Customer Reviews for

The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 736 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(515)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 515 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    LEADER'S DEN

    Leopardstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Best book ever

    Walk with ursus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved all the books from this series. It has been y

    I absolutely loved all the books from this series. It has been years since I read the first 5 (I bought the last one but haven't read it yet), but the description Auel gives makes you feel like you are sitting there in the story. I loved Ayla...probably my favorite of all female characters. She is strong and smart, very capable of taking care of herself and others. This first book made me cry in places. It was heart-breaking. However, Ayla shine; and I found myself cheering her on throughout the book. Very good story and very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    One of the best books I read in a long time!!!

    I really enjoyed this series I wished that it did'nt end with The Land of Painted Caves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Engrossing

    I hate to love series that are as good as this. I am just starting the third in the series and I cant put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Love this series and adored this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Superb read!

    One of those books to enjoy repeatedly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Grippingly unique- a story that stays with you!

    Reading it once is not enough! Refreashingly unique percective, you fall in love with Ayla an want to protect her an encourage her throughout her journey! This should be read by all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    To eyes

    Make rivrr clan and gold clan go to war and kill all kits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great book, awesome descriptions, I'm on her third book now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great book!!!

    I LOVED this book and couldn't wait til i got the second and i am half way thru it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it 20 some years ago and loved it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    An extremely wonderful book!

    I started the book not knowing what it was about going into it. Am I ever glad I decided to read it, as it was a wonderfully thrilling look into the lives of the Neandertals as portrayed by Ms. Auel. Ayla is a great character, and watching as she grows and learns to fit in with this society kept me enthralled from beginning to end. I highly recommend this book, the first in the series, to anyone who is interested in prehistoric societies, and Neandertals in particular. I'm already halfway through Ms. Auel's second book, which is just as interesting, on an entirely different level, as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Beautiful story

    An absolutely Amazing story. I could not put it down. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Excellent! Page turner!

    Jean Auel is an exciting and knowledgeable writer. I enjoyed this book from first page to last and I know that I'll read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Light Dorm

    -Raven

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    definately must have

    I absolutely loved this book. I cant wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    good read

    I read this book years ago because my aunt told me about the series. I just recently purchased this on nook for my 13.5 year old daughter to read. She was looking for some historical fiction . I have decided to read it again so it will be fresh in my mind to discuss with my daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    An absolutely amazing book! This was recommended to me by a good

    An absolutely amazing book! This was recommended to me by a good friend, and I'm so thankful for the recommendation. I do not give a five star rating lightly. To me, for a book to truly be exceptional, it has to have great writing style, unforgettable characters and, most of all, has to move me. This book did just that. I found myself shouting out in joy at Ayla's triumphs, screaming in frustration at her "tests" and getting the "wet eye sickness" with her in her sorrows. The 500-plus pages of this story honestly didn't feel enough when the end came. I look forward to reading the next installment of Ayla's adventures and recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction or just a truly great adventure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 515 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26