Customer Reviews for

The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 740 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(517)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 744 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    eBook errors are plentiful - on entire series!!!

    So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition!
    I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Love at second sight

    My father read the books, and everytime he read a few chapters, he went into my room to tell me all about it. After he finished, he gave the books to me. I was fifteen, and layed them away for a year. After that year I found them again, and read the first page. I almost read the entire chapter there, down of the floor in front of my bookcase. I have never before and probably will never again fall in love with a book as much as I did with these. And especially The Clan of the Cavebear. I've just read it for the eleventh time (for real!) and still found things I missed the first times. These books opened my eyes to the full experience of reading a book. Not only reading, but seeing, feeling, living and breathing a book. I can absolutely recommend it to everyone, although you do have to consider all the extra text concerning the environment and animals present. I loved them, I love to learn, but others will find it difficult to read long descriptions. In any way, it is a book worth reading, more than most are!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Time Machine

    I first read this book years ago, and it impacted by adult reading choices more than any other book I've read. This story draws you in, to another time, to another person, to another way of thinking. This book is less tedious than Auel's later books, more meat to the story, less descriptive fluff.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book

    I first read Clan of the Cave Bear about 20 yrs ago. It was a book that I put aside and said I would read only if I got desperate enough to pick it up. Well I did, and imagine my surprise when I found it to be then and now one of my most favorite series ever. I have followed Ayla through the Clan to the Zelandonii and am anxiously awaiting the new book coming out in March, Land of the Painted Caves. I truly hope that this is NOT the end of the earth children series. It is long overdue.

    My only critisism of this eBook, and the series that continue is that they have been poorly proof read. I found mistakes everywhere, and was highly disappointed. Things like "Life" being typed as Ufe. "rime" instead of "time" and so on.

    Either way, if you can get past the typos, it is a very good read and I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    A masterpiece!

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read. It gives wonderful descriptions of the hardships early people had to go through to stay alive. Ayla is a headstrong woman and I love that she can take care of herself.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Enraptured by a heroine-Read the book! Movie was an insult to the writing...

    21 years ago this series began and I was so moved by the strength and insight of Ayla, it gave me courage as a girl becoming a woman in high school. I read this book more times than I can count and was personally incensed at the movie attempt; first for the dilution of Jean Auel's incredible written word and second for the revolting maudlin screen interpretation. If you were unfortunate enough to see only the movie, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do NOT let it deter you from stepping into Ayla's time and travels to explore her world. I remember distinctly the joy of hearing paleontological discoveries that prove the detailed research she devoted to spin a tale of heart, history, and perseverance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Clan of the Cave Bear

    Ayla is born to "the Others" but after a natural disaster she is orphaned, and found, almost dying, by the Clan of the Cave Bear. She is eventually adopted by the clan and has to adjust to her new family and environment. The challenge is overwhelming for such a little girl. She is often cast out and faces many trials, but she shows courage, strength and determination that make her unique as a character. Although she will never truly fit with the clan, she develops many special relationships with its members. The affection between Ayla and her new family-- Creb, the shaman, and Iza, the medicine woman-- is heart warming to read. Although perhaps she is not realistic as a character of the time period (prehistoric Europe), Ayla is a well-developed character with such a unique story. The reader really feels as if they understand her struggles, and well as those of the clan, who have their own primal culture unlike anything we've ever seen. I really enjoyed reading this novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have only read this book of the series but I am dying to get my hands on the others!!! I have never read a book that caused me to think so much about the way of the world and to cry as much as i did with this book. while I was reading this book I would stay up late into the night sobbing my eyes out for poor little Ayla. THIS IS TRULY THE MOST TOUCHING BOOK EVER WRITTEN!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is easily one of the best books ever written. Captivating,

    This is easily one of the best books ever written. Captivating, exhilirating, informative, the list of accolades is too long to list. I read this book in two sittings. And I read it again. One of my top five favorite books of all time. And then you get to read Valley of the Horses, which is even better!!!!!!! But you can stop after Book 2 (Valley of the Horses), because starting with the third book (The Mammoth Hunters), Ms. Auel is simply completing a contract. The Mammoth Hunter is all humping and horticulture, soap opera drama, cold weather and that is it. Books 4-6 are even worse, and a total waste of time and money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    I read this book long ago but was so excited to hear about the newer release by Jean for this series that I revisited. The second time around wasn't any less enjoyable. If you like historical fiction, this is the book for you. Romance, history, vivid characters, unique story line - I appreciate all of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Highly recommended

    From the first book in the series "The Clan of the Cave Bear" by Jean M. Auel I have been an avid fan of the Earth's Children books. Always looked forward to the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    I love this book..and im not even finished with it yet. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Loved it

    I'd read many similar stories over the years, but somehow missed this series. When I noticed others' stories clearly referencing this series I decided it was time to read "the original" and I'm glad I did. Not a quick read, obviously, as it's huge. Guess it's a good thing I've always favored long stories for their (usually) greater capacity for character development. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Great Read

    I had never heard of this book before I read it but I absolutely loved it! Can't wait to read more...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book from beginning to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenominal

    I love this book! I'm reading the series for the first time and am amazed by how good the story is. The characters are great, the descriptions are amazing, and the plot has a hook that I hardly ever see in a book. 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Happy to have this one in my library. Highly Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I've read every book multiple times, read it (trust me!).

    The books have an amazing amount of detail and heartwarming story lines. It makes you want to just jump in and go through the story with the characters themselves! Every book is just as amazing as the first. (6 books in total, I have read every one multiple times)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    A new addiction

    I started reading this as an homage to my dad- this was his favorite series... I only wish I'd started sooner because it is such an engaging story that captures your heart from the start. I am happily addicted to continuing Ayla's story and rooting for her until the very end- I'm halfway thru the series and am glad my dad loved her story and piqued my interest in the Clan of the Cave Bear books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    One of the books I keep coming back to... again and again and again!

    My Mother first bought me The Clan of The Cave Bear in 1989, about 6 years after it was first published. I was 10 years old. I read it, and fell in love. I've fallen back in love with the story each and every time I've read it, which I have faithfully done at least once a year for the past 22 years. I feel as if I've grown up with Ayla, and Auel's beautiful descriptions and storytelling continue throughout the series. I've treasured each and every book, and have waited in anticipation for YEARS for each new installment to come out. I've spent most of my childhood and all of my adulthood (so far, I'm only 31) awaiting the next chapter in the saga. I'm excited to read the final story, but sad that I won't have another one to look forward to as it is said this will be the final book. This is truly a literary masterpiece, for young and old alike. Thank you Jean Auel for bringing this story to us, and for giving me decades of enjoyment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 744 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38