Customer Reviews for

A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2219)

4 Star

(628)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Complicated, Intense and Absolutely Epic

Many editorial reviews of book (or movie) sequels claim that the second is as good as, or better than, the original. I read the same thing about "A Clash of Kings", George R.R. Martin's sequel to "A Game of Thrones". I was a bit skeptical, I mean...how can one not quest...
Many editorial reviews of book (or movie) sequels claim that the second is as good as, or better than, the original. I read the same thing about "A Clash of Kings", George R.R. Martin's sequel to "A Game of Thrones". I was a bit skeptical, I mean...how can one not question whether Martin could duplicate what he accomplished in the first novel, let alone better it. "Thrones" is magnificently expansive and epic...how could book 2 match the energy and intensity?

Martin absolutely knocked the ball out of the park with "Clash". I don't know if it's better than "Thrones", but it's easily its equal. He takes the core set of surviving characters (Arya, Sansa, Bran, Catelyn, Jon, Cersei and the wonderfully rich Tyrion), and picks up almost immediately where "Thrones" left off. And I don't just mean in terms of plot, but also in building out his fantastic world of intrigue, adventure and politics.

"Clash" is complicated, intense and absolutely epic. It sprawls majestically over a widely varied physical and literary landscape. The politics within the plot, focused on four Kings battling over a land that's used to having only one, are intricate, but not difficult to follow. Martin's writing is clear, his dialogue is smooth and the interplay between characters is enjoyable and completely in sync with the overall tone and 'place' of the story. The book is very serious and heavy - at about 1,000 pages, the book is actually heavy, but I love the weightiness, with corresponding depth, of the story.

Like "Thrones", there's not a ton of fantasy in "Clash". It's very middle-ages-historical-fiction with a tinge of supernatural. There's more fantasy in this book than in the first, though, and it feels like it'll build into much more for the third book. There are dragons, but they set up a certain tone and act more as a plot device than anything else. There's no fire-breathing and attacking and destroying. There's further development around Bran's supernatural connection with his direwolf Summer, and we see that the bastard Stark, Jon, has a bit of the gift as well. There are a few more fantastical devices scattered throughout the book, which Martin develops slowly through his world's mythology rather than hammering in a slew of de facto dungeons & dragons.

The characters are Martin's true accomplishment. He feeds off a character's strengths and deficiencies, and each one is perfectly human and in some way relate-able. Individuals-as-'outsiders', is the base upon which the best characters are built. And he uses that foundation frequently. Tyrion, the dwarf prince, has become one of my favorite and most memorable characters in the series, and perhaps one of the most well-developed characters in any popular fiction. He's witty and smart, and sometimes obnoxiously flip. But his deep-seated insecurities which evolve slowly over the course of both of the first books make his chapters the most anticipated. Arya develops into a wonderfully three dimensional character as the tomboy princess cut off from her family, trying to survive and find a way back home. Sansa's princess-ly arrogance dissipates under the strain of trying to survive as a hostage, and finds friends in very un-princess-ly places.

I'm looking forward to seeing HBO's creation of Martin's world of Ice and Fire coming this spring. Until then, I'll start digging into book 3 - "A Storm of S

posted by JGolomb on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Made me want to kill myself...

500 pages into it and still nothing had happened. 600...nothing. 700...nothing. Oh, don't get me wrong, there were exceptional, page-long descriptions of what was being served at the banquet and what the uniforms of the royal guard looked like (and people thought Tolkie...
500 pages into it and still nothing had happened. 600...nothing. 700...nothing. Oh, don't get me wrong, there were exceptional, page-long descriptions of what was being served at the banquet and what the uniforms of the royal guard looked like (and people thought Tolkien was long-winded). 800...nothing. 900...wow, some action! 975...end of book... If you're into this kind of story, lots of politcal intrigue and would-be kings manuvering into position, then this book is for you. Martin is a good enough writer that he'll keep you moving through the story, but I ended up skimming lots of paragraphs just to get to the end. If you like action - ANY action - then head somewhere else. Side note: I try not to buy hardbacks as I read just way too much to spend $30.00 a pop. I read Martin's first book of this series in Sep. of 1997 and had to wait THREE YEARS for the next! What a joke! (Book 2 came out in hardback in Feb. 99 and the paperback was released in Sep 00 - a year and a half after the hardback, and 3 years after the first paperback!) The book has so many characters that you constantly flip to the appendixes to see who's who, and we're supposed to remember them all from 3 years ago...right! Tell you what...I'm not waiting around for another 3 years. See ya later, Mr. Martin.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 158
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    E Books Now Huh!

    We have long awaited the fifth book in the Ice and Fire series which I personally believe will never be published as long as Mr Martin can make a buck on what is already out there. Shame on you George--

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    SHADOWCLAN ENDS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    The Life of Alex Sanchez~13

    ( Erika's pov) When the man brought me upstairs, he slapped me. I fell on the floor." What do you want from us?", I asked him." My son wants a wife. You are very beautiful. So now you will be his wife. If he doesn't want to marry you in a church then he can have sex with you.", he said, smiling. I didn't know what to say. The man picked me up and put me in a chair. He tied me hands behind the backrest of the chair and he tied my feet to the legs. When his son came back in, he had dirt all over his face. His father said," Don't worry about your mother. I'll take care of her. You need to do some... stuff... with this girl." The son nodded and untied me. I didn't even have time to stand up. He ran up the stairs, dragging me all the way. When we got to his room, he looked at me and smiled. I started to cry and I got down on my hands and knees and begged him. He laughed and picked me up." Don't worry I'm not like that. Sorry about your boyfriend downstairs." " Um... he's not boyfriend. Just a friend. What is your father going to do to him?", I said." He's probably make his life misreible. If he didn't shoot my... mother, you would've been down there, sharing the same consquence. Except worse. My.. um... father is a girl hater. He likes to make every girl, that comes by his house, even if they look at him, worship him and if they don't he tortures them until they do. He wants me to be the same way.", the boy said. He was about 17 and really cute. He had almond-shaped eyes, like me. He was slightly muscular. He was tall and had black hair and blue eyes. He didn't look anything like his father or his mother. It, suddenly, clicked. He looks exactly like me. My older brother, who was about three years older then me, was taken away from our family." Nathen!", I said." Erika.", he said, as if he knew the whole time." What happened?", I asked." They took me away to work in some mines and it was really weird because my master was very big. Not fat wise. She sat on a throne of natrual elements. She had multiple slaves at her feet that she would torture just for fun. The guards were huge. One time they stepped on a kid and killed him. I'll tell you more after I get out of the shower. We have to make a plan to get out of here, too. Everytime I try the man downstairs finds out and beats me. Did you see the blood on that table?", he asked. I nodded." That was my blood. He knows every kind of torture. He has a whole bookshelf full of torture books. He got them from all over the world." " Don't worry! We'll think of something. Go take a shower. I'll just wait here.", I said. ••••••••••• next part at storm of swords.~ Chris. P.s. to the sword of poisedon: please post soon. I'm dieing to find out what happens and Carson Boyd is my character. Please use him soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Great read

    Looking forward to the to the next book wich i have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    recommended

    drags in places

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Yawn

    Tedious just very tedious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    As would-be kings emerge from every direction to gather their ar

    As would-be kings emerge from every direction to gather their armies and stake their claims, the Stark family is torn even further apart. When allegiances change with each setting of the sun, no one will escape the repercussions of the ensuing war.

    I decided to read this one before watching the 2nd season of the series, and I think that was a much better approach (I did it the other way around for the 1st book). Now I'm anxious to move on to the 3rd book. I really begin to doubt that anyone is going to have any kind of happy ending in this game of thrones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    READ

    All young scientists go to "science" result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    GOOD

    GOOD READING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Worth every stolen moment

    What adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Enjoyable

    The 2nd book is just as enjoyable. One of the things I like the most is the indepth explanations of the characters, I feel like I'm right there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Awesome

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Screw Reality, time to go to Westeros

    Tyrion is my homeboy, Arya is my BFF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This being the second book in The Ice & Fire Series, we are

    This being the second book in The Ice & Fire Series, we are reunited with characters from the first book.  Like the first book there is dark clouds hovering above the families fighting for the right of the iron throne.  Now the book does pretty much cover everything that is in the series.  There are little things here and there I thought should have been in the tv series that had been removed.  I saw the t.v. series first so the books were not shocking story wise because. 




    Some things I really wonder why they cut out of the t.v. series.  Like for instance there is a comet in the sky that is suppose to be an omen predicting doom.  I do not think this is even mentioned in the t.v. series and I kinda felt it needed more of the mystical.




    Only I complain about is they are so damn long to read.  I  just finished the 2nd book in time for 3 season on HBO.   So I have no idea what is coming.  I had hope to read the 3rd book before the show came on again.  That is not really important I guess.  The books may be long but still worth it. 




    Amazing drama, and fantasy.  If you have friends that read the books you will find everyone has their favorite chapters or characters to read about.  The stories do tend to show the darker side of people... but it also shows how people still have hope and struggle to get normalcy back to their chaotic lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great book!

    Thoroughly enjoying this second book in the series. It's a well paced book and well written. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Not just for Geek-girls

    I am loving this series, and I am not really a Fantasy, Sci-Fi reader. Of course I read J.R.R. Tolkien as a pre-teen and those "important" books like 'Brave new world' and '1984' but I mainly stick to literary novels, or non-fiction unless I want a trashy quick read. But this is different. George R.R. Martin has managed to capture a world in a looking-glass so that we may go inside and immerse ourselves in a land of nobility and dragons written so well, at times you think you are reading a diary from the medieval era. The characters are so well defined and human with weakness, vanity, love, pride, duty, and personality struggling together and against one another to create believable characters that compel you to love them, hate them, cheer them and ultimately care about what happens to them. So much so that you come to trust in this fantasy world, it becomes real. I will read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Great

    Good addition to the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Books are Better than the Series

    If you like the Game of Thrones series, you'll love the books! So much more to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Round two

    It keeps you on your toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    Timeless Storytelling Sometimes we take for granted the ease in

    Timeless Storytelling

    Sometimes we take for granted the ease in which entertainment comes to us. We live in an era where books, movies, television and music is literally at our fingertips. The push of a button or two gives us access to any of these mediums. With so many new books entering the market, why do so many of us choose to read a series that began over fifteen years ago? Good writing, intriguing stories and relatable characters — that’s why.

    This is a difficult book to review because it is one part of a larger whole. Those skillful hands that began stitching the patchwork story in the first novel nimbly continue, giving us, at times, a clearer understanding of events. New threads are being added and we aren’t sure what image they are going to show us when all is said and done. But each new strand rivets us to the story and we become emotionally invested.

    As I read A Clash of Kings, many things popped out at me from a writing standpoint. Martin has populated these books with a multitude of characters. In truth, I can’t name them all. It’s a no-no in the publishing world to do such a thing, so how does this author get away with it? The main characters are extraordinary, that’s how. Arya Stark, Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister and Daenerys Targaryen (to name only a few) are memorable. They have faults and virtues, they are multi-faceted, ever growing and changing.

    The words on the page are at times beautiful. Even while characters are hacking each others heads off, Martin commands the language expertly. For example:

    “The long low note lingered at the edge of hearing. The sentries at the ring wall stood still in their footsteps, breath frosting and heads turned toward the west. As the sound of the horn faded, even the wind ceased to blow. Men rolled from their blankets and reached for spears and swordbelts, moving quietly, listening. A horse whickered and was hushed. For a heartbeat it seemed as if the whole forest were holding its breath. The brothers of the Night’s Watch waited for a second blast, praying they should not hear it, fearing that they would.”

    This passage is written in such a way to allow the reader to see and hear what’s happening. As a result, the anxiety seeps into you as it does the characters.

    This world and its inhabitants combine familiar and mysterious elements written in such a way that it’s as if we’ve lived there all our lives. I found myself torn between wanting to read constantly until I’d finished and holding back so that I could remain immersed in the world for as long as possible. I should have the third book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series soon. I’m ready to continue the journey, anxious even.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 158