Customer Reviews for

Clarity (Clarity Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

review taken from One Book At A Time

I really had no expectations going into this book. The cover intrigued me and the description sounded like it might have something new to offer. I was so glad to get a chance to review it for Book It Forward Tours.

I really enjoyed Clare's fresh voice. She's only ...
I really had no expectations going into this book. The cover intrigued me and the description sounded like it might have something new to offer. I was so glad to get a chance to review it for Book It Forward Tours.

I really enjoyed Clare's fresh voice. She's only 16, but I seriously had to remind myself of that constantly. It's not that she acted older than she is, because there's is definitely some teenage moments. It's all about her attitude and her sense of self. She's had to deal with everyone else thinking her family are freaks. It's made her a stronger person and it shows. I love her witty comebacks. Her family may be strange, but I actually really loved how each of them has their own talent. It made each of their personalities unique and how they functioned together as a whole really interesting.

I also really enjoyed the who done it mystery. It was really well played out. I liked how the official investigation was different than the one going on behind the scenes. It had that Nancy Drew mystery feel with the teenagers being the ones to figure it out. Add in the paranormal elements, and it was just a lot of fun. I had no idea who the real killer was until the end, so that's always a plus!

My only problem (and it's such a tiny complaint)... I wish it was longer! I didn't want it to end. So, fantastic and fun debut for Kim Harrington. I can't wait to read more!

posted by pagese on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easy and Interesting Read

This book kept me intrigued, but it had a simple story line. The characters were created well and I really felt a connection with Clare. The plot twist at the end was foreshadowed, but still a surprise. I was interested enough to buy the second book.

posted by Renee2111 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I really had no expectations going into this book. The cover intrigued me and the description sounded like it might have something new to offer. I was so glad to get a chance to review it for Book It Forward Tours.

    I really enjoyed Clare's fresh voice. She's only 16, but I seriously had to remind myself of that constantly. It's not that she acted older than she is, because there's is definitely some teenage moments. It's all about her attitude and her sense of self. She's had to deal with everyone else thinking her family are freaks. It's made her a stronger person and it shows. I love her witty comebacks. Her family may be strange, but I actually really loved how each of them has their own talent. It made each of their personalities unique and how they functioned together as a whole really interesting.

    I also really enjoyed the who done it mystery. It was really well played out. I liked how the official investigation was different than the one going on behind the scenes. It had that Nancy Drew mystery feel with the teenagers being the ones to figure it out. Add in the paranormal elements, and it was just a lot of fun. I had no idea who the real killer was until the end, so that's always a plus!

    My only problem (and it's such a tiny complaint)... I wish it was longer! I didn't want it to end. So, fantastic and fun debut for Kim Harrington. I can't wait to read more!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    amazing

    loved it. mystery, drama, romance, and a supernatural plot makes for an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    FUN TO READ

    EASY READING! INTERESTING STORY AND SETTING? WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Good Read, recommend for young adults

    Enjoyable novel and is especially good for young adults. Unusual and likeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Stormykit

    Sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    This was a very good book

    I hope others like it as much as I did. Good look with all your other books. Malh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Clarity

    I got this book free for a prize at the library for reading some pretty good mystery books. So when i got this one i was uncertain about reding it. It said on the bottom that this book wasnt even on sale yet so this was like a before-store thing. I decided to give it a try. And im so glad i did! Now i have read it at least five times and my friends are reading it too. This book has some bad words and unappropriate things but otherwise, a great book to read during the summer or over the weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'll be honest in saying that Clarity was a book I couldn't wait

    I'll be honest in saying that Clarity was a book I couldn't wait to get my hands on and quickly created my own hype around it based on the premise alone! I had a widget on my blog counting down the days until its release and purposely avoided reviews of it, so I wouldn't accidentally read a spoiler. Although Clarity wasn't perfect, it was an immensely enjoyable book!

    Clare is such a strong, smart & sassy protagonist that even when she's being reckless or stubborn, you can't hep but like her. She's also very easy to relate to, in spite of her psychic powers, since all she really wants is to be accepted and understood for who she is.

    The dynamic between Clare, her brother Perry, and their mother is a tight and honest one, due to the way they've been treated by the town because of their abilities. They also share a family business and rely heavily on each other to keep it going. Although they don't always get along, there's a nice, fun banter to their relationship which shows off just how much the deeply care for one another.

    Before reading Clarity I thought the supernatural/psychic side of the story would be the main focus. However, its the murder-mystery of who killed the teenage tourist that actually propels much of the novel forward. I found this to be very refreshing, since the mystery is very well crafted and features quite a few twists. I admit to believing I had unraveled the mystery rather early, only to realize I didn't at all.

    Now you can't have a mystery novel without a bunch of supporting characters. Most noteworthy are: Justin, Clare's charming ex and the mayor's son, who's still totally hung up on her. The new police detective who shows up in town shortly before the murder and his son Gabriel, a brooding young man with his own secret. And lastly Nate, Perry's best friend and junior reporter, who's always looking for the next big scoop. You'll have a hard time figuring out everyone's agenda, as well as who to route for in the Justin/Clare/Gabriel department.

    The novel has a beautiful rhythm to it and weaves the character development perfectly with the murder mystery. When the killer is finally revealed, you'll be glad to know that every plot thread is neatly tied up, leaving no loose ends or giant wholes in the story.

    One of my only complaints with the novel is that Clare doesn't have any friends. I understand that Clare's ability might frighten or put some people off , but to not give her any friends seems both cruel and unbelievable. I just couldn't buy that not one single person wouldn't want to be her friend, I mean she basically has a super power. This point is further irritating by the fact that her brother Perry, who also has psychic powers, still has a best friend. I also wish their could've been more backstory on the Fern family's abilities but the ending of the novel suggests a sequel, so we may get some of that info soon.

    Recommended to fans of paranormal or mystery novels, Clarity is a perfect balance of the two genres and a nice fit for anyone looking for a quick read with an extremely likable heroine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Fun and suspenseful

    A perfect mix of mystery, love, and supernatural. I didn't have it all figured out before the character did which is refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    humor, suspense and a surprise ending

    Sixteen-year-old Clarity "Clare" Fern is used to getting weird looks from neighbors, being teased and even downright bullied by the other kids in town. It's all part and parcel with being "gifted."

    Clare's a psychic, her brother Periwinkle "Perry" Fern is a medium. Their mother is a telepath. In the small town Eastport on Cape Cod the Fern's ply their trade with readings to entertain visitors. Tourists love them. Townies, not so much.

    Clare is expected a typical summer in Eastport tied to the family house helping her mother with readings during the busy tourist season. Things get a bit more complicated when a girl is found murdered at the local motel.

    Clare doesn't want to get involved, especially not when her ex-boyfriend asks her to. Unfortunately when her brother becomes the prime suspect, saying no isn't an option.

    Working with Gabriel, the new detective's hot son, Clare delves into the secrets and fears of the dead girl's past. But the more Clare learns about the dead girl, the more evidence starts points to Perry in Clarity (2011) by Kim Harrington.

    Clarity is Harrington's first novel.

    This book really does have it all including humor, suspense and a surprise ending (not to mention an opening for more books about Clare--yay!). Mysteries are not the hot thing in young adult literature right now so it was exciting to find this one. Yes, conclusions were drawn prematurely but the plot still finished with a shocking twist.

    Harrington strikes a good balance here between mystery conventions and character development, not too mention her beautiful descriptions of Eastport that will make readers eager to plan their own Cape Cod vacation. Clarity truly is a delectable read combining a traditional mystery plot with just a pinch of romance and a strong does of the supernatural to make a refreshing, totally unexpected story.

    Possible Pairings: White Cat by Holly Black, Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst, The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe, Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough, Hourglass by Myra McEntire, The Demon Trapper's Daughter by Jana Oliver, Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    I really didn¿t know what to expect when I picked this book up. I had read so many great views of the book; I was just excited to finally have a chance to read it. I really enjoyed the book, and am looking forward to reading more from this author!

    I really like the main character, Clarity. She¿s different, but she doesn¿t let that bother her much. I love strong heroines, and she¿s definitely a kick-butt character. I loved her! The two love interests in the book are Clarity¿s ex-boyfriend Justine, and the new town sheriff¿s son, Gabriel. I am usually really good at picking a ¿team¿, but I love both of these boys. It would be really hard to choose between them.

    I can honestly say I didn¿t see the end coming. The author had me second guessing myself so many times throughout the book. In the end, I didn¿t have it figured out. I love a book that keeps me guessing! I was absolutely absorbed in the story. The writing was simple and suspenseful. This was a very quick read, I pretty much read it in one sitting.

    Overall, I loved this book. It was great, and I¿m kicking myself for waiting so long to have read it. I was beyond thrilled to find out it is going to be a series. I can¿t wait to read Perception!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Review: Clarity by Kim Harrington

    What do you get when you combine a family with psychic abilities, a small tourist town, and an unsolved murder? Add a little romance to the mix and you have Clarity, a captivating debut novel by Kim Harrington.

    Clare Fern is biding her time until she can go away to college. Raised in a family of psychics, she has always been the outcast at school and relied on her brother and his friend for company. Things seemed to change when she dated the mayor's son, but when that relationship ended, so did her respite from the teasing. But this summer, things might change. When a tourist is found murdered over the July 4 weekend, the town's new detective is expected to solve the case. But Clare's ex-boyfriend Justin knows what she can do and wants to enlist her help. Clare soon finds herself not only having to work with Justin but also with Gabriel, the detective's attractive son, to try and solve the murder. But as they get deeper into their investigation, the stakes get higher, and soon nobody is safe. Will Clare be able to see the investigation through in one piece...and with her heart intact?

    Clarity was a great blend of mystery and paranormal elements. As much as I enjoyed watching the Fern family use their psychic abilities, I really loved following Clare, Justin, and Gabriel as they worked to solve the murder. The story was fast-paced with one surprise after another; I started reading it one morning and didn't put it down until a couple of hours later when I finished it. The chain of suspects as well as the unexpected events during the investigation kept me guessing who the murderer was right along with Clare. In addition, everything from the setting to Clare's emotions were very vivid. It was easy to identify with her, from her desire to protect those she loved to her internal struggle about how to balance the feelings that never quite disappeared for Justin with her growing attraction to Gabriel. The book continued to be a roller coaster (in a good way) until the end.

    I wish that this book had been longer, because I definitely wanted more. I have to admit that the ending seemed a bit rushed and the explanation was not completely believable. However, I did enjoy the role that one of the smaller characters played in the outcome. Also, even though the murder was solved, things were left open between Clare, Justin, and Gabriel. I'm curious to see what Clare decides to do in Perception, the sequel.

    Clarity has a world and cast of characters that it's easy to fall in love with. This was a fabulous debut novel, and I can't wait for the next book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another fast, fun read!

    Really enjoyed this one, as Clare is very likable! She grew up "different" in a small town, which is never easy. Her entire family is psychic, and her mother has found a way to use their talent to make a living. Unfortunately, this just makes Clare feel like an even bigger freak.

    When there's a murder in town, Clare's ex-boyfriend convinces her to use her gift to try and help solve the crime. Murder is bad for tourism, and the ex's father is mayor. Factor in the little tidbit the the new detective has a hot son, and Clare is on the case! Clare discovers even more incentive to help when her brother turns out to be the last known person to see the murdered girl alive, so she needs to prove his innocence!

    This was a fast, interesting read that left me wanting to learn more about Clare. For someone who has always felt like a freak, she seemed remarkably well-adjusted. Sure, she had no girlfriends, but she certainly isn't the only teenager like that. She has her brother and his best friend, so it's not like she's entirely friendless. And her gift has to be hard to live with, as that's how her boyfriend became her ex-boyfriend.

    Gave this one a 4/5 as I enjoyed the story and it left me wanting more! Harrington is a good writer, and kept things interesting. She made life in a tourist town sound real, and I liked that Clare wasn't perfect. Looking forward to the sequel, which is due out next year!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good read!!!

    Clarity's family is gifted. She is a psychic, her brother is a medium and her mom is a telepath. They live in Cape Cod a tourist town. Not much happens there until a tourist girl is murdered. For Clarity this doesn't mean much until her brother tells her he was the last person to see the girl alive. Now Clarity has to use her gift to find the real killer and proof her brother is innocent.

    I liked this book a lot. At the beginning I thought that I was going to know right away who the killer was, but it wasn't that easy. The author makes you think that almost everybody is the killer and I liked that. The only bad thing is that I wanted to see more of Clarity and her family's gifts. I love that the ending is open for another book and I can't wait to read more of Clarity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2