Customer Reviews for

Clammed Up (Maine Clambake Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Mystery that keeps you guessing

    This is a well written, engaging story that I couldn't put down. The characters are well portrayed and easy to care about. Normally I can guess the solution to a mystery pretty early in the book, but this one had so many twists and turns that I kept changing my mind about who might be the killer. Definitely recommended!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    "Clams, Commitment and Crime┬┐A Heady Mix" Julia Sno


    "Clams, Commitment and Crime—A Heady Mix"

    Julia Snowden had a good job with a venture capital firm in Manhattan, when her Sister Livvie called, begging her to return to her hometown of Busman’s Harbor, Maine. The Snowden Family Clambake, a business her late Father had started, was in serious financial trouble and Julia’s family felt she was the one who could straighten things out and save, not only the business, but her Mother’s home, but also, the beloved site of the clambakes, Morrow Island. After many nights of figuring and re-financing their bank loan, the Snowden Family Clambake business was about ready to open for the busy Summer season. Their new offering, in addition to the already popular clambake/tourist attraction, was to cater large parties and weddings out on the island (much to Brother-in-law, Sonny Ramsey’s dismay). When Julia booked the wedding and reception of “Manhattanites”, Michaela Carpenter and Tony Poitras, Sonny was none too pleased. All seemed to be going smoothly on the big day until it was learned that the Best Man/Tony’s business partner, Ray Wilson, was missing. Being a jokester, the Groom wasn’t too alarmed and set out looking for him, figuring they’d catch the late boat and be on time for the wedding ceremony. Meanwhile, Julia escorted the Bride and her attendants to the island’s mansion, “Windsholme”, where they could freshen up before the “I dos”. Julia opened the massive double doors—only to discover a horrific scene—Ray Wilson’s lifeless body hanging from the staircase! The upsetting discovery not only shattered what should have been a perfect love-filled day, but also compounded the complications in saving the family business. Who would want Ray Wilson dead? And why? Was it a crime of jealousy, passion or survival? Will the hugely in debt clambake be saved? I thoroughly enjoyed Ms. Ross’s first “Maine Clambake Mystery”. The characters seem to jump off the page—especially Gus, Entienne, Gabrielle and the mysterious Mr. Q. Tupper III. Believe me, when you think you have it all figured out—the Author hands you some surprising twists and turns that will throw you off the track. She has also included some super-yummy recipes for dishes offered at the clambake as well as from her Sister Livvie’s kitchen. Cozy lovers, don’t miss the start of this new series—I’m anxiously awaiting another trip to Busman’s Harbor.
    Nancy Narma

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Good Mystery

    I thoroughly enjoyed the read. I love a good mystery and this one held my interest. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    A must read if you're a Down East fan.

    Definitely would recommend this well written, fast pace book. An easy read with a good plot. Enjoyed it so much, I will be reading more of Barbara Ross's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Great Summer Read!

    I enjoyed this book so much I finished in a just a few days! Keeps you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    good read

    This was a good read with a different setting. Can't wait for more
    from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    I loved this book. The mystery plot had enough twists that had


    I loved this book. The mystery plot had enough twists that had me guessing until the end, I was surprised when I was close to being done and I still had no idea. The characters are diverse and realistic. I love the main character Julia, she's strong, hardworking, intelligent and a little bit flawed to make her likeable. The family squabbles are believable, Sonny you want to hate but you can't quite get there. The description of Maine give you the feeling that you are there. I can't wait to get started on the next one. Warning you will get unbelievable cravings for seafood when reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    This was a really good, inexpensive book

    Good story-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    This new Maine Clambake Series starts off with a hanging body at

    This new Maine Clambake Series starts off with a hanging body at a wedding.  Not a good thing for a wedding celebration or the Snowden Family Clambake Company.  Julia Snowden has left her high power job in New York to try and keep her family's floundering business from going under.  Everything has been invested to keep it going, including her Mom's house, their boat, and the island where they have their clambake.




    I really enjoyed this book as the mystery took a few twisting turns and the conclusion was different but very believable.  Also enjoyed the emphasis on family sticking together--those by blood and those by long time friendships.  The hints at future romantic entanglements between a few of the characters left me wanting to get right into the next book.  Recipes were included, and the food descriptions in the book made me feel like I was right there at the clambake.  Winning start to this new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Julia Snowden has returned to her small Maine town to try to sav

    Julia Snowden has returned to her small Maine town to try to save the family clambake business.  Thanks to the down economy and a few bad business moves, they have until the end of the summer or they might lose the island they host on and the house her mother lives in.

    One idea Julia has is hosting special events, and the first of those is a wedding happening the day before the official opening of the season.  However, when Julia arrives on the island with most of the wedding party, they find the best man hanging inside the old house on the island.  Now that the police has shut them down, she needs to solve the crime quickly in order to save her family's business.

    This book started out strongly with the murder happening almost right away.  However, it took Julia a little while to decide to truly start investigating.  The book was really starting to drag for me, but about a quarter of the way through, the plot really took off and I had a hard time putting it down from there.

    The characters were good as well.  They really grew on me and the book progressed, and the growth Julia showed by the end was very good.

    Not being a fish person, I wasn't expecting to be interested in the recipes in the back of the book, but there are a couple of non-fish ones that sound good to me.

    This is a good I'm glad I tried.  My patience with the slow beginning was certainly rewarded in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Good Read

    Its a good book for a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    It seemed to take a long time to find out who the killer was. I

    It seemed to take a long time to find out who the killer was. I was beginning to get annoyed. I would have given it a three, however, the story line was better than the average cozy. I was also disappointed in Julia for a choice between the cop who she knew since she was young and Chris the loser. Too bad the author didn't have Julia make a good choice for a boyfriend in the end. Why is it that these career women seem to make such terrible choices for men in a lot of cozies?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    This is the first in what I hope will be a long lived mystery se

    This is the first in what I hope will be a long lived mystery series. Julia Snowden's task of saving the family clambake business from foreclosure (along with her mother's home and the island where the clambakes take place) is compelling from page 1. The stakes get even higher and her plans go awry when the best man at a wedding they're hosting turns up dead on the island and the clambake is forced to shut down. With the clock ticking until the bank calls the loan and a not so subtle push from the local curmudgeon, Julia's focus shifts to finding out whodunnit.

    Ross's story is well crafted. The small town Maine setting is welcoming and the characters are well developed "people" you will like and dislike as you might friends and family - and many of them will surprise you before you reach the last page. I enjoyed this book and almost wish I'd discovered the series a few books down the line so I could continue reading the Snowden Family Clambake mysteries. For now, I'll give some of the recipes at the back of the book a try. They sound as satisfying as the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    aA delightful debut that has me hungry for more!!! The story

    aA delightful debut that has me hungry for more!!!




    The story is set in a beautiful part of this country and every bit of it was clear in my mind’s eye. From the island to the ferry trip to the town of Busman’s Harbor. Sounds like a great place to vacation.




    Julia’s homecoming being marred by murder is awful but this girl is up for the challenge. She uses skills she has learned while away to whittle down the suspects and it isn’t easy. She makes mistakes. She is scared and worried about losing her family business and is so real and credible. It is so easy to identify with her which makes her a great protagonist.




    The supporting cast is strong as well. I personally wanted to take on Sonny. He had just given up and if Julia would not have come back the business would have been history, but his support of Julia was truly lacking. Family drama! I love it! This is a group of characters that will surprise you. Ross has filled this Clambake Mystery with plenty of red herrings!




    It seems Julia and Livvie’s dad had put together a wonderful business. There will be some changes going forward but I know the family will come out on top and the clambakes will be even more popular. I am ready to buy my ticket today. Boiled Over (A Maine Clambake Mystery) will be served up May 6, 2014!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent mystery! Can't wait for the next one in the series.

    An excellent mystery! Can't wait for the next one in the series. Just reading about the clambakes made me hungry! Add this one to your reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2