Customer Reviews for

Clapton: The Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Clapton

This was an excellent fast read. Would recommend it to anyone interested in rock history.

posted by 3502907 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

CRINGE!

Witty, sexy, romantic, fun: that's how Pattie Boyd described Clapton in her memoirs, Wonderful Tonight. I didn't get it in her book and I really don't get it in Clapton's. He goes from weird to downright frightening, sober or drunk. I was already aware of Clapton's ghas...
Witty, sexy, romantic, fun: that's how Pattie Boyd described Clapton in her memoirs, Wonderful Tonight. I didn't get it in her book and I really don't get it in Clapton's. He goes from weird to downright frightening, sober or drunk. I was already aware of Clapton's ghastly views about women but was stunned by the depths of his demons, especially with respect to Boyd, his muse and whipping post. 'Clapton' makes me question the efficacy of the recovery movement because Sober Eric = Drunken Eric with all the same weird issues and a new batch of excuses. As another reviewer said he's now in a marriage that resembles the outcome of a contest. Despite years of AA, and an overwhelming tragedy, he isn't humbled enough to make amends for his many mistakes, including his racist outbursts in the 70's. I don't see the changed man he insists he is. Sorry, but a multimillionaire building a rehab for rich addicts doesn't impress me when he hasn't made amends to the people he directly hurt. My patience with the book and author wore thin fast. Too many gross descriptions of substance bingeing, too much self-serving recovery-speak, too many bimbos, and just too much freak show. Clapton's musical genius aside, he's led an embarrassing life and it makes for a cringe-inducing read.

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Don't waste your time and money

    I went into reading this because I do like some of Clapton's music.
    After awhile it just seemed to be the following same old scenario over and over.
    "Drugs, alcohol, another woman, maybe I'll write a song but I can't because I'm on drugs and alcohol and I can't remember".

    That's about all this amounts to. Pretty boring. Find someone else to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Amazing

    Let me preface this by saying, i love this man...always have. Reading the first chapters of this book gave the reader great insight into his background & the issues that may have contributed to his problems later. The other chapters are very descriptive of the struggles & the depths of his dependency problem...which i personally think, humbled him in the mind of the reader. His road to recovery is inspiring & i feel could be life changing to his readers. I have read other reviews that said that he is "self absorbed".....not sure what else you are supposed to do in an autobiography than talk about yourself (hahaha) & i don't really care if he omitted certain "key" players in this love life as others have mentioned. When someone goes through the enormous changes that he has, certain times in your life don't seem as significant in the "big" picture. I have quoted this book on several occasions & feel it is a "must read" for anyone struggling with dependency. As i said, i love him, always will & i love this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    The Eric Clapton that you may not have known about

    I have always prided myself in my knowledge of rock and roll and its roots. I grew up in the 60's and the "sex, drugs and rock-n-roll" era was in full swing. But I learned a great deal more by reading Eric's very personal and candid, autobiography. He gave me a glimpse into a world that I never fully comprehended. The book will never become a classic in terms of its literary style or use of symbolism, etc., but I had a hard time putting the book down. I never realized all of the people and groups that Eric had performed with - I should have known. I was humbled by his willingness to be so transparent when it came to his relationships and his addictions. His response to the loss of his son and the hope he holds out to everyone who has found themselves over-powered by anything - whether it is lust, drugs, alcohol - is incredible. The book gave me an opportunity to see past the performer and into the heart of a man who, for all his faults, cares about others and who is committed to being a good man now, even though his early life was lived recklessly. If you love rock and roll, if you love the blues and if you need someone you can point to or look to that was able to overcome, read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Excellent Insight

    This book is written like Clapton is sitting in the room talking with you, telling his life story. He really opens himself up and gives you a great look at his life, his thinking and what makes him tick.

    If you are a Eric Clapton fan, this book is a MUST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    For anyone who enjoys Eric Clapton's music

    I am a huge fan of Clapton's. I enjoyed reading how he got started and the bands he played with. This book took me back to when I was a teenager listening to Blind Faith and Cream. I couldn't put it down and read it in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    surprising life

    I was surprised at how wild and out of control his life was. Am glad he was able to turn it around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Clapton

    Disappointing

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Clapton, his life and music.

    A truthful journey through his life and sound, as only he can write. Fiction can not begin to weave a tale of surviving and emotions found on the pages of Clapton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eric's Drunkalogue Biography Review

    Throughout the book Eric Clapton describes his life like someone one would at a therapy meeting or A.A. meeting. Using a format called a drunkalogue which is does describes his life. A drunkalogue is made up of three parts: what happened, what it was like, and what its like now. The book describes his chaotic childhood, early life with drug and alcohol abuse as a local street musician, and life now.

    In my opinion it wasn't much of a thrilling book to read but definitly intresting to think about. There was a lot reading in between the lines messages like when his son died and a woman came up to him and told him he had taken her last excuse to drink. I think overall the biggest message in this book was that just because something happens to you in your life does not give you an excuse or reason give up and say screw the rest of my life it's already gone. For the most part i did like the book it did a great job of describing the events honestly with his feelings now and then. I also like how he put in his own sarcastic sense of humor with each event. Although the ending was both lame and pointless talking about little seemingly non-important events. If you like Eric Clapton's music or are intrested in hearing him describe his life in his own words then i think you would enjoy reading it. If you do not like his music or dislike him then don't read it. If you liked this then i would suggest reading Bon Jovi's Biography of himself and the bands life together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Rock n Roll Retrospect

    Lots of gossipy tidbits about the rockers of my youth. Some insight into how accidental a lot of brilliance is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I put it down and haven't picked it up again yet

    Eric Clapton is an exquisite guitarist and an incredibly sexy man but his bio is a bit of a snore. I will get back to it at some point and read it through because he interests me but this has not felt like a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Eric Clapton

    I have loved learning more about Clapton and his life. He tells the highs and lows with no reservations. You learn his dreams, his likes and his fears. What makes Clapton tick? Read and find out. He has had so many influences on his life and music that only a book like this can tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    For those of us who always wanted to know how Eric Clapton became the awesome guitarist he became, this book is a must read. Eric's writing style is very frank and straightforward. You feel he is sitting across the table from you having a casual conversation about his entire life. He leaves nothing out as he shares his own virtual personality development with you and how his love of music was an integral part of that process. How he was shy around girls and how the music helped bring him out, (somewhat similar to my own life). For musicians, he tells us about all of the guitars he used and how he obtained them along the way as well as some tragic loss. You will be thrilled to read how he met and played with various up and coming superstars of the music world. And you will be amazed to learn his real name was Eric Clap. 'Nuff said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book on Clapton!

    I found this book to be very enlightening and entertaining. You don't have to be a complete Clapton fan to like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A COMPLEX AND MULTIFACETED LIFE

    The complex and multifaceted life of Eric Clapton is candidly revealed upon the pages of this nostalgic and heart wrenching book. Clapton doesn't gloss over his addictions and unrestrained excessive indulgences, and he acknowledges that he was not merely a phoenix that burned and then brilliantly rose from the ashes---he had support, encouragement, and help. Clapton wrestled with many demons and he lost some of the battles and won some. As a man he was not often impressive. As a musician, he is a genius. He is a flawed human being---like the rest of us. Clapton "started over" more often that one would imagine. This book left me feeling like I had been shown the heart of an ordinary man who had an extraordinary gift. He did the best that he could at times, he didn't give a damn at times---and he admits it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Eric Clapton

    Eric Clapton's life has been filled with let downs, happiness, addiction and rock and roll. Clapton is a very in depth story of his life starting with his childhood and his confusion with his family. Eric Clapton played with many bands that not very many people know about. Clapton is filled with drama such as him stealing George Harrison's wife to the death of his young son. Clapton also had to deal with very heavy addictions and try to manage this all while touring and writing music. Although some parts of this book feel like they are lacking in detail, this is a very good book and is recommended for any Eric Clapton fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    clapton- the unknown man

    Great book, I truly enjoyed it and learned a LOT about this man that surprised me. Suicide, and all the bands he played with. I'm a huge Stones fan, so the part where Mick jagger took his girlfriend away was especially entertaning. A great overall read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Somewhat intriguing

    I have not been an Eric Clapton fan for many years, finding his musical output after Derek and the Dominoes mostly trite and uninspired, reaching its nadir in the Phil Collins-influenced years. However, he remains enough of a favorite of mine to have made reading this book worthwhile. There's a lot of glossing over things in this book [like his affair with Sheryl Crow], some plain misguided opinions [sorry, EC, you'll never convince me Jim Gordon was the greatest rock drummer ever, or that Carl Radle was a better bassist than Jack Bruce], and some outright mysteries which I am sure do have answers [exactly WHO is Eric's father?], but I was nevertheless touched by Eric's frank admissions of addictive personality and his striving towards personal redemption. I also thought for the most part this book was very well-written, which I can't quite call a surprise but which I think reveals Clapton's depth of literary 'as well as musical' technique, which makes me wonder what he would be capable of if he really, really put his mind to lyrics. I think Eric's best work is forty years behind him [although he did hit some flashes of brilliance with Stevie Winwood recently], and he will be always in my mind the ex-Yardbirds guitarist who completely squandered his potential, but even the sappiness of 'Tears in Heaven' and 'My Father's Eyes' can't obscure the genius of the guitarist who turned 'Crossroads' into such a driving song. It was very instructive to read this book alongside Neil Peart's 'Ghost Rider' to compare two such disparate musicians' reaction to the loss of their children and long road to emotional recovery, and, for old times' sake, a nice short reunion with the Eric Clapton I so enjoyed as a youth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    a story of music and survival

    Just finished this book. what a story. So brave to be so honest. So glad you have your happy ending.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    YAWN

    I had trouble getting through the first 20 pages. Boring and self indulgent, and very technical when it comes to his playing and songwriting. It sounded like he had no enthusiasm for telling his story, like he was doing it because someone paid him a lot of money. Good thing I got it from the library and didn't pay $24.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6