Customer Reviews for

The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 741 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(518)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 745 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2000

    These books made me want to write

    When at the age of 13 I was presented with the first of the four books it was the start of a reading frenzy. Anyboby who has shared the experiance who agree, the series literary sweeps you into the prehistoric world Auel created. These books were an important instrument in sparkling a desire to create my own world were the culture is as rich and vibrant and real. I am now 23 and writing as much as time permits and I say thankyou Jean M Auel for helping to send me down this path.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Love the book and love the series

    It's a great read if you are into science fiction with a base in history. Absolutely love the book and love the entire series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Clan of the cave bears CLAN OF THE CAVE BEARS

    Clan of the cave bears was an awesome book and very well written cant wait to read the rest of thrn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Great book

    I love the way she writes. The way she describes things makes you feel as if you are a bystander to all of the things going on. The way she discribes a snowstorm......well you can almost feel the snowflakes on your face. Valley of the horses is my favorite in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    LEADER'S DEN

    Leopardstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Best book ever

    Walk with ursus

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Clan of the Cave Bear is the first book in Jean M. Auel's Earth


    Clan of the Cave Bear is the first book in Jean M. Auel's Earth Children Series. It was first published in 1980. I read this book sometime in the 1990s and remember liking it a lot. I didn't get the same warm fuzzy feelings reading it the second time around. I'm not sure if it's my 20 year age difference, the style of writing then vs now, or what it might be.

    The story is refreshingly unique and drew me in immediately. My interest waned as Auel spent so much time describing everything. Not just the environment, but the people as well. Show me, don't tell me. Let me see what a character is like by what they say and do instead of so much descriptive text. It made some of the characters fall flat.

    A saving grace in this novel is the relationships. It was obvious by their actions how much Iza and Creb cared for Ayla and how she loved them. The difference in their appearances didn't matter. That's a lesson we all need to remember.

    Clan of the Cave Bear is an intriguing story, not one you find everywhere in these days of vampires and zombies. I think it's worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved all the books from this series. It has been y

    I absolutely loved all the books from this series. It has been years since I read the first 5 (I bought the last one but haven't read it yet), but the description Auel gives makes you feel like you are sitting there in the story. I loved Ayla...probably my favorite of all female characters. She is strong and smart, very capable of taking care of herself and others. This first book made me cry in places. It was heart-breaking. However, Ayla shine; and I found myself cheering her on throughout the book. Very good story and very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    One of the best books I read in a long time!!!

    I really enjoyed this series I wished that it did'nt end with The Land of Painted Caves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Tried so hard

    I tried so hard to get into this book. I wanted to like it it just didn't catch my interest. The descriptions were so long and boring. I am usually one to stick it out until the end, but I only made it to page 200.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Engrossing

    I hate to love series that are as good as this. I am just starting the third in the series and I cant put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Love this series and adored this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Superb read!

    One of those books to enjoy repeatedly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Grippingly unique- a story that stays with you!

    Reading it once is not enough! Refreashingly unique percective, you fall in love with Ayla an want to protect her an encourage her throughout her journey! This should be read by all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    To eyes

    Make rivrr clan and gold clan go to war and kill all kits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great book, awesome descriptions, I'm on her third book now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    A good read, albeit a bit long

    A good read, albeit a bit long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great book!!!

    I LOVED this book and couldn't wait til i got the second and i am half way thru it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it 20 some years ago and loved it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 745 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38