Customer Reviews for

Claiming the Courtesan

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    I'm beat...(LVR)

    Just finished this very intense "romance" and I'm exhausted. Quite the ride! Not your average light regency and advise adults only reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I really enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Intense

    This one was intense! The hero was aggressive, obsessive and seriously intense. His single-minded focus on the heroine was almost scary at times. He was the perfect anti-hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not for everyone, but an excellent story

    I don't usually find themes of revenge and control enjoyable in most romance novels. A delicate touch is required to turn such negative emotions into a convincing love story. And for those reasons, this was a bit of a rough read for me. The writing was excellent, but some of the things the hero and heroine kept doing to each other were painful indeed. Yet each of them was so compelling and, yes, likable, that I didn't have to struggle very hard to keep reading. I wanted to know what happened to them, and I had faith that they would come out the other side of their story better and stronger people. They didn't disappoint me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    A great debut

    Much like a few other reviewers, I was torn at times over thinking this book had a great plot line and main characters. Other times I couldn't help thinking it was just a little off. I had a bit of trouble believing that Soraya could be this hot little mistress that all men wanted and was a woman of the world in the bedroom who would do anything with the man who had bought her. Then, once she decided to leave the business and go back to being Verity, she suddenly is innocent, gentle, loving and a bit shy? That was a bit of a stretch. I think this dual character was trying to appeal to the old virgin/angel on one hand, then naughty hooker in the bedroom syndrome that men seem to like and some women seem to think is the way to go too. Also, Kylemore seemed to struggle with being insensitive, disturbing and sexually rought at times - often taking what he wanted regardless of his partners wishes. I agree that his dark side had to come out and be dismantled before he could become the best man he could be by the end of the novel. This book showed moments of potential brilliance in the unsual story line and the complicated characters. I especially liked that for once, the main character had only one mistress in the book - the one he ended up with! Interesting twist. I just would have made the change in Soraya/Verity phase in more gradual - the switch from hooker to angel was too abrupt for me. Over-all, two thumbs up though. For a debut book this really shined. Yes, it had some bugs to work out, but for a first timer, it really went the distance. I am looking forward to this author developing further. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    A Keeper!

    Claiming the Courtesan is an exciting, action packed page turner. Finally a historical romance that breaks through the overly fetishized maidenhead. 'Pun intended.' This book examines love beyond the first thrills of initiation. Verity is a strong likable character a perfect match for the inwardly turbulent Justin. The book starts a year into their affair at a time when most romances are running out of steam. While other heroes are ready to put their feet up Claiming a Courtesan's Justin is just getting started. Verity is a complex heroine who needs more than the average handsome, adept lover with a large estate. The one downside would be that towards the very end the plot gets a little choppy ¿ Verity's actions and non communication became a little tiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1