Customer Reviews for

Classics for Girls (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

GRANDDAUGHTER LOVES IT.

I GAVE MY GRANDDAUGHTER THESE FOR HER BIRTHDAY AND SHE LOVES THEM. MY SON AND DAUGHTER IN LAW READ THEM WITH HER. MY DAUGHTER IN LAW REMEMBERS THEM AND IS ENJOYING READING THEM AGAIN.

posted by BKB54 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Sexist

This collection of stories is terribly sexist as is the "Boys will be Boys" series. These classics have remained so because of their universal appeal and B&N is doing them a terrible injustice by pigeon-holing them into sex-specific categories.

posted by Ulysses9182 on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sexist

    This collection of stories is terribly sexist as is the "Boys will be Boys" series. These classics have remained so because of their universal appeal and B&N is doing them a terrible injustice by pigeon-holing them into sex-specific categories.

    15 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    GRANDDAUGHTER LOVES IT.

    I GAVE MY GRANDDAUGHTER THESE FOR HER BIRTHDAY AND SHE LOVES THEM. MY SON AND DAUGHTER IN LAW READ THEM WITH HER. MY DAUGHTER IN LAW REMEMBERS THEM AND IS ENJOYING READING THEM AGAIN.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Excellent

    My Daughter loves them. Her father likes them. Good books all around.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Classics for Girls?!?!?!? Great books, but NOT just for girls

    Wow, this will be news to my son, whose all time favourite book at age 7 is The Secret Garden--and how is Alice and Wonderland a "girls" book exactly? Is this just because the protagonist is female? And Peter Pan? This is a great collection of books, but I am stunned to see it categorized as a " girls" collection. I guess the Hobbit would be a " boys" book because most of its main characters are male?? Good grief...

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you B&N for putting together all the books I was going

    Thank you B&N for putting together all the books I was going to buy for her birthday in a discounted package!

    I see many people are upset that it is labeled for girls and claim that it is sexist to do so.  I however found it helpful.  My niece devours books so that is what I get her for every birthday and holiday.  At times, I forget what I read at what age and need help finding appropriate books as she grows up.  This had many of the books I wanted to get her plus some bonus ones I hadn't thought about.

    And guess what!  I might buy her the Classics for Boys for Christmas!  What!  Say it ain't so!  Fellow shoppers, let's keep promoting reading in our next generation and stop being so up tight and easily offended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    I bought both this set and the "Classics for Boys" set

    I bought both this set and the "Classics for Boys" set for my classroom.  Both were quick buys that have the more popular classics that most of the kids have heard of.  This is a great set to get your students or children to read something other than the ubiquitous "Diary of a Wimpy Kid," "39 Clues," and "Percy Jackson." Those books are great reads, but the school and classroom library only have so many copies!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Peter Pan, The Wizard of Oz, and The Secret Garden are some of m

    Peter Pan, The Wizard of Oz, and The Secret Garden are some of my favourite stories of all time - and i'm male. It is truly appalling (and damaging) to suggest that the wisdom and insight found in these books is suited exclusively for girls. Let's not dictate to children what they should like and dislike simply because of their sex but rather let them decide for themselves.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I have nothing against this set of classics. I do; however, have

    I have nothing against this set of classics. I do; however, have a problem with the total sexism of labeling some books "for girls" and others "for boys." I'm disappointed that Barnes & Noble would market books such as Tom Sawyer to boys and books like The Secret Garden to girls. Can't anything just be sold for people, rather than for specific genders?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Really? We're gendering books now? Come on B&N, you can do b

    Really? We're gendering books now? Come on B&N, you can do better than this.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2