: Adult Rev

    Author: Anne Rice
    Published By: Plume
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Rating: 4

    Review:

    "The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty" by Anne Rice was YES a 'adult fiction, with erotic,bdsm, fantasy, fairy tales, sexual and horror. Now with that being said NO this novel is not for everyone, definitely not for the faint at heart! If you are the least bit skidded about sex...this read would NOT probably be to your liking. So please be aware of that and lets get started. With me being a book reviewer...I have read it all and all I can say is Ms. Rice WOW! It was very interesting to me to just know that this is for someone who likes spanking and punishment sex.... only to be liked by some consenting adults. Truly this author has a gift at being able to put it into writing....WOW! I really learned a lots from the read. Ms. Rice described her book in a form of a fairy tale pornography story...sort of parallel to the original 'Sleeping Beauty Tale' and then it takes off in a different direction...being hardcore...so be ready for this read by picking up "The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty"...Book 1 to see the what, who, and where of it all and just how far this author will take you. It truly left me saying WOW! For those of you who would pick up this read be ready for high tolerance of sexuality per say homosexuality, slave master, torture and all its trimmings.

    Now, would I recommend this to ALL ... NO...but it was a good read nevertheless especially if you are into BDSM.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Not for everyone

    I saw a lot of mixed reviews about this book. Either people really liked it or really hated it. I liked it. It's a different spin on the story. All I can say is read the sample first and decide if you want to continue the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Beauty, you're a slave!

    Bought the trilogy many, many years ago and enjoyed it well enough. For those of you searching for a Fifty Shades of Grey read, this is not it. Beauty is a slave and pretty much sexually abused throughout the books. The love story is secondary at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    This or fifty shades

    I have read them both and truthfully they are the same nothing but spanking and getting all hot and bothered by the female characters...but if i had to choose and recommend a trilogy, I would say this trilogy only because i think the author of fifty shades read this too and went along with it and wrote it in somewhat her own words just in a different time era.

    Anyone recommend another erotic book to be compared?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    'The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty' is the first book in the Sleep

    'The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty' is the first book in the Sleeping Beauty Trilogy - an erotica retelling of the Sleeping Beauty fairytale. The trilogy follows the traditional fairy tale of Sleeping Beauty being awakened from one hundred years of sleep by a handsome prince. Along with reliving the well known fairytale, the author has added an erotic twist that heats the story to new levels.

    I am not a fan of erotica, but I am a huge Anne Rice fan. The book is wonderfully written - in a way that only Rice can do it. She is able to weave a story so intricately that it comes to life off the pages and immerses the reader completely. The characters are interesting and have their own strengths and weaknesses - which are intriguing considering the erotic twist on the age-old tale. The novel does contain some BDSM, which it a large part of the trilogy plot. Overall, even though this is an erotica book, I was able to enjoy the rich descriptions and enchanting writing of Anne Rice in a way that I hadn't experienced before. Fans of erotica will find this novel and the other books of the trilogy even more engrossing and steamy than I did - highly recommended!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Kinky

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Thumbs up

    Good, but maybe a little much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Leaves you wanting

    I found the entire story titillating as you go through this journey of discovery with Beauty and her counterparts. My only gripe is the end seemed incomplete and left me wanting more. Obviously this will cause me to get the next book, so we shall see where the story goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Anne Rice Book

    She write beautifully and I was drawn into the story. Given that this was my first erotic book it was a bit to take. You must have a very open mind when you read something of this nature. All in all I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    'Claiming' is an understatment

    I found this book to be very raw. I enjoyed how it made me feel, whether it was excited, appalled, happy, sad, or disgusted. This is definitely not a book for the close minded. I enjoyed how Ann Rice didn¿t hold anything back, and how descriptive she was. I kept thinking how I would feel if I was Beauty, and it just pulled me in. I recommend this book to anyone who has an open mind and who¿s not afraid of stepping outside of the box.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    not even halfway through...

    im right in the middle of this.But I had to review it.It's so heartwrenching,no, the best way to describe it is like nails on a chalkboard.You don't exactly like the sound of it, but the way the hand somewhat caressess' the chalkboard itself ,as if they were really on you, arouses the senses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7