Customer Reviews for

Class Matters

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Class Matters: A Book Review

Class Matters is an easy to read book compiling many articles from the collection of over a year's worth of research on class in America by a team of reporters from The New York Times. Class is a rank of economic and social position, and is a combination of income, educ...
Class Matters is an easy to read book compiling many articles from the collection of over a year's worth of research on class in America by a team of reporters from The New York Times. Class is a rank of economic and social position, and is a combination of income, education, wealth, and occupation. The book examines all of these points, as well as culture, race and immigration. Class has been researched and written about before, so there was doubt in the back of many of the reporter's minds that they would actually find anything new or exciting on which to publish. The authors were surprised at what they had uncovered in their research and became excited about the series. Families and individuals were interviewed and followed to truly understand their class standing, how they got there, and if they were able to improve or jump up in class. I found the individual stories and places examined to be extremely entertaining. I chose this book because I do not like spending time reading fiction novels, but would rather read something that involves research and truthful information to increase my knowledge base. This book covers various encounters with class at each level of the social class ladder. I would recommend this book as an easy and entertaining read with true facts and fascinating experiences, which will help make you more conscious of the needs and struggles of those around you.

posted by KarenKD on September 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Does Class Really Matter?

Class Matters was an interesting book. I thought it went into many different scenarios of how class works and how people see it. This book is a great eye opener for Americans to see how class does separate us from one another. Also I thought this book gave a good perspe...
Class Matters was an interesting book. I thought it went into many different scenarios of how class works and how people see it. This book is a great eye opener for Americans to see how class does separate us from one another. Also I thought this book gave a good perspective from all of the classes in America. I think this book was a good choice to learn more about American society. Class Matters is a good read for people looking to understand class in America.

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Does Class Really Matter?

    Class Matters was an interesting book. I thought it went into many different scenarios of how class works and how people see it. This book is a great eye opener for Americans to see how class does separate us from one another. Also I thought this book gave a good perspective from all of the classes in America. I think this book was a good choice to learn more about American society. Class Matters is a good read for people looking to understand class in America.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    Class Matters: A Book Review

    Class Matters is an easy to read book compiling many articles from the collection of over a year's worth of research on class in America by a team of reporters from The New York Times. Class is a rank of economic and social position, and is a combination of income, education, wealth, and occupation. The book examines all of these points, as well as culture, race and immigration. Class has been researched and written about before, so there was doubt in the back of many of the reporter's minds that they would actually find anything new or exciting on which to publish. The authors were surprised at what they had uncovered in their research and became excited about the series. Families and individuals were interviewed and followed to truly understand their class standing, how they got there, and if they were able to improve or jump up in class. I found the individual stories and places examined to be extremely entertaining. I chose this book because I do not like spending time reading fiction novels, but would rather read something that involves research and truthful information to increase my knowledge base. This book covers various encounters with class at each level of the social class ladder. I would recommend this book as an easy and entertaining read with true facts and fascinating experiences, which will help make you more conscious of the needs and struggles of those around you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2014

    Class Matters is a informative and interesting book to read. I f

    Class Matters is a informative and interesting book to read. I find the book to be helpful in knowing how economic
    class affects health, political views, marriage, and future. It was shocking to see how people's lives can be
    dependant on income. I also liked the stories of people's lives in the working and lower class and how they
    powered through poverty to climb the income class. Class Matters is a good book to read and is helpful to
    understand how class works in theUnited States. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    i though the book was ok . i thought it was alot repetative but

    i though the book was ok . i thought it was alot repetative but it dose have some good facts and advise on how to break the mobility factor. however it explaines the classificastion of class in society and itas too general. sure they are true and most peopl fit into this catagory but however it is up to that person if they want to move up in classes or even go down. its was an ok book , i did it for a school book report

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    In article 2, Tamar Lewin analyzes three different cases of hear

    In article 2, Tamar Lewin analyzes three different cases of heart attacks/heart failure. One from the upper class, one from the middle class, and one from the lower class. The member from the upper class was given many different options and chances by his doctor. The member of the middle class was told that there was no need for a test. But, the member of the lower class was not helped at all. It was incredible to see how different each class is treated so differently. Money really does matter. The more money you have, the better doctors, schools, jobs, and luxuries will you have. The less money you have, the less qualified doctors, teachers, and lawyers you encountered.
    “Class Matters” really opened my eyes to the ways of the world. I now understand that the actions I make now, affect the rest of my life, and my future children’s lives. I found this book motivating, and made me want to do better in school because I now understand how important it is to follow in my parents’ footsteps and keep the family name in the upper class.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Class Matters was intersting. It opened my eyes to meny diffrent

    Class Matters was intersting. It opened my eyes to meny diffrent ideas. and i do no see how class does seoparate us form one another. This book also shared everyones perspective no just teh rich or poor but everyone was included. its easy to read, with all short stories and diffrent topics. im glad in mentions the american dream and im glad that i read this book 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Fascinating read!

    I bought this book on a whim while unable to sleep one night and enjoyed it immediately. The authors are all engaging and the variety of subtopics kept me interested throughout. I found myself returning to it again and again, and was sad when it was finished. It's the sort of read you'll keep referencing in conversation long after you've finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Great book - highly recommend it!

    Class Matters was a quick read and opened my eyes to the factors in a pesons life that are affected by social economic classes. I couldn't put the book done once I got started because I wanted. It was shocking to read that the mother in law was emberrassed by her son in law due to his economic statsu and lack of money. From beginning to end you learn so much more about the different social economic classes in the American society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Too Good!

    Personally this book is an eye opener. It makes you think about others who are not financially well. I find it amazing how there are so many people in this world who feel socially pressured into buying expensive goods just to be able to fit with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended - enjoyable read

    I thought Class Matters was a sneak peek into how we think about social class as a society. The reporters at The New York Times did an exceptional job at integrating their research and the stories of people they had come across or interviewed. The combination of story and research made you want to read more and also gave a new out look on how there has been a shift in social class. I think as a society we are on a slippery slope. We need to try and keep balance in our society between the hyper rich and the poverty stricken because otherwise we are going to slip down the hill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    La posición de una persona en la sociedad es muy importante en los Estados Unidos porque no solo define nuestras posibilidades al adquirir algo pero también ayuda a determinar nuestra salud. El tema sobre si continúan a existir clases sociales en los Estados Unidos es muy controversial, porque existen varias divisiones en clase lo cual causa que sea casi imposible determinar a cual clase pertenece una persona. Hasta la clase rica tiene muchas subdivisiones porque existe el dinero viejo y el nuevo de una familia lo cual cambia las costumbres de la sociedad. El libro constantemente enfatiza como es muy difícil subir a una posición alta en la sociedad cuando no existe ningún nivel de educación aunque no es imposible. Class Matters demuestra ambos lados del espectro porque vemos como una persona que inmigró de Grecia obtiene el sueno Americano y el inmigrante de México no puede superarse en un transcurso de 15 anos.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Must Read

    The book is composed of a set of different researchers that combined together their work and joined it for the New York Times. It is about social classes and how different people fit in them. Also how some find getting a college degree is their ticket to a better economic life in a upper class or at least in a better class range. It also gave the point that classes matter in all situations and how throughout the research they found all kinds of people trying to fit in to a social class and how much it mattered to them. It demonstrated that classes matter more than what people believe in America, so much that it is probably not going to change in the future and classes are still going to matter no matter what. This book is trying to point that classes should stop mattering in the way that it is now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    A MUST READ!!!!

    Really easy to read could not stop reading it, i enjoyed it. it made me aware of class and how I can get move from class. It made me think of my future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Interesting stories backed with data.

    Class Matters uses a vast amount of data from NY Times polls, IRS, Census, and Treasury to form information based solutions. The statistics are presented through varied stories from around the U.S. which represent the data. College dropouts, illegal immigrants, the super rich, and many other economic/social classes are depicted using real life stories. Data is given humanity. Good for students looking for a trustworthy book for an English, sociology, history, or psychology class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Class Matters

    This is a really insightful book where the reader learns how everytime the social classes people belong to seem to become more undistinguishable. It deals a lot about the struggles of people trying to move up the social ladder and staying there incorporating the idea of "The American Dream." It is a relief to hear stories about people who do end up moving social classes but their struggle still continues to act appropriately to the pertinent class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    It's all in the Money

    Class Matters does a good job of displaying how classes have such an impact on our society today. It gives examples on both ends of the spectrum of how we are affected by the drastic lines that our classes are divided by. It proves that class is a large part of our society today, and that education really does pave the way for the other aspects that make up our class sytem. Class Matters gives us a reality check in showing us that it is not a hop, skip, and a jump into the next higher class system. If it was, our world would be borring. Class Matters is a great book if you live in a place where you are isolated from these different class systems. I do think the book may have been a bit redundant at times with the point it was trying to get at, but it gave great evidence that this indeed is how our society functions today. I recommend this book be read by everyone so that people can become more educated on the reality of our diverse social classes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1